We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel but.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Windsor Martinique Hotel
Ranked #35 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    553
    160
    23
    9
See reviews for
147
511
84
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Very good location, the superior rooms were sea view and are very confortabily, the personal was very helpfully.( I'm argentine and my husband italian and our portugues is more poor than my english) all talk many lengueges. I recomended it .

Room Tip: the superior rooms with ocean viw, in highers floor are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alejandra g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The Windsor Martinique is well situated on a side street a half block in from Copacabana beach, on the southern part of Av. Atlantica a short walking distance from the Ipanema strip. If, like me, you enjoy walking and people-watching up and down the two beaches, then the Windsor Martinique couldn't be better located. The hotel is also a good value -- not inexpensive by any means, but by Rio's exorbitant beachside standards, it is actually one of the better values around. I paid around $160/night in summer, the week before Carnaval.

I stayed in a room with a single king-sized bed. The size and configuration of the room were a pleasant surprise... it was spacious and well-organized with all the comforts you'd want, bathroom included. I found I could really kick back and relax in the room, which is really what I'm looking for on a vacation. One oddity was that the "king-sized" bed was actually two extra long double mattresses put together, so that you had to sleep on one side or the other, or else your vertebrae would be over the dreaded gap between the two mattresses. Not a big deal, but strange I thought. Breakfast is included in the price of this hotel, and it is a well above average spread. I used room service one time (the night I arrived in Rio, at 1 am...), and it was prompt, delicious, and surprisingly inexpensive. On the downside, the Windsor Martinique's laundry service is the most expensive I've seen at any hotel ever, and that is saying something. Try your best to plan your trip to avoid using it.

A couple of warnings. The rooftop bar doesn't exist. There is indeed a rooftop, and you can go up there, but no one ever does, because it's woeful, and in place of where the bar should be, there is a telephone with a note saying to "call if you need something" -- presumably meaning a bartender and a drink. In fact, there is no bar at all, on the rooftop or otherwise. The pool up there is also tiny. And while we're at it: the downstairs lobby is tiny. There is literally seating for 4 people. In a hotel this size, that is going to be a problem, particularly because the rooms do not have wireless access -- only this tiny lobby, and the restaurant.

The service at this hotel is very good. The professional men and women who work at the front desk were very helpful during our trip at providing pointers about where to go, what restaurants to go to (and setting up reservations), and in handling incidental inquiries. Housekeeping is good, although one day, one of my wet towels was replaced with a dirty one from another room instead of a clean one from the laundry.

In summary, the Windsor Martinique is a very good, decently priced hotel in a prime location in Rio, which will give you a feeling of luxury and quality without breaking the bank. At the same time, there were a few minor issues that kept it from receiving my highest rating, but I still recommend it to fellow travelers.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

OVERVIEW:
I wasn't impressed with the poor lobby and room set-up. Both had poor furniture placement making it diffucult to maneuver. And not being able to get wi-fi is unacceptable in today's era. Staff was helpful with good English but we would get conflicting answers depending on who we talked to. If I return I will look for a different hotel. I can do better.

PROS:
1. One block from Copacabana Beach
2. Taxi corner located at the end of the block as you walk to the beach. Easy to grab a taxi
there.
3. Breakfast is average and on the overly processed side. They do however always have fruit.
The coffee is instant granules. But the PRO here is just ask a waiter for an espresso and
they have a machine right there that they will fire up complete with warm milk. Yeah!
4. Getting to the Sombodromo to see Carnaval was a nightmare. No taxis available, line in
metro to get a ticket was massive. Kiosks to purchase metro tickets were down. Hotel had a
van to take people to the event but it was full. They offered to call a private car for us and
for only 10 more reais than a taxi would have charged! It was surprisingly cheap and even if
it had been pricey when you have paid to see this extravaganza the cost of any
transportation is cheap in comparison!

CONS:
1. Couldn't open my closet door all the way because nightstand was too big.
2. Hard to get towels off of the bathroom towel rack without them falling into the toilet.
3. Blow dryer is the small, white, cheap brand that we all know loves to eat your hair and
overheats and then won't turn back on until it cools from its hot tantrum.
4. Could hear loud water and pump whenever neighbor took a shower. This would wake me up
every morning.
5. Spotty wi-fi in room if at all.
6. I was on the 5th floor with a view of a brick wall.
7. Lobby has limited seating. With the difficulty in getting wi-fi in the room the patron is forced
to use the lobby. It can be hard to find a place to sit.
8. Have to wait around to get a bell man to give you a towel for the beach. (Most "natives"
don't use towels but use their wrap-around swimsuit cover or rent a beach chair for a
couple of bucks.)
9. Hotel will try to convince you that you need to sign up for their tours in order to see the
sights of Rio. Not true.Taxis are affordable, buses cheap, and the metro safe. In fact, it's
only an 8 block walk from this hotel to Impanema Beach.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I was EXTREMELY nervous visiting Rio de Janeiro as I heard so much negative press about it, but the copacabana/ipanema/leblon area really is quite safe and as with any city you don't flash any cash or valuables and be alert to your surroundings. I was relieved to find the hotel was in a great location just off the copacabana, near lots of great restaurants and backing on to another street that has all the main shops as well as the public buses that take people to Christ the Redeemer and Sugarloaf (trust me - take the public buses - they're a fraction of the price of the official tours and there's nothing different with the tours - in fact they share the same bus stops so you're only paying for the hotel pickup!)

The staff here were friendly, the breakfast good and the rooms clean. There were only two issues - one minor one in that there was no wi-fi in the room and only in the lobby/breakfast area. The lobby is pretty small so no chance of hanging round there whiling away an hour if you wanted to kill time! The second issue was that we saw bugs in our room a few times - when i first notified reception they sent a cleaner up IMMEDIATELY and sorted it but when i saw them a second time, i asked if we could move rooms and they obliged with no questions asked. I wouldn't let this put anyone off booking a room here as the new room was perfectly fine and it could have simply been that our first room was on the first floor and appeared to be located over the kitchen area, with our window overlooking where the rubbish would be stored. So in short, DO book this place...but ask for a room on one of the upper floors!

Room Tip: We were originally on first floor but got moved to third floor - this was perfect so just ask for an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Backpacker100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firenze
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Really nice Hotel. No guests admitted as per all Windsor hotels per policy.
room a bit small and view... no much light.
Staff really useful. DO not take taxi from hotel...cheaper normal taxi...
Braekfast super...fruit really good.


  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank vick3173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is a great hotel with great location, it is close to both Copacabana and Ipanema, with many restaurants around. The breakfeast is delicious, great variety. It is all very clean. However, the walls are thin and sometimes I heard people singing in the other room.

Room Tip: Some rooms have bathrooms with windows, others use forced ventilation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alessandra06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Windsor Copa Hotel
Windsor Copa Hotel
#44 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,026 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#31 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
725 reviews
Copacabana
Golden Tulip Rio Copacabana
Golden Tulip Rio Copacabana
#54 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Rio Design Hotel
Rio Design Hotel
#51 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
587 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#21 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,849 reviews
Copacabana
Copa Sul Hotel
Copa Sul Hotel
#56 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Martinique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Martinique Hotel

Property: Windsor Martinique Hotel
Address: Rua Sa Ferreira, 30, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22071-100, Brazil (Formerly Martinique Copa Hotel)
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#32 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#33 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windsor Martinique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Windsor Martinique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Martinique Copa
Martinique Copa Hotel
Martinique Copa Rio De Janeiro
Windsor Martinique Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing