We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent location, spacy rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Acapulco Copacabana
Ranked #27 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Natal, RN
Level Contributor
146 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“excellent location, spacy rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is quite traditional in a very convenient side street in Leme, just off Av. Pricesa Isabel, so taxis, busses, rental cars are next door, the beach just one block and supermarket, Rio Sul shopping centre etc. very close. There are several restaurants in easy walking distance, some just accross the road.
The rooms are spacy, quiet and in good condition. A good selection of breakfast items and good service. There is parking and the receptionists are friendy, very efficient and helpfull.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyGay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    363
    83
    20
    2
See reviews for
174
189
47
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Went to Rio for a weekend, and got a room with 2 other friends. The room was quite big, however u couldn't get full dark with the curtains, the bathroom was kind of old, and coincidentally or not, I got scabies during the stay .

The breakfast, however , was really good and with an excellent time range. Breakfast in Brazil is usually better than the ones abroad, and this particular one me and my friends really enjoyed. Reception was a bit cold for Brazilian standards, but nothing like a problem.

It was very pricy, like everything else in Rio, and despite the location 1 block away from the world famous Copacabana beach, it is actually in the very beginning of it, a bit far from the nicest spots in both Copacabana and Ipanema beaches. Scabies were kind of scarring , but apart from that I couldn't really afford a better place, and it is not a place I would never come back, specially with better luck.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Dante M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

A good location for the price - just a short walk to Leme beach and a little further to Copa beach, although it's not really clear where one ends and the other begins! Our room had recently been refurbished and so everything was clean and tidy although the 5 clothes hangers between the two of us was a little challenging!The hard-wire internet access was no longer present in the room but Wi-Fi was available - a little flaky at times. The breakfast layout is both varied and substantial and a must for all visitors. The breakfast and housekeeping staff were particularly helpful and very pleasant. We sometimes had a problem finding an English speaking receptionist, but on the whole this is a good stay for a reasonable price.Wish I could say the same thing about Rio in general!

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe. The sea view is obscured by hi-rise buildings but the rooms are spacious and rece...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MuddySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

This hotel has a great location, close to Copacabana Beach and heaps of restaurants.
This was our first destination in Brazil, we arrived after a 30 hour flight from Australia and staff were friendly and helpful, spoke good english- which was a big help after travelling for so long! We stayed just after carnival, so like most places in Copacabana it was over priced for what you get. Room was spacious, comfy bed, and clean, the decor was fairly plain.
Breakfast was OK.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Levilouicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

This hotel is very well located, only 1 building to the beach. the price i obtained through booking.com was very cheap compared to other properties in the area and cost of items such as room service were very fair. The hotel is a little uninspired in terms of its decor and quality of furnishings, but for the price, its by no means terrible, the room was clean, regularly made every morning, food was provided and it wasnt noisy. Well worth checking in here if you're going to be staying on Copacabanna

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bjorn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

The staff were always on hand to help, and friendly. The breakfast is second to none with a large variety of food.
However, selling it as a short walk to the beach is a bit misleading. It is across the road from Leme beach - which isn't that interesting and is blocked by construction works at the moment. Copa is a short walk away but by far the better beach is Ipanema which is an easy bus ride away.
The hotel is clean and the rooms are nice (ignore the comments about them being old). Was a little disappointed that the maids didn't clean the floors or bathroom every day (it got pretty sandy with our beachwear drying!) but they replaced towels and made the bed.
Overall, I would recommend it though.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerUK79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

we stayed here for the last night of our holiday, it is one block from the beach and we were on a high floor and still had a decent view. Our room was more like a suite - massive!! with a big bed, sitting area, mini rainforest area and two big tvs! The room was spotless and the bathroom looked brand new. The only thing I didn't like was the ceiling - like an office ceiling with tiles.
Staff were friendly and helpful too. We were pleasantly surprised by the hotel.
We had breakfast included, the breakfast room was a bit boring just a blank room but the food and drink was good, hot savery pasties were good and decent choice.

Room Tip: Rooms were quiet as the hotel is one block from the main drag, our double room would have fitted at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jm88001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Merlin Copacabana Hotel
Merlin Copacabana Hotel
#28 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
Copacabana
Best Western Plus Copacabana Design Hotel
Best Western Plus Copacabana Des...
#43 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#30 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Windsor Copa Hotel
Windsor Copa Hotel
#42 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
#48 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Plaza Copacabana Hotel
Windsor Plaza Copacabana Hotel
#64 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acapulco Copacabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acapulco Copacabana

Property: Acapulco Copacabana
Address: Rua Gustavo Sampaio 854, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22010-010, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana , Leme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#26 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#38 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Acapulco Copacabana 3*
Number of rooms: 237
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acapulco Copacabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acapulco Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Acapulco Copacabana Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing