We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, safe clean and friendly, good location. Highly recommended, book now for the Olympics!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ace Backpackers Youth Hostels
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Only affordable "non-adult" hotel we could find in Rio to stay in with our 11 year old daughter, and it's a real gem! Wonderful friendly and helpful staff, good location very close to Botafogo metro and lots of shops and restaurants, clean and very safe - two CCTV metal doors separate the street from the hostel.
Private rooms are internal, with a window looking out onto corridors, which means dark BUT also, more positively, very quiet ( no traffic).
Didn't give maximum rating because there is no hot water in the bathroom and the air con was switched off during our stay (weather not hot enough for locals, though hot enough for us!)

Room Tip: Don't go for the shared dorms which are small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pennydoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 27 of 110 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2012

I stayed here for the last 3 nights of my 2 month trip to South America and it was definitely my least favourite hostel. On arrival we were told our room would be 30 minutes so to wait in the cafe which we did very willingly since standard check in wasn't due for 30 minutes anyway. An hour and a half later our room wasn't ready but no one had bothered to come and give us an update or apologise. I chased it up and was told 10 minutes. If we'd been approached then I would have minded the delay less.

Generally the staff were always busy and I never once found that when I wanted to ask something about either the hostel or recommendations etc that the they were free. They seem overworked and have a harassed air about them. Even when I went to ask for toilet paper this seemed to be a complicated request! The location however is good as it's really close to the subway and Botafogo seems really safe.

The hostel itself is dark and the rooms don't have windows. The bed linen on my bed was brown and had white stains on it so I slept on my own blankets. The bed wasn't particularly comfortable but I expect that with hostels. The air con was actually really effective but leaked some of the time. Also, I had a private double room but there were two sets of bunk beds in it so there was hardly any floor space, not a massive issue but I did wonder if 6 people ever stay in the room at once as it was tiny!

Finally, probably the biggest issue for me was that there was absolutely no atmosphere here at all. If you were travelling on your own and ended up here you'd probably get really depressed! If you can help it don't stay here (I left it late and couldn't find many other places) but if you're with a fun group any way and need a place to crash really short term and can put up with a little bit of dirt then you could do worse I guess.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natamou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

A good location, very close to a subway station (Botafogo). People working there are helpful and friendly. There is an extremely useful guy, Pedro, who is aware of all the carnival events (if you are in Rio during the carnival). Good breakfast, but nothing worth mentioning here. Rooms have AC, but are a bit gloomy and most of them lack windows. It is very safe, cause you have a personal locker (better carry with you a padlock of your own - then it is free), 24/7 there is someone at thee reception, wi-fi only in common areas and some signal on other floors.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nocturne27p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Little or no effort on behalf of staff to be helpful, mostly a take it or leave it attitude. No communal vibe at all, mostly just a few folks vegging out in front of a TV.

The showers are wretched electric ones that don't work half the time, and the showers have no privacy. Communal showers are not cool, so there was a bit of a wait in the mornings cuz folks wanted to let those showering have privacy and so effectively only one person showers at a time. The bathroom has no ventilation, so steam builds up fast and makes everything damp, including the rarely cleaned toilets.

The building facade was being worked on, so the bar area was really dark. They have the WORST brazilian beer, Sintra, and no other option. A sip of the stuff makes for a horrible hangover.

Everything about Ace is about squeezing out the last dime.

The only bright spot is the mattress. They are thick and pretty comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donnamarcinha, Proprietário at Ace Backpackers Youth Hostels, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Hostel has change everything, from staff to renovation.
Not really what you see.

Kind regards,

Marcia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2011

I stayed here with my partner in a private ensuite room for around 120R. The room was quite dirty as i could spot hair on the floor... the bathroom was very dirty and small....they kept turning the water off for some reason without notice. In two occasion I was in the shower all soaped up and they turned the water off; a couple of good things about this hostel is the location as it is very close the metro station and that it is very safe. They lock the door all the time and have a 24 hr service, breakfast was nice as well.....If you are more than 120R for a private room that you are getting ripped off...lower price is ok for what you get.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krizh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2010

Although we met nice people, the vibe wasnt that nice. They have very good breakfast and the nicest coffy i ever had. The service not the best but there was. The location is very nice and close to every thing. We stayed in a dorm and there was no door on it. The lockers is not in the room but in the livving room. They have a nice bar.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jhpistorius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2010

It´s in Botafoga, right in the middle between Sugar Loaf (Pao de Acucar, you can walk to the station) and the Corcovadeo (Christ Statue). Metro station is just 2 minutes walk away and takes you to any place in the city and to Copacabana in a few minutes. More than 20 Busses run just 2 minutes from the hostel.

It has a good international crowd and a small bar in the hostal.

The rooms are small, but ok. Don´t expect miracles for this price. More than enough showes.

Breakfast is rather limited. Unfortunately no fruits or fresh juices served, but there is a fruit store just around the corner and a supermarket ca. 500m away.

Good kitchen with plenty of pans.

Free wireless. PC available, but slow. Better go to an internet cafe close by if you dont have a laptop with you.

Rio is just great!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roli-on-tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Bamboo Rio Hostel
Bamboo Rio Hostel
#63 of 835 in Rio de Janeiro
435 reviews
Copacabana
CabanaCopa Hostel
CabanaCopa Hostel
#81 of 835 in Rio de Janeiro
491 reviews
Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Mar Ipanema Hotel
#80 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#17 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,765 reviews
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#3 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
3,370 reviews
Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resor...
#24 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ace Backpackers Youth Hostels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Backpackers Youth Hostels

Address: Rua Sao Clemente 23 1st. Floor | Botafogo Beach, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22260-001, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Botafogo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #262 of 835 Specialty Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $23 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ace Backpackers Youth Hostels 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ace Backpackers Youth Hostels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ace Backpackers Youth Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Ace Backpackers Youth Hostels Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing