We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anton was a blessing rest was shambles”
Review of Promenade Visconti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Promenade Visconti
Ranked #155 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Anton was a blessing rest was shambles”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Well where to start we all went as a family holiday! To stay in this "hotel" i wouldnt stay again if it was free from mirrors falling off walls on top of the kids the elevator was a cupboard we paid 5grand mostly kids went with 4 babies and they didnt have a cot for any of them breakfast was a disgrace a cooked breakfast was 1 sausage bacon fried egg and beans dinner was a set menu consisting of frozen fish 6 chips powder soup which was a childs portion and a slice of cake that was served on a tea cup saucer rooms were never cleaned or hoovered fresh to wels came twice in a week bins were never change pints are flat and not a pint they are tins poured in so tgey dont fill the glass owners too busy sitting with family to pay attention to us we were promised 3 excertions which never materialised buggies had to.be hauled up and down tje stairs the only thing good there was the 2 kitchen staff who were fantastic the whole time

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mehidontcare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    177
    53
    14
    13
See reviews for
55
159
25
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
183 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I was lucky enough to stay here for 3 nights. Everything about the hotel was ideal. The rooms are modern, spotlessly clean and spacious. The staff could not do enough to help. The location was perfect feeling safe and secure and only one block from the beach and a couple of blocks to Ipanema bars and restaurants.
Breakfast was also excellent by Rio standards (i stayed in 3 Rio hotels during an extended tour and this was certainly the best).
My only slight issue was the noise from a nearby bar which I understand is popular with locals and carries on until typically late for Rio - maybe 5 or 6a.m. at weekends. Despite being on the 6th floor I could still hear music & chatter until the early hours of the morning.
There is no rooftop swimming pool if that is important for you. There is a small pool and fitness room and sauna on the first floor with a strange, small sun patio also on the 1st floor. I did not use it but I'm not sure it could have secured much sun light!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank journeyman29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I picked this hotel based on location and I was not disapponted. Only 1 block from the beach! The room was clean, spacious with a great balcony. Only complaint is that the hotel is next to a couple of bars that are open very very late. The noise level from the bars is pretty loud even with all the windows closed and the AC running. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was simple, but hit the spot. I would stay at this hotel again, but request a room on the opposite side of the bars.
While in Rio we hired Tour Guide Neyla for private tours. She was FANTASTIC! We got to see all the typical tourist places and off the beaten paths sights. I would highly recommend her.

Room Tip: Rooms on the opposite side of the bars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivonne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The location is perfect, just one block from the beach in Ipanema. The rooms are spacious as are the bathrooms. Yes it's a bit 1980's but all hotels in Rio (well there are one or two expensive exceptions) are.The wifi is great. Breakfast a bit dull but no bother. Gym is basic.

Service is pretty good. Organise your travel back to the airport well in advance as it can be difficult to get a taxi. This was the major negative for my stay, having the staff given wrong information as to how to get to the airport, not instructing the taxi driver etc.

I have very happy memories of this hotel, balconies are great;)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayoutback99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was my first time to Brazil and, obviously, first stay in this hotel. Rio is a great place to visit and this hotel's location is perfect. This hotel is next to two great bars (walk out of the hotel and turn right) you cannot miss them. However, if your room faces the same side of the street with the bars it will be loud, but the staff is more than willing to switch your room if they can. The language is beautiful there, but I am an English speaker and the staff was too. The breakfast is the same every morning but there are so many other attractions about Rio that this will be of little to no concern to you; coffe is great. The room was clean and comfortable but the carpets in the hallway could be replaced. I recommend eating at Alessandro E. Fredericko and skip Garota de Ipanema. If you miss the US while you are in Rio, I also suggest skipping Shannigans--there's a cover just to get in and the food is okay with only two bears on tap; wait to come back to the States to enjoy your favorite craft beer;). In a nutshell, I would go back and stay in this hotel, again. Oh, and when you reserve you driver to the airport from the hotel, ask for "Jamie" he was my driver and was one of the nicest people I met while visiting!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovethebeachrcap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Very expensive and poor quality with dirty room. The hotel needs updating in the halls and rooms. Worst breakfast in all my travels in Brazil. Dirty Indoor pool and broken hot tub. Dirty Hammam with bad smell and not sauna as mentionned on the web site. Hotel staff should pay more attention to detail.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederic_France_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel has a very good localisation, next to the Ipanema Beach. The rooms are clean and broad. The employees are pleasant, and the cost is consistent with the benefits. If you are looking for a good 3 star option, this might be your choice!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bctgoulart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Mar Ipanema Hotel
#82 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
Ipanema
Ipanema Tower
Ipanema Tower
#153 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Ipanema
Arena Ipanema Hotel
Arena Ipanema Hotel
#56 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Everest Rio Hotel
Everest Rio Hotel
#178 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Ipanema
Vermont Hotel
Vermont Hotel
#96 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Ipanema
Ipanema Inn
Ipanema Inn
#11 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Promenade Visconti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Promenade Visconti

Property: Promenade Visconti
Address: Prudente de Morais 1050 | Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22420-042, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#57 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#64 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Promenade Visconti 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the charming district of Ipanema, near the Plaza of Our Lady. Peace and a few steps from Posto 9 on Ipanema Beach, the Promenade Visconti is one of the best accommodation options in the South Zone of Rio de Janeiro. The hotel features an elegant and personal atmosphere, plus comfort and personalized service to ensure a stay more than enjoyable! Your accommodations are unique, have ample space and are designed for maximum comfort. Decorated with dark wood furnishings and warm colors, the resort offers the refinement for an unforgettable stay: queen-size bed, table and chairs, sofa, split air conditioning, LCD TV with cable channels, internet WIFI. Complete the services offered: sauna, whirlpool and fitness room. The Promenade Visconti parking service account for the convenience of its guests (upon availability / charged separately). Pets: Allowed on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Promenade Visconti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Promenade Visconti Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Promenade Visconti Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing