We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Edson Santos”
Review of Bip Bip

Bip Bip
Ranked #10 of 139 Nightlife in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Burbank, California
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Edson Santos”
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

First, don't show up before 11 or midnight on Friday or Saturday. Artists show up when they feel like since the pay free. It's a dinky little place with a lot of heart that still attracts the old style Samba and Bosa Nova. Edson let's you pay at the end of your stay with out a credit card down...it's a really treat that takes you back in time when Rio was vibrant with young talent and music was everywhere

Helpful?
2 Thank Yoskke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    61
    19
    6
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We lived in Rio 6 weeks and this place became our favorite one. Extremely friendly, best brazilian music (different days - different genres), great owner Alfredo. We found friends here! It's small, only musucians can sit inside but... thats good! All people are close to each other, can speak and sing great bossa nova and samba songs.

My review about Bip Bip (in russian):

<a href="http://aroundprojects.com/2012/12/03/brazil-rio-bar-bip-bip/">Отзыв о баре Бип Бип в Рио-де-Жанейро</a>

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank onishanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“waited and waited, but the music didn't start”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I chose to go to Bip Bip on a Wednesday night for 2 reasons: I wanted to experience some live Bossa Nova music, and I'd read, from multiple sources that the music started at 8pm (and I'd rather see something earlier than be waiting for things to start.).
As we were in the area and had nothing more to do we got there just after 7pm, but the place was closed. So we went to a bar a few doors up to wait. Eventually someone arrived at Bip Bip and unlocked, at about 7.30pm.
We went to Bip Bip then too. The drinks system is 'help yourself', pay at the end.
We sat until 9.30, but still there was no sign of the music starting, although a few musicians had arrived and were chatting and drinking out front. We left.
In order to sit down we had to be inside, which was hot. We were told that when the music started we'd have to stand in the street. But, as I mentioned it never strted for us.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nomadali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very small.. Good music”
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

If your looking for a big night out in Rio do not go here.. It's just a small room with a small bar with people singing around a couple of tables and standing in a street. Not my cup of tea. Head to Lapa for a good might out in Rio.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nupes777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Music the Brazilian way”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

"Come for the music, not for the comfort"

If you are looking for something fancy and comfortable while you can have the luxury to admire Brazilian music the local way (which, was what I initially thought),
than you may need to be going out of your comfort zone.

Bip bip is a very small bar and you may even have to sit on the tables out there on the street,
there's only a small selection of beers to choose from (don't expect a menu even),
and yet you see people coming in every 10mins or so, and you think ummm another friend of the musicians? Then this person would suddenly take out an start playing, and yet everyone's blending together so naturally and everybody else was fully enjoying as these players are enjoying themselves.
you can grab a chair while you enjoy your beer or as well stand the whole night as you move to the lovely rhythms.

Don't miss this if you're looking for the real, local Brazilian music - shows on every night and all you need to do is show up with a fiver to get a beer and get your ears ready to listen ;)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank On Q C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bip Bip also viewed

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Bip Bip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing