We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Windsor Martinique Hotel
Ranked #34 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We just returned from a perfect trip to Rio.
We were very pleased with this hotel.
Our room was small but clean and very comfortable.
I did not intend to spend much time in the room and this was not a problem for me at all.
The staff spoke English well and were very friendly and helpful.
They assisted us with excursions and restaurants.
Copacabana beach is a block away, we used an umbrella from the hotel and rented chairs at the beach.
Breakfast buffet was very good and was included in our room rate.
Wifi was free in the lobby wireless or with a wire in the room.
Claudio was especially helpful, he worked at the front desk.
We would definitely return to this hotel and this beautiful city!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerim12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

184 - 190 of 1,141 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

I'l start with the only real drawback. The pool was postage stamp sized. If you really require a pool then this is not the place for you but really, you are in Rio and the hotel is less than a half block from Copacabana Beach and a 15min walk to Ipanema Beach!

I read with trepidation about the room size and was pleasantly surprised! We had a real king sized bed not just two twins pushed together! (NB the light switch in the middle of the headboard was poorly placed and we sometimes hit it and turned on the ligths during the night!). There was also a seperate desk area with plenty of outlets for cellphones and computers. People who complain these rooms are small must never have been to NY or Europe where rooms are significantly smaller than this one was and there you often need to store winter clothes! The in room internet was wired but who cared? It was amazingly fast and always worked!

Breakfast was excellent and they were very accomodating (I've been in hotels in Europe where when they say breakfast service stops at 1030 they stop putting out food at 10; here they were still welcoming people at 10:20 and there was still plenty of food available till even a little after the "official" end of breakfast.

Staff was wondeful and spoke English well. Price was reasonable. I really enjoyed this hotel and would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gbs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

That title just about says it all.
Location- it is a couple of steps from Copacabana Beach, so it is excellent.
Breakfast buffet- pretty good. Great selection of fruits (and fresh fruit juices) and other foods that will fill you up, fueling your day at the beach.
Rooms- incredibly tight. They have maximized every square inch of this prime space, so if that matters to you, then be forewarned-- you will stumble all over your stuff (and each other, if with a roommate). Also, the ACs are spotty. Our party stayed in 4 rooms altogether-- all had issues with ACs struggling, and failing, to cool down the room. One room had two settings, arctic cold and off.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelerDiana1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Very Helpful front desk, especially Geovana (thank you very much), who told us which buses to take to Christ the Redeemer statue & Sugar Loaf Mountain....(see later)
The rooms are very comfortable and clean and have electric sockets for both USA n European plugs (not UK, so bring an adaptor), everything works!
There’s a mini fridge can put your own stuff in if you like (supermarkets 2 min walk up the road) and a desk and chair, blackout curtains, full length mirror in wardrobe and firm but comfy beds…

The hotel is very well located in a quiet street but a very short stroll from copacobana beach & an easy walk to ipanema... There are lots of Banks and shops in one direction and restaurants in the other.

Breakfast is a large buffet, with an excellent selection of food including a wide range of fruit, cold cuts, pastries, bacon, Scrambled eggs and waffles! All together with unlimited tea & coffee. something for everyone!

The roof top pool is a bit of a postage stamp in size, with a few tables & chairs and a bar but who needs this when you've got Copacabana 5 steps from the front door!

Internet. Bring cable to use in your room or get from the front desk but very good wifi available in lobby. You an usually sit on the sofa or armchair there and the provision is very good.

We would definitely stay again!!!

(To get to Christ the Redeemer statue: take the 583 to Cosme Velho for Corcovado... When you leave stay on the same side of the road and the bus stop is down the hill to get the 584 back. On the way back, for the Windsor Martinique hotel, wait for the bus to drive all the way down Rua Barata Ribeiro and get off at stop after the 'tunnel' this is Rua Sa Ferreira. Walk towards the beach and the hotel is eventually on your left and
to get to Sugar Loaf Mountain take the 511 to Urca to the cable car station and then the 512 back, same bus stop to disembark…….)

Room Tip: don't worry about paying the extra for a superior rooms, all the rooms we had (both standard and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelFun24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for seven nights and thought the location at the quiet end of Copacabana and very close to Ipanema was excellent. The staff were very helpful - all spoke English and helped us with various things across the week. Breakfast was buffet style with selection of hot and cold food. Only down sides were the lack of wifi in the room ( though available in the reception and breakfast room) and the lack of atmosphere in the pool area, though to be fair it was quite early in the season. Pool is also v small but we knew that before we came.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CD22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Considering its excellent location, the hotel was reasonably priced compared to similar hotels. The staff was helpful and the hotel was satisfactory in most respects (rooms, breakfast, etc.). The lobby was quite small and the free Wi-Fi access is limited to the lobby floor. If you will pay a bit more for a superior room, please be aware that your room needs to be located in the upper floors to get a partial view of the ocean (our room number was 202, on the 2nd floor, which was not really suitable for enjoying a good view other than the street). However, the superior rooms are quite spacious and comfortable. If you are looking for easy beach access (Copacabana is just 50 meters ahead, and Ipanema is within walking distance), and a reliable and reasonably comfortable hotel with a competitive price (compared to its peers), I would recommend Windsor Martinique.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlaukosKhalkedon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Basically non existent pool area, internet only in a lobby that has 5 seats available-the size of my living room at home-with tons of people trying to access internet all at once! &rooms are so tiny that your luggage is overflowing around you! Very, very stressful...not at all what we were expecting from the last leg of our South American journey....we had hoped to relax by a rooftop pool, which ended up being a very basic, ugly, cement area the size of our rooftop deck at home(fairly small), that has about 3 loungers next to a gross white tiled plunge pool about twice as big as a hot tub. Think maybe they could have at least dressed it up with some plants?(nope-nothing!it's as basic as it comes!) We haven't spent more than 2 minutes up there....rooms are the size of a queen bed with about 15" on each side of it for walking space!This is a "business traveler's" type hotel....
Ok....here are the good features:
1.Though the staff at the front desk(sm lobby so only 2 ppl at front desk & no concierge) are very busy, they were helpful & friendly when we had questions
2. The included breakfast is the best we've had in south america - with eggs, bacon in addition to the pastries, cereal, fruit...

That's it, folks! Those are the only 2 good things! Sorry....but I really believe if you've traveled halfway across the world for some enjoyment, you should not believe the advertisements for this hotel! We tried to change hotels, but booked through Latin Destinations & prepaid, so could not (even tried emailing them 3 days ago & no response - another company I'll never use again!!!)...

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adventuringSpirit69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#37 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
765 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Copa Hotel
Windsor Copa Hotel
#41 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,069 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Rio Hotel
Copacabana Rio Hotel
#78 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#23 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,948 reviews
Copacabana
Orla Copacabana Hotel
Orla Copacabana Hotel
#79 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,432 reviews
Copacabana
Pestana Rio Atlantica
Pestana Rio Atlantica
#68 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Martinique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Martinique Hotel

Address: Rua Sa Ferreira, 30, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22071-100, Brazil (Formerly Martinique Copa Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#32 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#33 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $71 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windsor Martinique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Windsor Martinique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Martinique Copa
Martinique Copa Hotel
Martinique Copa Rio De Janeiro
Windsor Martinique Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing