We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Historical Church you cannot miss”

Church of Our Lady of the Candelaria
Book In Advance
More Info
$88.99*
and up
Rio de Janeiro Historical Architecture Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #43 of 720 things to do in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
“A Historical Church you cannot miss”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

This church was built by a Portuguese, who survived a seastorm on his way to Brazil. The original artwork and the dome in alabaster are superb. The stone was brought in a ship all the way from Portugal and weighs tons. Its translucent beauty invades the church lights up the church from the inside. It is surrounded by important Cultural Centers such as the CCBB, Centro Cultural do Banco do Brasil, home to a number of exhibitions and attractions.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank riogayguide_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    738
    415
    110
    12
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful church!”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

I am not a religious person, so I didn't have any spiritual feelings in there. But the history in this place is seen in every corner and the church is a beauty for the eyes.

Helpful?
1 Thank Oleg G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Level Contributor
875 reviews
668 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 842 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We were lucky to arrive just as a mass was finishing which meant we got to listen to the wonderful sound of the organ playing. Behind the alter a simple but intricate stained glass window served as a great back drop to the alter. The pews were like armchairs - individual and backed with leather - well worn over the years.Fantastic artwork on the ceilings - some good individual paintings

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank elsiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
428 reviews
341 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“lovely architecture”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

we took the metro from the orange line's 1st station Gen Osario which is in copacabana and got out through the candelaria exit for a day in centro to visit all the beautiful churches... this church was right opposite the metro exit and was so lovely... great carvings, silver chandeliers, lovely stained glass ... quite worth the visit

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank IndFamTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
100 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A beautiful church in the midle of Presidente Vargas' Avenue”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Candelaria is a beautiful neoclassic church in the middle of downtown. Take a look of its dome concluded in the XIX century.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tati_Luz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Church of Our Lady of the Candelaria also viewed

 

Been to Church of Our Lady of the Candelaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing