We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely expensive for what it is” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Rio Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Rio Palace Hotel
Ranked #85 of 280 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Extremely expensive for what it is”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

The shower was dirty, with a strong smell of sewage, little tiny flys in the bathroom, the sink was also dirty on the very first day, the air conditioner (the window type) was very loud and woke both me and my brother up throughout the night. The mattress was tilted to one side to the point that you felt that you were about to fall. Other than that the only good thing I can say about this hotel is that the have a good breakfast. Would never go there again. Veeeeeeery expensive for what you get, and let it be known that we were a large group of about 16 people and all of us had complaints more or less on the same lines.

Room Tip: Don't go here, it's going to be hard to find a good hotel in Rio for a good price but I'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SAM_MZ80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    677
    232
    61
    45
See reviews for
397
355
47
277
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
232 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Although I maybe had a particularly bad room and experience, the sleeping rooms are small, furnishings very tired, air conditioning unreliable, and elevators and equipment needing repair and updating. It is extremely humid in rio, and many parts of the hotel are too musty. The breakfast buffet is another thing altogether - a sumptuously good meal and many choices. I could not stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank lsihrofhhisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modiin, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We were 5 days at this hotel, couldn't have rest even for one day.
Every day we were moved from one room to another because of terrible noises, each time from different reason(plumbing system, air conditioning, windows with no insulation and poor insulation in general - between rooms)
Even the presidential suites that we got at the end, were terribly noisy and dוrty.

Actually we received bad service, although one receptionist tried to help, the others had difficult in terms of language, he himself admitted to us that the hotel maintenance is not in a good condition, but he is limited and does the maximum he can.

Room Tip: i wouldn't advise this hotel at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 20Lee04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

It's an OK hotel. This is not a 5-star hotel, so I wasn't expecting much. Overall I was pleasantly surprised, given the cost of the room. The check in and out process was fast. The negatives: The room was just ok, the bed was not comfortable and the sheets were very thin. The internet connection sucks (super slow), I had to call to the lobby many times to get a new password. That part was frustrating. The elevators are slow too....The positives: really good breakfast (lots of good options, and it is all you can eat, included in the price of the room), good location (2 blocks away from Copacabana, near the subway and bus stops, shops, and in a safe area). Staff was friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who does not want to pay for a beach front, 5-star hotel in Rio.

Room Tip: don't miss their breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lov3totrav3l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is now officially my favourite hotel in Rio. There is a good restaurant and bar on the ground floor with excellent service and that is a bonus after a long haul flight in that you don’t need to go out. Breakfast consists of an excellent buffet in a cavernous breakfast room. The best part has got to be the roof top pool and bar – drinking a caiparinha with the mountains in the back-ground with the sun setting in front of you. The room (3rd floor) was enormous and there was a separate bathroom suite. Take note – this hotel has been re-fitted with the new standard of electrical socket (two round pins, recessed) and that means that ‘standard’ UK to Brazil converter plugs don’t fit – reception has a couple of the old style square sockets that they will let you charge your mobile phone/laptop up with.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ADargle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had a great time at this hotel. Everything was very clean and new, including the bathrooms. We were there for Rock in Rio, when the hotel was nearing if not at capacity, and we never had an issue with noise.

The pool on the roof is very well done with a great view. The rooms do not have a beach view as they are a couple blocks back, but that is why the price is so great. Hotels in Rio are unbelievably expensive, so we were very impressed with the quality of this one considering the reasonable price. The breakfast buffet is included and absolutely delicious.

I feel like we must have stayed at a different place than some of the negative reviews. Or the hotel must have been renovated since because we did not find our room small, dingy or unkept in the least. Our wifi worked absolutely perfectly.

THe only negatives we had were that you needed adapters for all the plugs (I know some other hotels have both types of plugs, where ROyal Rio does not), however they do offer to charge your things at the front desk for you. SOme of the staff at the front desk weren't very knowledgeable in getting around and sightseeing. The hotel could use a separate information desk with someone who knows more about the tourist sites. At one point, we were given some very misleading information in how to get to Christo, but it worked out in the end. If you want to stay in Copacabana, the location of the hotel is great. Personally, on my next trip I might want to stay closer to Ipanema only because I liked that beach a little better.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adelaide m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

nice hotel. good rooms . the internet sucks . good breakfast and diner - all you can eat !. excelent location. near the subway, bus stops and nice restaurants and the beach. safe location.
kind expensive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alberto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
#46 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Copa Hotel
Windsor Copa Hotel
#38 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Copacabana
Olinda Rio Hotel
Olinda Rio Hotel
#90 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Orla Copacabana Hotel
Orla Copacabana Hotel
#78 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Suites by Atlantica
Copacabana Suites by Atlantica
#94 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#31 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Rio Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Rio Palace Hotel

Property: Royal Rio Palace Hotel
Address: Rua Duvivier 82, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22020-020, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#36 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#44 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Rio Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Rio Palace Hotel offers 242 spacious guest rooms and suites, equipped with TV's LED 32 ', central air conditioning, electronic safe, mini bar, cable TV, with work desk and wi-fi internet. Always worrying about the welfare of each of its guests, the hotel has rooms adapted for guests with special needs, all decorated with maximum of excellence, uniting comfort and sophistication in all environments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Royal Rio Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Rio Palace
Royal Rio Palace De Janeiro
Royal Rio Palace Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing