We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
Ranked #42 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2010

This is a great hotel in the centre of Rio's copacabana beach. It is only 2 blocks back from the beach with cafes, restuarnats, banks, ATMS & supermarkets all located very close. We found the staff here to be wonderful & helpful. We loved the rooftop area with its small but refreshing pool & great views of Christ! This hotel is great value for money & has everything you need!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Akoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (877)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

151 - 157 of 877 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2009

Facing a grassy tree-lined square, often filled with gatherings of men (which one lady in our group of 17 thought intimidating. Within a few hundred metres there are restaurants, a corner shop selling water/soft drinks, a small supermarket, ATM machines and a Macdonalds burger bar. It is set back about 2/3 blocks from Copocabana Beach .

A ground floor reception area also has a bar with comfortable seating. The restaurant also on the ground floor serves buffet breakfast and will do snacksat lunchtime.

On the roof of this multi-floored building there is a tiny pool, a small fitness room and a daytime bar. The view is towards the Corcovado Mt and the statue of Christ. But there is little shade on the roof and only a few parosols so it can be hot.

My room was spacious with three beds and comfortable modern furnishing. The bathroom had a shower with simple controls. It was clean bright and pleasant - but take a sink plug with you. It is possible that its location beside a busy crossroad might create traffic noise in some rooms, but as my room looked out on to a long flat roof I was not disturbed

The hotel was being used asa base for the support team for a round-world sea race so they must have been looking for a longterm home from home

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjthorntree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2008

Staff was very nice. Rooms are modern good sized and clean. Location is good. You're 2 blocks from the beach, and shopping is all around you. You're not far from all the tourist attractions. My wife loved it. We left for the beach one day, and left the room safe open. In it was a few thousand of dollars, and our watches and jewelry. When we came back hours later. The room had been cleaned, and everything was right where we left it. Nothing was missing! When you compare everything in this hotel to other hotels in Copacabana, Ipanama, and Leblon. Believe me it's a Great deal. You will find other hotels with similar rooms, service, and cleanliness. But not at the same price, and I know. I live in the U.S. but I was born in Rio, and go back when I can. So I know the area and what hotels charge. This hotel is a great deal.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank leblon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2008

Upon arriving in Rio I knew this holiday was going to be a little chaotic. Got the airport shuttle to Copacabana and really couldn't figure out where to call out my stop so we walked a little to this spot. Check-in was fine, the staff were pleasant however they did try to sell us on a few activities at inflated prices. Not too overbearing though. We got a top floor room facing the Crist Redemptor which was really GREAT!! Elevators were pretty quick too. Rooms seemed ok, light woods decor, bathroom was fine but I think it needed a fan as it got steamy in there. Neighborhood was OK, really a commercial district so lots of choices for restaurants or grocery shopping. Subway stop was a few blocks up which was a nice bonus to get into other parts of Rio. The breakfast room always seemed busy and some of the staff were a little slow to clear dishes. There was a nice variety of food on display but after 3 days got a bit weak. I could stay here again if the price is right which I felt it was. Actually I think the rate I was charged was lower than what the reservation quoted!!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank boxjelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2008

My three friends and I just returned from staying at the Mar Palace Copacabana. The rooms are very basic, no frills. The bathroom was very modern, however and we did have a view of Christ the Redeemer from our room (#1008).
The front desk staff speaks English and are very nice. We had an emergency medical situation and they were extremely helpful and accomodating.
The breakfast is okay, considering it's free. We saw a roach one day crawling along the trays though.
The lights in the halls are motion-sensored. Found this to be a great "green" feature, but the hallways were dark until you walked into the sensor area.
The roof top pool area is VERY small. But, again, you don't go to Rio to spend the day at the pool.
The area the hotel is located in is pretty safe and there are always cabs available. There are grocery stores and restaurants nearby - all within walking distance.
I, personally, wouldn't stay here again but that is mainly due to the fact that I would want to stay in Ipanema. If you want to stay in Copacabana and aren't looking to be pampered - this is a good place. It's two blocks from the beach and has all the basics.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank vacation9778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Sydney Australia
111
Reviewed April 23, 2006

The Mar Palace has been done up recently, the rooms are a reasonable size, the furnishings are reasonably new, the bathroom was big, with a good shower. There is a pool on the roof, it is small but good enough for a dip, on the roof there is also a gym and a bar (this area is nice to relax). The hotel is one block back from the beach, the walk is not far. There is a laundry around the back of the hotel, which is a reasonable price, an old american guy works there and will translate for you. There is a post office about 50 metres down the road (turn to your left out the main entrance). The breakfast on offer is really good, a large range of food, cooked, cold, fruit, juice, etc. The hotel is on a busy road, and as a female sometimes comming back to the hotel at night alone, I felt safe enough to walk, in fact I prefered to walk, as the cabbies take the meter away at night some times and you can pay more than you should. The hotel will assist with organising a few local trips, there is a lady who speaks reasonable english to assist, the desk staff are frendily, a couple of them speak english. I would advise people to get basic portugese, as english is not spoken in most places, I got by but would certainly learn more before returning.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2006

i'm have been much lucky person to have reserved and sleep near the mar palace, in how much it is new hotel, situated to 2 isolates to you from the beach of Copacabana, in direction of the beach number 9, the rooms are a lot cleaned up with a design much pretty one, abundant breakfast to braces and international too, this hotel is good for couple,groups and for job.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank askmetrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Windsor Copa Hotel
Windsor Copa Hotel
#40 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,073 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#37 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
768 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Rio Hotel
Copacabana Rio Hotel
#80 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Atlantis Copacabana
Atlantis Copacabana
#87 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,385 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Sol Hotel
Copacabana Sol Hotel
#143 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
490 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Suites by Atlantica
Copacabana Suites by Atlantica
#98 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana

Address: Avenida Nossa Senhora de Copacabana 552, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22020-001, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#44 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $72 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mar Hotel Copacabana Palace offers a great location in the heart of Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro. It is just 80m from the beach and 150 meters from the Metro station Siqueira Campos. In the lobby of the hotel, the restaurant offers a variety of dishes. The terrace has a pool and a bar, where we offer drinks and snacks in the evening. We have spacious and confortable apartments. Services of personal trainer are available at an exclusive area at Copacabana beach. Hotel Mar Palace is nationally known as the sports hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar Palace Copacabana Hotel
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing