We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, safe location in the heart of Copacabana”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
Ranked #41 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We booked this over Carnaval - It is a great location with everything on your doorstep and i felt really safe, even walking around at night (2 young girls travelling on our own).

The staff were great, Weber really went out of our way for us!One lady was a bit snooty, but generally the staff went out of their way at peak time to do whatever they could for you. They
organised a trip to Angra Dos Reis (highly recommend if you have the time). The cleaners did a great job and all staff were attentive and spoke great English (quite rare even in Rio).

Great value for money - had a HUGE twin room. The room was tidy, got some complimentary truffles on arrival and have a nice view where we could see the beach. The bathroom was always spotless and the shower was always hot and powerful. The rooftop area is amazing - just wish we had longer in rio so we could make more use of the facilities. From above, you can view out, see the statue and the beautiful city, perfect for sunbathing and has a bar and gym up there.

The wifi was a bit iffy, and couldnt use it but i suppose i wouldn't be making the most of my holiday if i spent all my time online!

The breakfast was superb, lots of fruit, cakes, bread rolls and cheeses, scrambelled eggs etc - lots of nice fruit juice.

This is a great value hotel and i would definately come back here again if i ever get a chance to visit the amazing Rio De Janeiro again! It was more expensive than i would normally pay for i think its an average price for a hotel in Rio - and you definately get your money's worth!

Room Tip: Get one with a 'city view', we were on the 10th floor and could see Copacabana beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sazzlem88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (885)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

110 - 116 of 885 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

The hotel was clean, amenities were adequate, the breakfast was great, the bell boys rocked, however the night staff at the desk was subpar, unhelpful and placed their work load onto the day staff. In short they didn't care about the customer.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank wbement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at the Mar Palace during Carnival, after abandoning a wholly unsuitable hotel. Frankly, I am surprised that we got a room for four nights on such short notice. The room was large and comfortable, but on the front of the hotel's third floor, so the street noise was sometimes a bit much. The hotel staff were hugely friendly and helpful. For beach lovers the location is just two short blocks from the middle of Copacabana. There are some OK restaurants close by. The breakfast is extensive, with heaps of fruit, particularly good scrambled eggs and, not surprisingly, good coffee. All that said, if you go during Carnival, the Mar Palace, like every other hotel in Rio, jacks up their price by more than 200%. Still worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davisdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Hotel prices in Rio were Sky high for the New-Years period. This is a 3-star hotel and we paid more than what we paid for a nice 5-star hotel in Miami previously. But this is the reality of Rio. All hotels are very expensive that time of year. Considering that, this hotel was good value for money.

Positives:
- Clean hotel, modern rooms
- Excellent location - 5 min walk to Copacabana beach
- Good, friendly service
- Good breakfast buffet
- Much better than I expected

Negatives:
- Got zero view from our room ... literally a view of the air conditioning ducts ... make sure you avoid that.

Over all a good choice in a very expensive city.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank villdre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

It is a very good location, very good staff! very friendly and helpful. We stayed there only one night but it was not a problem to leave our luggages and even take a shower in the swimming area after we have already checked out.
The breakfast was excellent, really good.
we stayed in the 4 people room, so nothing so special, but absolutely nothing to complain.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amk_ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Situated one block from the beach it is a modern hotel with functional spacious rooms. Buffet style breakfast and evening meals with good choices. Two blocks away from the Metro for an easy 7 stops,and 15 minute ride to the city centre. There are small restaurants and other hotels for dining though the nearer the beach the higher the prices.
We had booked airport transfers in advance and on the strength of feedback from Tripadvisor we contacted Manu Perclat to arrange this for us and also to give us a private day tour. His advance communications were excellent and although there was a wait at the airport when we arrived due to an accident on the approach roads, everything else went smoothly. His English is very good, also his driving, a bonus in Rio! An early start to go up Sugarloaf and to Christ the Redeemer is vital to beat the queues when the cruise ships dock.

Room Tip: Do not lose the key to the safe, it can prove xpensive..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Spent 4 days here for the Copacabana Year End Party!! The Hotel was much better than expected. Room we got was very clean, modern setup, nice bed, good LCD tv, minibar, and good working A/C!! Not luxurious hotel, but clean, safe and nice. at the restaurant we only had breakfast, and it was a nice buffet with lots of options and good service. Location of hotel is great, just 2 blocks from the beach, close to all sorts of restaurants, coffee shops, pharmacies, supermarkets. We did not need a taxi during whole stay.
Of course, New Year's Eve is not cheap, but price was way better than many hotels closer that looked not as nice.
But again, the main Plus is the location, so close to the best part of Copacabana beach.
Only negative is that the staff at reception is not very friendly, the lady does not even looks at you when you ask a question, and they did not inform that room service was cancelled on the 31st, we wanted to dine in the room before going out to the party, the reception was not helpful when we asked for food.
Besides this, We really enjoyed our stay here, recommend it!!!!!!!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Bosfurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Windsor Copa Hotel
Windsor Copa Hotel
#38 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,093 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#33 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
788 reviews
Copacabana
Atlantis Copacabana
Atlantis Copacabana
#85 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Royal Rio Palace Hotel
Royal Rio Palace Hotel
#82 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,537 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Rio Hotel
Copacabana Rio Hotel
#73 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,085 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#23 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana

Address: Avenida Nossa Senhora de Copacabana 552, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22020-001, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#44 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $86 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mar Hotel Copacabana Palace offers a great location in the heart of Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro. It is just 80m from the beach and 150 meters from the Metro station Siqueira Campos. In the lobby of the hotel, the restaurant offers a variety of dishes. The terrace has a pool and a bar, where we offer drinks and snacks in the evening. We have spacious and confortable apartments. Services of personal trainer are available at an exclusive area at Copacabana beach. Hotel Mar Palace is nationally known as the sports hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar Palace Copacabana Hotel
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing