We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
Ranked #48 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Saint-Raphael, France
Level Contributor
198 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Well there is nothing to complain about this hôtel. . Thé employées are Just fantastic, And thé rooms are big. I have two remarks there is noi seaview It s sad when you are on one of thé most beautiful beach And for breakfast you havé scrambled éggs but no bacon at all, strange, but i recommand this hôtel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VALERY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    429
    135
    16
    17
See reviews for
282
232
20
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I stayed there for one week in August 2012 with 2 friends. Given the rediculously high prices of the other hotels in Ipanema and Copacabana, Mar Palace Copacabana is a good deal. The rooms are clean and spacious, the breakfast is tasty and with a fairly good selection of breads, fruits, eggs etc. and the hotel staff very polite, English speaking and helpful. The location is convenient: a couple of blocks from Copacabana beach and very close to the "Siquiera Campos" metro station, however, it's quite a distance from Ipanema beach: 30 mins walking approx.
The only negative, if I have to find one, is that the pool on the terrace is more like a bath tub. Very small and shallow. Other than that, I enjoyed my stay and I recommend it to any mid-range traveller. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lioness73Athens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I spent the last two weeks in this hotel and I can say that it was good (not more than that). As a usual hotel that is located in the southern zone of Rio de Janeiro, it's expensive, considering the cost-benefit aspect. It offers what most of other similar hotels do and no differential.
Something I noticed is the fact that all the reception employees are very "dry" when dealing with people in person or on the phone. When just passing by, they look to you as they were going to "kill you", if you know what I mean. Not very pleasant at all. A suggestion could be to train these people to smile, at least once in a while, even if they don't have a reason to do so.
The service in general is good, but I am sure anyone can find less expensive and more pleasant places to stay in Rio, even in the southern zone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liebrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Nice, clean hotel, located a couple of blocks from Copacabana. Nice breakfast, comfortable rooms.
There was a lovely small open market with local souvenirs nearby and interesting restaurants. We enjoyed our staying.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Salvador74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Decided to stay in Copacabana as Leblon and Ipanema were too expensive. This Hotel is an average priced hotel in this part of town, a couple of blocks from the Beach, with decent service and clean. Nothing special, but recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Felipe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrboro, NC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I was extremely happy with Mar Palace Copacabana. The location is outstanding; 100 yards from the Metro and 100 yards from the beach. A number of excellent restaurants are within short walking distance. The staff were very courteous and helpful. My room was large and clean and very comfortable. The wireless Internet was reliable and fast (and I didn't even get charged to use it, although that may have been a mistake). The breakfast in the morning was delicious (I already miss the cheese bread and Brazilian fruit). And the price of the hotel was very reasonable compared to most other hotels in the area. Overall I thought Mar Palace Copacabana is an outstanding hotel for the price and I recommend it highly.

I had only a couple minor complaints. There was a fair amount of road noise in my room, but that is probably going to be true anywhere in Copacabana (if not all of Rio). Yes, as other reviewers have noted, the swimming pool is tiny. I'm not sure why people care when the beach is 100 yards away, but it is a little annoying that the hotel insists on posting the picture of the pool that makes it look larger than it actually is.

Also, be advised that the hotel does not allow "guests" in your room. (In Rio, "guest" is a euphemism for "prostitute.") Personally I think that is a plus rather than a minus, because I would rather not have drug-addicted street walkers wandering around the hotel, but if you plan to bring prostitutes back to your room, you will want a different hotel.

Room Tip: There may be less road noise if you get a room on a higher floor, but I don't know for sure. I h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EDBair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

It was a pleasant 5 night stay at this hotel for our family party of 3. On arrival we were delighted to find we had been upgraded to a 12th level front room with two large beds and a pleasant view across to the park and trees with a glimpse of beach & ocean between buildings. Staff were English speaking and helpful. The room standard was clean and OK. Some water damage to the timber work in the entry and bathroom. Bad smells came up through the shower drain during the night. We slept soundly with the wall air conditioner on and heard no noise from the street. Breakfast was adequate with a variety of breads, good quality fresh fruits, cold cuts and scrambled eggs as the only hot dish. The little 3 metre square plunge pool on the roof was really too small and only 1 meter deep, but I guess OK for children. Although the pool was not dirty the water was very cloudy so we did not use it at all. With the marvellous Copacabana beach a few minutes walk away, why bother anyway?
The location is most convenient with many small stores, snack bars, supermarkets, auto bank tellers and a post office in the immediate area. Try a delicious freshly-made tropical fruit juice on the opposite corner at $2.50. Many taxis and buses go directly past the hotel heading to the central city area. The metro stop is just three minutes walk down the side street. There is a fire sprinkler system installed. Just as well, as we could not find a dedicated fire escape on the hotel floor plan, only 1 set of internal stairs. But I would certain consider staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank touristparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Windsor Copa Hotel
Windsor Copa Hotel
#42 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
Copacabana
Americas Copacabana Hotel
Americas Copacabana Hotel
#58 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Copacabana
Orla Copacabana Hotel
Orla Copacabana Hotel
#81 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#30 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Copacabana
Ibis Copacabana Posto 2
Ibis Copacabana Posto 2
#59 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,993 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Sol Hotel
Copacabana Sol Hotel
#138 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana

Property: Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
Address: Avenida Nossa Senhora de Copacabana 552, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22020-001, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#44 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mar Hotel Copacabana Palace offers a great location in the heart of Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro. It is just 80m from the beach and 150 meters from the Metro station Siqueira Campos. In the lobby of the hotel, the restaurant offers a variety of dishes. The terrace has a pool and a bar, where we offer drinks and snacks in the evening. We have spacious and confortable apartments. Services of personal trainer are available at an exclusive area at Copacabana beach. Hotel Mar Palace is nationally known as the sports hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar Palace Copacabana Hotel
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing