We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good”
Review of Promenade Visconti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Promenade Visconti
Ranked #158 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
London
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Stayed here on two occasions (Oct 11 and Feb 12) and both stays were enjoyable. Hotel location could not be bettered being only one block from the beach and a five minute walk to the lagoon. Felt very safe walking around the area, even at night. Check in staff very helpful and spoke good english. Both rooms were very comfortable with plenty of space and good facilities (including small kitchen area with microwave). Do ask to be on the "quiet" side of the building, as if I had been a light sleeper, I would have been very disturbed by the noise from a local bar, that is open until early in the morning. My second room was better but I could still hear the bar in the background Breakfast was good, in the small reception area, with good selection of hot and cold food. Was offered a hotel taxi back to the International airport, for BRL80, but as it was late Saturday afternoon, took a metered cab, which cost BRL70. Hotel is also well placed for the bus network and I took one to the Urca area, just behind the Suagr Loaf mountain, which is worth exploring. Urca only has a small beach but the walk along the sea front is very pretty and the area has some interesting housing.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMSBIKER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    179
    54
    16
    13
See reviews for
56
160
25
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

The Visconti is well located just a block from the beach (2 blocks from the gay beach) and close to a host of cafes, bars and restaurants in Ipanema. Hotel accommodation is expensive in Rio and this was a good option considering it was an entire apartment, with a large balcony. The rate of R$1,100 for 2 nights also included breakfast, which was excellent. Although not spaces you would want to spend a lot of time in, the building also had a small gym and undercover pool. Overall the apartment was very clean and relatively modern. Staff were incredibly helpful, helping me catch buses to the Corcovado, booking me a driver to the airport and letting me shower and change at the hotel after a full day at the beach after I had checked out of my room at 11h00 that morning. This was a relatively quiet and restful place to stay – perfect to come back to after a crazy night out on the town. I will be back.

Room Tip: Road facing rooms at the front have larger balconies and were probably larger apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank just_hanging123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

In a nutshell: - location, short walking distance to the Ipanema beach, to the Lagoa Rodrigo de Freitas - internet is free and works very well in the rooms - very good buffet breakfast - there is no restaurant but there are soo many restaurants close by - the best of the hotel is its staff: always friendly, well informed and eager to help.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tijuca2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

The location of this hotel is fantastic. Just a block from Ipanema, and in possibly the best part of the beach. The location was SUPER safe, and was a short walk to many restaurants, bars and Leblon.

The front desk staff spoke English and were exceptionally friendly and accommodating. They offered to make restaurant reservations and provided instructions on what bus to take to Christ The Redeemer (which was just a block away).

Breakfast was better than most hotels, offering two guides of fresh juice. Although the breakfast area was small, we never had to wait for a seat.

I would highly recommend this hotel for it's location, safety, friendliness and breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank george_adamidis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Location is key here. One block off the beach in the midst of shops and restaurants. Great area to walk around. Rooms are nice, clean and new and beds are very comfy.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jpphoto13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2011

Great location a block off Ipanema beach and a few blocks from the Hippie Fair. Helpful people at the front deak.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

We stayed four nights at Promenade Visconti. The hotel is clean, there are employees of the hotel & front desk that speak English, the shower was great, and the location is fantastic.

The only negatives I have to say about the hotel are the elevator service, the gym, the cost to use the room telephone, and the lack of safety deposit box in the rooms. There is only one elevator for the guests to use, the second elevator is labeled "service" though the cleaning crew and other staff members were constantly in the elevator for hotel guests and I never even saw the doors to the other elevator open once. It is small, probably only fits 5 people in a tight spot, and it is VERY VERY slow. We were only one floor up and were already annoyed, we would have been happy to use the stairs, but they don't seem to be accessible by the public from the lobby. The "gym" was a room with two very old stationary bikes in it...best to just run on the beach.

Also, we made two local phone calls to book a tour and hang glide trip. The charge for each was $6R. The front desk helped us make a reservation for a dinner and there was no charge for that call. If you want to book anything using the phone, use the staff to do so!

Overall we felt safe, had a clean room, and enjoyed the staff. They even arranged for a driver to take us to the airport at the end of our stay and he was quite nice. I would recommend this hotel, and would stay there again. I do hope they get safes for the rooms though.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBugin415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Mar Ipanema Hotel
#84 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,178 reviews
Ipanema
Sol Ipanema Hotel
Sol Ipanema Hotel
#65 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,133 reviews
Ipanema
Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza
Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza
#115 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Vermont Hotel
Vermont Hotel
#97 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
624 reviews
Ipanema
Arena Ipanema Hotel
Arena Ipanema Hotel
#44 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
216 reviews
Ipanema
Everest Rio Hotel
Everest Rio Hotel
#175 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Promenade Visconti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Promenade Visconti

Property: Promenade Visconti
Address: Prudente de Morais 1050 | Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22420-042, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#57 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#63 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Promenade Visconti 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the charming district of Ipanema, near the Plaza of Our Lady. Peace and a few steps from Posto 9 on Ipanema Beach, the Promenade Visconti is one of the best accommodation options in the South Zone of Rio de Janeiro. The hotel features an elegant and personal atmosphere, plus comfort and personalized service to ensure a stay more than enjoyable! Your accommodations are unique, have ample space and are designed for maximum comfort. Decorated with dark wood furnishings and warm colors, the resort offers the refinement for an unforgettable stay: queen-size bed, table and chairs, sofa, split air conditioning, LCD TV with cable channels, internet WIFI. Complete the services offered: sauna, whirlpool and fitness room. The Promenade Visconti parking service account for the convenience of its guests (upon availability / charged separately). Pets: Allowed on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Promenade Visconti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Promenade Visconti Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Promenade Visconti Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing