We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotelinho Urca
Nearby Hotels
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
$144
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$200
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Ipanema Inn(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$112
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Miramar Hotel by Windsor(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$207
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$230
$184
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Rio Othon Palace Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Arena Copacabana Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$114
$84
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$501
$451
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Belmond Copacabana Palace(Rio de Janeiro)
$353
$344
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveler rating
147
71
11
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
71
11
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssugarloaf mountainroof terracewalking distancesugar loafwhere breakfast is servedpolice stationfresh fruitsmall poolchrist the redeemer statuehome away from homestar hotelpharmacyneighborhoodcentroriobedroombanks
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 235 reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Excellent location and great views from the rooftop terrace. The owner/manager was friendly and helpful. Our room on the roof top was rather quirky and basic, looking out onto the mountain. Unfortunately we were unable to plug in the air conditioning and so experienced a very hot night. We needed to leave early in the morning, coffeee and cake was provided which was most welcome. In hindsight we should have chosen a higher standard of room.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MKH50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

This was my third time in Rio, and I went to relax. For me, the hotel served its purpose. Always keep in mind that hotels in Rio are overrated and over priced, but then again, it's Rio.

The Good: Location is great. You have several cafeterias below the hotel, and walking distance there are nice restaurants and bars. In front of the hotel, there is a police booth and a bus stop, and the neighborhood as a whole is safe. You can walk at night and it feels like a safe neighborhood. Pao de Azucar, Morro da Urca, and Praia Velmelha are very near. The views from the terrace area are the iconic views of Rio.

The staff is friendly and helpful. They give you all the information for the buses and attractions. The bus ride to Copacabana was about 15 minutes or less. You could also go walking.

I stayed in the small apartment, and the room was well decorated, clean, and spacious.

The average: Breakfast was average and it could be presented and kept better, but it is served in the terrace which is nice. The bathroom was small and attention to details is missing. Ex: there was nowhere to put the soap while showering or a trash can in the kitchen area. Small things... nothing big.

The Ugly: The entrance to the hotel is literally a small door. Once in, you go up some narrow stairs and there is a smell from the downstairs restaurant. My first impression was WTF... Nevertheless, the hotel does feel like a home after you get to know the main areas and staff.

This hotel is definitely a great alternative to the overpriced and overrated hotels along Ave. Atlantica. If you will safe some money, it is definitely worth it. I would stay here again for the price, location, attractions and amenities nearby.

I had a very relaxing weekend. The first day, I spent my time enjoying Urca (hiking, restaurant, beach and bar). The second day, I took the bus to Copacabana and spent the day there, and at night went out to Garota de Urca bar, which is walking distance from the hotel. Third day, I was flying out to Sao Paulo.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank PRinBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Hotelinho Urca is a gem placed in one of the most beautiful Rio de Janeiro neighbourhoods. It's staff is very helpfull, and it's rooms are clean, the provide a great breakfast, it's safe and very affordable. It was a pleasure to stay there. I hope that I'll be there again soon.

The roof terrace has a pool, and is a very nice place to talk to the other guests. Urca isn't as hype as other Rio neighbourhoods but it has nice places to eat, drink, and it isn't expensive to take a cab to go from there to Leblon or Copacabana. And you can walk to Botafogo, or take a bus if you want to take the subway there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andreod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas A, Gerente geral at Hotelinho Urca, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your avaliation. It has been a huge pleasure to welcome you here and we´re happy to know that your stay has been so pleasant.

We hope to see you soon here in Rio de Janeiro!

Best regards,

Raphael and Hotelinho´s staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The location is superb, the view from the terrace, the breakfast, the private terrace with a hammock my little Faustina enjoyed, the feeling of safety in the neighborhood, the vicinity of a mall like Rio Sul which is very helpful in rainy days but... above all the said things Hotelinho Urca has a champion named Raphael, efficient and no-nonsense as the Swiss he is and friendly as the Brazilian he also is. Mr Raphael Ruedi ran the Hotelinho so superbly that transforms the Hotelinho in a 4 star hotel with his skills. Chapeau to the owners of Hotelinho to have some classy manager.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank Paly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My partner and I really enjoyed our stay at Hotelinho. It is situated in a beautiful spot at the foot of Sugarloaf mountain, with a gorgeous waterfront view in a safe neighbourhood. The staff were friendly and helpful, staying on a bit later to allow us to check-in late, with helping us organise our trips around the city and our airport transfer. The room we stayed in was lovely and we had easy access to the rest of the city with the bus stop right across the road. The breakfast was great, included in the room charge and eaten on the roof terrace with the great view. My only gripe was that we were supposed to just share our bathroom with one other room that only had one person occupying it, but in the morning many other people used it too - which was a bit annoying, because when we needed to use it in the morning it was often occupied.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NinjaSmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas A, Gerente geral at Hotelinho Urca, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear NinjaSmurf,

Thanks for your evaluation of Hotelinho da Urca.

It has been a big pleasure to welcome you here.

We are happy that your stay has been pleasant and hope you´ll come back again on a next trip.

About the shared bathroom problem, we are sorry that it bothered you so much. It is generally used just by one person. The other users were quite unexpected. But we hope that this problem didn´t spoil your good feeling about our place.

Best regards,

Andreas and Hotelinho´s staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews