We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - overlooks a great stretch of beach and surf”
Review of Windsor Barra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Windsor Barra
Ranked #40 of 283 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed for a conference at the hotel. Clean, efficient and well run. Staff polite and friendly. Good size room with two desks - important for those who are also have work. Carpet needs changing.

Internet is available in the room at a price, whereas I believe that it should be included in room tariff. In case of using additional equipment there is a procedure involving reception and business centre. If the business centre is closed, too bad.

The conference arrangements and staff who attended were very good. Food and beverage service was good and there is a good selection at breakfast.

A solid architecture, but the focal point should have been the sea front and that could have been handled better while building. View from the top pool deck and bar is fine.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YakobKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcos b, Gerente geral at Windsor Barra, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time in providing your constructive comments about our services.

You can be sure that the great contribution you have given us will be invaluable for our growth and certainly will make our guests feel much better.

Cordially,

Marcos Bezerra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,530)
There are newer reviews for Windsor Barra
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

178 - 184 of 1,530 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

My last review on this hotel was in 2011 and I gave it 5 stars.

At this time, my review is only 3 stars.

That's because:

1 - Called room service and asked for a bucket of ice to chill a wine bottle. They asked me if I had bought the wine at the hotel. I said no and because of that they charged in almost R$ 50,00 (USD 25);
2 - Air conditioning in master bedroom didn't work;
3 - Not so good breakfast: juices watered, breads not so fresh;

I like the hotel, great location, friendly staff but for this time, just 3 stars.

Room Tip: high floor, right side for sunset
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank From_South
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcos b, Gerente geral at Windsor Barra, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for bringing to our knowledge your disappointment on part of our services.

Your comments will act as a tool for our development.

And we are sure that in your next visit you will review our services as a 5 stars again.

Best regards,

Marcos Bezerra
Gerente Geral

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The location is great right across from the beach which the hotel has a section with chairs and umbrellas. The staff was also very helpful the only downside as an American was the breakfast buffet which was a little weak.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcos b, Gerente geral at Windsor Barra, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Guest,


We would like to thank you for choosing the Windsor Barra Hotel & Congress and for bringing to our knowledge important impressions related to our services.

Your comments are our tools to improve and to adjust our product to the needs of highly demanding guests such as you, thus offering the best in services and facilities.

We will be looking forward to your next visit where our team will be always at your disposal to guarantee the excellence of our services.


All the best,

Marcos Bezerra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The Windsor does everything in a competent manner. The rooms are clean and okay. The restaurant is okay. The bar is small and okay. Nothing is done badly, it is just that everything is done up to a point, and that point is okay. It is as if their motto is "just provide enough service to get things done". That said, there isn't much else in Barra to choose from. The Sheraton is old and tired but if you need solid english speaking staff and a balcony overlooking the beach than it is a better choice- the windows at the Windsor are unfortunately quite small and don't afford much WOW on one of the most beautiful beautiful beaches in the world. They are, however, okay I suppose.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcos b, Gerente geral at Windsor Barra, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Guest,


We would like to thank you for choosing the Windsor Barra Hotel & Congressos and for bringing to our knowledge important impressions related to your visit to our resort.

Your comments are our tools to improve and to adjust our product to the needs of highly demanding guests such as you, thus offering the best in services and facilities.

We will be looking forward to your next visit to the Windsor Barra Hotel & Congressos, where our team is always at your disposal to guarantee the excellence of our services.


Sincerely yours,


Marcos Bezerra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We organised a large conference here and there are not many facilities in Rio that can cope with an event of our size at the quality we want. That said, we expected much more from the Windsor Barra. E.G. the A/C in my bedroom didn't work and could barely be controlled in the main conference rooms resulting in some delegates being forced to wear winter coats!

The view from the top of the hotel is stunning - the same could not be said from my room. See attached photo the window was covered in dirt / grime and completely opaque. I would have complained more at the time but feared they would have simply moved me and put a client of mine in the same room as it was clearly not a problem that had arisen overnight and one that the hotel management had chosen to ignore.

I also echo comments from others about the hotel trying to charge for items not consumed from the mini-bar. Clearly at best they have a problem with staff taking stuff or at worst it's a deliberate policy to rip off guests.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RiverDad1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcos b, Gerente geral at Windsor Barra, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Windsor Barra Hotel & Congress for holding your event and also for your (and your clients) hosting.

We appreciate your relevant comments and that will be very helpful for our future as we are always in search of perfection regarding accommodations and services.

About minibar overcharges, all the items are directly posted from the telephone set by the housekeeping. Problems at the interface of our system can suddenly happen but it never is a management deliberate policy.

Reiterating our thanks for your valuable contribution and, since now, we are waiting for the next opportunity to receive you in Rio de Janeiro where all our staff will be at your entire disposal.

Cordially,

Marcos Bezerra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I just got back from staying at the Windsor in Barra. Brilliant hotel! Breakfast buffet was good and the service was great. Rooms clean and modern. Amazing view from the top of the hotel where they have a pool and small kids pool. Barra beach is great for surfers and kite surfing. Wind picks up in the afternoon and there are hundreds of people out there. Barra is around a 30min cab from Ipanema and Copa but as I was with the family i felt like Barra was the best choice and I was right.
Just outside the hotel were two restaurants I would recommend. The italian next door and just 30m after that is a Japanese. The japanese doesnt look like much from the outside but the food was excellent. (Hot philadelphia, crunchy tuna!)
Rio on the front is very expensive anywhere you go but I felt we got value for money at the Windsor. It is the choice for any visiting football teams so that says alot.

Room Tip: Try to get room at the front right corner as high as possible. Best view.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank james s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcos b, Gerente geral at Windsor Barra, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Guest,


We would like to thank you for the preference given to the Windsor Barra Hotel & Congress and for bringing to our knowlegement important impressions refering to your stay here at our hotel.

We are really satisfied to know that our services had gone up your expectations. It is by the comments of our guests that we try to adequate the needs, trying to always offer an excellent stay with us.

Reiterating our thanks for your valuable contribution and, since now, we are waiting for the next opportunity to receive you in Rio de Janeiro where all our staff will be at your entire disposal to guarantee the excellence of our services.


Cordially,


Marcos Bezerra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Two days of fun and a week of work based at this hotel, for a modern hotel it is shabby, soap dishhanging off in the shower, missing and faulty lightbulbs in the room and the cleaning levels poor. Pool on the rooftop has a stunning view if you can put up with the noise and the smell of the airconditioning. Excellent location for the beach but use the restaurant at the hotel next door it is much better and has atmosphere! Last but not least check your bill, I never use the minibar but they tried to sneak a couple of things on! irks me more than anything.

Oh yes and they charge for wifi which is rather a cheek at a hotel of this size, then your room wifi that you have paid for does not work in the lobby!

Not a hotel I would choose to stay at, but the conference I was attending was there so conveninet, have stayed in worse but glad work was paying not me!

Room Tip: they have very few rooms that look at the beach so you will need to request this! there are none wit...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank p b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcos b, Gerente geral at Windsor Barra, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time in providing your constructive comments about our services.

You can be sure that the great contribution you have given us will be invaluable for our growth and certainly will make our guests feel much better.

Cordially,

Marcos Bezerra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Barra da Tijuca
Windsor Oceanico
Windsor Oceanico
#22 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
762 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel
Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Ho...
#127 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
1,424 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Windsor Marapendi Hotel
Windsor Marapendi Hotel
#9 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barra da Tijuca
Brisa Barra Hotel
Brisa Barra Hotel
#28 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
464 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Novotel Rio de Janeiro Barra da Tijuca
Novotel Rio de Janeiro Barra da ...
#23 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
550 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Grand Hyatt Rio de Janeiro
Grand Hyatt Rio de Janeiro
#16 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Barra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Barra

Address: Avenida Lucio Costa 2630, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22620-172, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Barra da Tijuca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#11 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#11 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#26 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $117 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Windsor Barra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 338
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Windsor Barra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Barra Hotel Barra Da Tijuca
Windsor Barra Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing