We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You must stay here for your first visit to rio” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abraco Carioca- Favela hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abraco Carioca- Favela hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Cusco, Peru
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“You must stay here for your first visit to rio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

So forget everything you have heard about dangerous favelas in rio. I ended up staying here for almost a month during the world cup and loved every minute of it! It was definitely the perfect place to stay. This little gem is perched on top of a hill overlooking the amazing view of copacabana beach and the surrounding areas, the view is literally the beet thing about this place. Gabriel also does a wonderful job of making you feel right at home and I really appreciated the hospitality of the entire favela as well. You will find way more hospitable and friendly people in the favela rather than the rest of Rio. I never felt in danger and was humbled by the way people live and breath in the favela. Definitely stay here for an authentic Rio experience!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PejmanA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel G, Proprietário at Abraco Carioca- Favela hostel, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
What a wonderful character! I truly appreciate your nice compliment and send it right back to you: you’re the type of guest/friend that makes the work/adventure worth it. Your relationship with the world and those who surround you is infectious! Come back soon my friend!

"Que figura marovilhosa! Te agradeço o seu belo elogio e te devolvo: Você é um hóspede/amigo que faz valer a aventura/trabalho de receber pessoas. Sua relação com o mundo e com aqueles que o habitam é de se contaminar. Volte logo meu amigo."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
12
41
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

Words cannot describe what an amazing hostel this was. But pictures sure can and trust me when I say these pictures are completely accurate. I cannot emphasize enough how incredible of an experience it was to have the opportunity to live right in the heart of the favela. The sense of community in the neighborhood was sincere and so amiable that not once did I ever feel unsafe. The people I got to meet everyday live so passionately and with such fervor that you wonder how you could ever tear yourself away from this place to go back home. But enough of the subjective semantics. Gaga and Reza are two very friendly and accommodating hosts who run such a great hostel. The facilities are modern and the beds are impeccably clean. I have traveled quite a bit and I am not shy to say that this hostel is by far my favorite place to stay because it has the four most essential factors that is a must in any place of stay: CLEANLINESS; SAFETY; HOSPITALITY; and CULTURAL IMMERSION. There are lockers you can store your valuables. Be prepared, though, to live just like those in the favelas...meaning, you'll have to walk a good 10 minutes to the hostel from the street. But in return, you get to live 15 minutes walking distance from the Copacabana beach and minutes away from a bustling city life where you can find all the great Brasilian restaurants, bars, and bus lines for a complete Rio experience. I can't imagine a better way to acquaint oneself with Rio than to stay here and let two great hosts introduce you to a beloved city. I SHALL RETURN!!!

Room Tip: It does not matter at all. Because regardless of which room you live in, you'll still have acces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zian10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

My stay here was from July 6 - 11, 2014.

This hostel is a hidden gem. Its location in the favela next to Leme offers the opportunity to sample life as Brazilians live it. I never once felt unsafe here, and while the climb to the hostel is no walk in the park, the view is worth it!

Gabriel, the host, is a champion. He's always available and willing to help out, whether it's teaching you common phrases in Portuguese, or pointing out the best places to eat that only locals know about. Don't be afraid to ask for suggestions on what to do.

I had an incredible experience in Rio and Gabriel's favela hostel was the biggest reason why.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

The hostel was great and the Gabriel was very nice and helpful. If you think staying in a favela is dangerous or not safe, please think again. All the people living in the favela are very helpful and nice. My stay here was a total success! If you want to meet great people and have a beautiful view every single day, this is the spot to stay at!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stayfit13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kragujevac, Serbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

As a couple we visited Rio in May this year and stayed in Abracao Carioca hostel for 4 days.This was the best choice ever and we would have regret if we hadn't chosen this place.

The hostel is up to the small hill, in the safe&friendly favela near Copacabana and it offers you undescribeable view over the Rio's coast from the rooms and from the dining area (terrase) as well. It is very well connected with metro and bus station that takes you everywhere in the city.

The hostel is clean and the room that we stayed in was spacious and almost entirely in windows so we could enjoy the view from the bed when we went to sleep and when we woke up + on the terrase when having breakfast and all that with sounds of ocean and birds :)
As the day passes we would be a part of the favela's daily life routine which is something so authentic and if you don't experience it in Rio then you haven't visited it at all! We have even had luck to enjoy samba drums class of children from the favela that amazed us.

The host, Gabriel, was really kind, helpful, he managed to take us on some places in Rio that changed our perspective completelly.
I strongly recommend this hostel as it offers you not only bed and breakfast but also full authentic experience of the city and people living in as well.

Ana

Room Tip: Both rooms are good choice, but I preferred Chapeau room as it enables you to have wide look upon th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana_Zivkovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel G, Proprietário at Abraco Carioca- Favela hostel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Ana, Niko and myself looked just llike really old friends! Immediately we connected and our tours floated like the city was a calm sea. Santa Teresa and the world’s best “cheese bum”, the old storage, conversations about various subjects, downtown and the “old café”, well…everything felt like being in Rio again. Serbia and Brazil have a lot more in common that we would’ve imagined.
Saudade my friends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kragujevac, Serbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

My girlfriend and I have spent a few days in Rio in Abraco Carioca this May. While booking, we saw a lot of offers, but we were looking for something not so touristic and in a safe location near the beaches. After our stay, I can just say that it was really the best choice ever! The hostel is very clean and comfortable, and as everyone else says - it has an AMAZING view on the bay. That's something you can't really experience in the photos but you can get the hint... It's close to the beach and all the main transports to visit the city (buses and metro). And a very important thing: when you wake up with the sound of waves and birds singing it's much better than the noise of buses you get if you stay in Copacabana area :)

The favela is a very safe place, the people are friendly, you are never alone in the streets and you NEVER feel unsafe.

Gabriel is a great host, he made us feel welcome and comfortable right away. During our stay he spent a lot of time with us and it was like visiting an old friend - and now I can say I have a friend in Rio !! Thanks for everything Gabriel, our stay in Rio couldn't be even close this good if we haven't been at your place!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nikola o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel G, Proprietário at Abraco Carioca- Favela hostel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Ana, Niko and myself looked just llike really old friends! Immediately we connected and our tours floated like the city was a calm sea. Santa Teresa and the world’s best “cheese bum”, the old storage, conversations about various subjects, downtown and the “old café”, well…everything felt like being in Rio again. Serbia and Brazil have a lot more in common that we would’ve imagined.
Saudade my friends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

I spend a few days at the Abraço Carioca this last April. Now I can't imagine another place to stay whenever I come back to Rio! The owner is the most incredible man. He is very friendly and up to help you on anything you need to enjoy the best Rio can offer. It's a cosy place with the nicest view and inside a very interesting favela community context. (Check the picture I took one day just after waking up!) The place is also a good spot to make new friends from around the world and get along with them by the city.
Perfect to spend some time with friends or even by yourself.
I'll definitely come back

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamás B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel G, Proprietário at Abraco Carioca- Favela hostel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
This Mineiro is so cosmopolitan that reviewed us in English!
Even living in Belo Horizonte province, he is a walking source of immediate information of what’s going on around the world. And for fun and adventures as well…Lapa can tell us that.
Támas e Maria stayed here for a short period but they made it worth as for years with intensity and party! Shrimps on “Berbigão” and the popular dish on Quentinha da Neusa were real banquets to celebrate this nice encounter. I toast to this great mate a beer and a good cachaça as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Leme
Golden Tulip Rio Leme
Golden Tulip Rio Leme
#64 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
Arena Leme Hotel
#7 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Le House Hostel
#45 of 756 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leme
Lisetonga Hostel
Lisetonga Hostel
#37 of 756 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Babilonia Rio Hostel
#4 of 756 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Aquarela do Leme
#26 of 756 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abraco Carioca- Favela hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abraco Carioca- Favela hostel

Property: Abraco Carioca- Favela hostel
Address: Ladeira Ary Barroso, 66, Leme | Chapeu Mangueira / Rua Dr Estrofe, 8b, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22010-020, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 756 Specialty Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abraco Carioca-Favela Hostel provides an authentic local experience in Rio de Janeiro. Located in Chapeu Mangueira Favela, it has an incredible view of Copacabana beach.The experience begins with the unique local culture of the favela where we are located: tracks, restaurants, bars, local characters, music and art events. Enjoy an adventure full of stories, sights, smells and tastes of this amazing community. Born and raised in Rio, our carioca staff are knowledgeable about the four corners of this wonderful setting, with its local celebrities and everyday people. It is this local flavour that we will share with each guest. Together we also look for city tours, concerts, football matches, local eateries, events, festivals, exhibitions, architecture, samba, capoeira, language and other courses ( surfing, dancing, cooking etc), movies and any activity with the potential for you to better experience the genuine spirit of Rio. Tasty street snacks; popular local bars; fairs; samba rehearsals, the best way to enjoy Maracana at a football match; the hidden corners and small treasures that only those who live in and love Rio know where to find. Stay at Abraco Carioca-Favela Hostel, our guests get everything that fascinates us about the City. Welcome to the typical carioca life and its local accent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Abraco Carioca- Favela hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abraco Carioca- Favela Hostel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing