We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Forte Duque de Caxias

Forte Duque de Caxias
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.00*
and up
Rio de Janeiro Downtown Tour
Ranked #54 of 708 things to do in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Walk is really worth the great views of Cocacabana beach , sugar loaf mountain & sorrounding bays. Walk takes about 15 minutes but very nice views as we went up.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank RossDaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    185
    28
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Timisoara, Romania
Level Contributor
166 reviews
116 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Top view of Copacabana”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

On the top of Hill Leme (Murro de Leme) at the beggining of Copacabana beach, the fort is a small pack of history and a perfect spot to have a great view over the ocean and the famous beach. The entry fee is insignificant, 4 real, but surely worth the effort to climb the hill

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Papillonul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrboro, NC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent views near Copacabana/Leme beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Given that the fort is in an area that is heavily visited by tourists, I am surprised that it seems to be unknown to most visitors to Rio. I think this may be partially due to its limited hours. When I visited, it was only open to visitors from 9am to 4pm from Thursday to Sunday. I have read contradictory hours in different guide books, which suggests to me that the hours may be a bit unpredictable. It may be worthwhile to find out the definite hours before you go there.

In any event, the entrance to the fort is at the east end of Leme Beach (which is the easternmost part of Copacabana Beach). It costs R$4 to visit the fort, and it requires a moderate climb up a cobblestone street. At the top you will enjoy some nice views of Copacabana and Pao de Acucar. There is also some old military hardware and a few exhibits about Brazilian military history, but nothing very exciting (in my opinion). The view is the main attraction. The view isn't as stunning as the view from Pao de Acucar or Corcovado, but it has the benefit of being right next to the beach. If you need a diversion from the beach, the hike up the hill is well worth it, in my opinion.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank EDBair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good views across Rio from a short walk up to the top of the hill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

There is a small entrance fee to the walk which is 800 metre long uphill and follows the passion of Jesus. There are birds and monkeys to see if you are lucky, a good few stopping off places to rest if you tire. When you get to the top you can visit the howitser hardware, a video explaining the history of the fort, whole thing is well done. The views from the top are surprisingly good, similar to Sugar Loaf but not as high and nowhere near the cost. Worth a visit if you can make the uphill walk.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forte Duque de Caxias also viewed

 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Forte Duque de Caxias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing