We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpleasant experience - avoid it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Acapulco Copacabana
Ranked #30 of 283 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2012

The room we obtained was extremely bad - very old style, old furnature, unpleasant at all.
We had to wait 30 min for our room although we arrived late.
The front desk personnel not friendly.
Although we reserved a room for 4 nights, we left after the first night.

Good breakfast though.

Room Tip: I would never return to this hotel....
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Z_Yosibash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (750)
There are newer reviews for Acapulco Copacabana
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

126 - 132 of 750 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2012

This hotel doesnt have the 'great glamorous Ocean views', but it is only one block back from the beach, so you really can't fault the central and convenient location. It is located right behind the (massive) Windsor Hotel, so it is easy to find your bearings when you're walking along the never-ending copacobana beachfront

Only takes about 5 mintues to walk to the AMAZING Copacobana Palace Hotel, which means you can stagger home from your late night cocktails, easily.... and there are constant taxi cabs if you cant even face that much exertion!

The hotel was modern (decor) clean and the staff friendly and some spoke English. We stayed in the last-available family room, right above the main road so we did hear traffic noise, but the hotel was generaly quiet and modern.
Breakfast buffet was really really good and it didnt finish too early for us party-girls!
On that topic, it seems Rio is trying to clean up its reputation, so we found it surprisingly hard to locate the late-night scene, midweek? all the bars/clubs we tried only opened thursday-sunday (but we visitied just before carnival, so everyone was pacing themselves)

Rio is a super-glam destination, It isn't cheap BUT in restaurants try ordering ONE MAIN DISH FOR TWO PEOPLE. this is fairly common practice, most Brasilians eat socially, and we wasted money ordering too much food when we simply hadnt realised the portion sizes - and we are big eaters too!.

Room Tip: try to get a room NOT facing over the Road, as there is traffic noise
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonRah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This is a great location one block off of Copacabana Beach. You could see the water from our room, which was very spacious. Great A/C, large bathroom, and lobby bar. Rooms run about $200 U.S. a night.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NickTheGreekTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed six nights at the AC, during carnaval, it was perfect. Situated one block from the beach and close to buses, it was clean and breezy.
we asked for a front facing balcony room and had glimpses of Leme beach, but the building does face another high-rise directly opposite.
The hotel itself is older in style, but the room is massive. Ours came with a small balcony. The location was close enough but noit on main roads to be noisy from traffic or street parties.
Breakfast was great, good selection and fresh. All the staff were fantastic considering that time off year they are all stretched to the limit.
Good that they loan out beach towels and umbrellas as well.

Room Tip: Ask foir a front facing room, as high up as possibly
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brysc01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We needed a transit hotel for 2 nights and having stayed at some of Rio's nicer hotels we just wanted something cheap, convenient and clean. Were pleasantly surprised. Nothing to rave about but the service was friendly. Rates included VAT & service charge plus free wifi and parking which was great. Rooms were very large with balcony. Although bathroom could use an update it was functional and clean. Breakfast was ok nothing fancy. Requested a late check out and got one for free until 6pm so very pleased with that. Convenient location, 2min walk to beach, close to atm's, supermarkets and cab rank. Would stay at again for similar purposes.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SJperth_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Although the experience was not bad, I did not like the hotel at all. Rooms seem to be old and with bad maintenance (the bathroom ceiling is "open" so that you can see the deteriorated tubes).

Location isn't good also. It's in an avenue with traffic during the whole day (which means noise and irritated drivers shouting) and neighbourhood becomes dangerous at night.

Besides that, I had a particular problem during the nights as my room was next to the janitor's closet, so I had noise during the whole night because of the maids picking up stuffs and talking whenever they went for something.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms next to janitor's closet
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zoso9128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Camilo and Edwardo are very friendly and flexible and prompt to my request of room view preference and late check out. As to value of money paid, it is worth it as I compare it with the second hotel where I stayed. Upselling for a city tour was effective as I ended up purchasing it and the service was overdelivered..I was with Kazumba ,our tour guide who is very entertaining and made our whole day trip alive and upbeat. Wi-fi is superb and hassle free...

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dxb_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Merlin Copacabana Hotel
Merlin Copacabana Hotel
#29 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
1,328 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
#35 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
1,407 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#32 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arena Leme Hotel
#11 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
531 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#20 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
1,898 reviews
Copacabana
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
#17 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
2,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acapulco Copacabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acapulco Copacabana

Address: Rua Gustavo Sampaio 854, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22010-010, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana , Leme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#26 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#38 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $100 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Acapulco Copacabana 3*
Number of rooms: 237
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Acapulco Copacabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acapulco Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Acapulco Copacabana Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing