We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, good location for Copacabana”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Windsor Martinique Hotel
Ranked #37 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great hotel, good location for Copacabana”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Great breakfast, great location but you might want to be on Ipanema, Copacabana is a bit jaded.
One of the best showers in a hotel I have stayed in several years. Bed was a bit hard for my wife but I found it OK.
Really friendly helpful staff and that’s everyone, from the folks behind the desk to the bell boys and staff at breakfast.
One downside is that the rooms are a bit noisy – we could hear the people next door (man with large deep voice and child) and televisions through the walls
A few reasonable places to eat if you head to the beach and turn right – Garota di Copacabana + the one before Manuel & Juaquim, can't remember the name.
If you need bikes try the free bikes on the front, we went around the corner – bikes were old and uncomfortable. Another place to rent bikes is on the road joining Copacabana and Ipanema, R. Francisco Otaviano.
Bar Bip Bip is in the guides and around the corner – don’t bother. Run by grumpy old man and it’s impossible to hear the music if you are sitting outside. The bar itself has only 3 tables inside which are used by the musicians who on the night we went started an hour later than normal.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bramco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    554
    160
    23
    9
See reviews for
147
512
84
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
308 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This hotel was good for the price. The staff were very helpful and good English but a little misleading.. so double check things..
For instance.. we bought tickets through the front desk for a soccer game... (amazing game) but they said for the price 200 r.. 100 us... we had awesome seats 10 rows up.. when we got there we were in the bleacher seats and at the end of the game 1230 am.. we had to wait till everyone left the stadium because our guides did not communicate by radio that everyone was already there.
I would go to a game and buy single ticket and take the metro .. Anyway. the hotel was good. room clean but EXTREMELY STRONG bug spray odor.. that we got used to but it wasn't pleasant. Also.. Wi fi needs to be in room. Breakfast and all staff were wonderful.
Next time I would stay at Ipanema beach.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the 7th floor that way when you need wifi you can just go upstairs. we used a bik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sansa31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Rooms were not very spacious but clean. Bathrooms had large showers. The hotel was in very convenient location for everything we needed. Walked out of lobby and made a left and you would head out on to Copacabana beach where you can rent chairs for 4R. Walked out of lobby and made a right straight to Avenida Nossa Sehnora Copacabana with lots of restaurants, stores, bus stops and a Banco de Brasil branch with ATM's inside. We could easily walk to Ipanema Beach from here as well. Breakfast was good with lots of pastry options, waffles, eggs, sausage and fruit. Different types of fresh fruit juices every day. We would definitely stay here again. Used Shuttle Rio to head back to airport for only 20R per person.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M1SALDALGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Service - Very friendly English speaking staff at the front desk. Anything we needed - including having them make calls for us in Portuguese - they were happy to oblige.

Location - About half a block from Copacabana beach. Can't beat that kind of walk to the beach. The beach is lively and teeming with people on the weekends and Mondays (were told that most retail stores are closed on Mondays). Everything you could need at a beach is sold directly on the beach. The hotel offers beach towels that you can check out for free.

Small market and bank around the corner from the hotel and lots of restaurants. Touristy market sets up on the beach boardwalk every day from 6 pm to midnight.

Accommodations - The rooms were bigger than I had expected based on previous reviewers talking about how small they are. They are small but not miniscule. All furniture and decorations are minimal and functional. There definitely isn't any "luxury" to these rooms, but it has what you need - refrigerator, hair dryer, flat screen tv, etc. There is NO wifi in the rooms. Wifi is only in the lobby of the hotel and the rooftop bar area. It was a little spotty sometimes, but overall worked fine. Free breakfast provided every morning that was good enough to get you going in the morning.

Would stay here again or try one of the sister properties that are also located along the beach.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Issamelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The guys at the frontdesk are very friendly and helpful. Great breakfast, very clean place, Rooms are small, but you are in Rio de Janairo you don't spend much time there anyway! We stayed 3 Nights, would defendly stay there again. Bus Stop just down the street to get to all attractions.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2reisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights during our stay in Rio. The hotel is well located near the Copacabana beach which is just 100 meters away. The breakfast was good and plentiful. The hotel staff was helpful in case we asked for help or tips. Rooms are basic. Considering the price this was a very good stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Roderik79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
289 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Location is perfect of copacabana
The breakfast is great too
The room is a bit too small
No place for the luggage
The roof pool is like a Bath
No in room wifi only but only wired Internet
People with tablets and smartphones only will not appreciate. I had my netbook

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LFC_ASR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Windsor Copa Hotel
Windsor Copa Hotel
#43 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,028 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#31 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
725 reviews
Copacabana
Golden Tulip Rio Copacabana
Golden Tulip Rio Copacabana
#53 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Rio Design Hotel
Rio Design Hotel
#49 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
587 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#20 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,854 reviews
Copacabana
Copa Sul Hotel
Copa Sul Hotel
#58 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Martinique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Martinique Hotel

Property: Windsor Martinique Hotel
Address: Rua Sa Ferreira, 30, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22071-100, Brazil (Formerly Martinique Copa Hotel)
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#32 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#33 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windsor Martinique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Windsor Martinique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Martinique Copa
Martinique Copa Hotel
Martinique Copa Rio De Janeiro
Windsor Martinique Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing