We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommendable”
Review of Manga Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manga Hostel
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Manga was the first hostel we stayed in during our backpacking trip through South America.
Now that my trip is finished I want to thank Manga for a great stay! We stayed in a big dorm and it wasn't full at all, but I guess if there were many staying there it would be ok because the big lockers divide the room and keeps a bit of privacy.
The staff was really friendly and helped us book trips from Rio.
The location is perfect, the street is really peaceful and when you walk to the corner you are situated in the middle of Lapa which has great nightlife. I recommend partying on Fridays, Manga provides free caipirinhas and the partying was the best ever!
Liked the breakfast as well because we got some fruits with...
Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiljaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manga Hostel R, Gerente de relações com clientes at Manga Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014
Google Translation

Olá e boa tarde,
Muito obrigada pela sua avaliação!
Ficamos muito felizes por sua experiência ter sido positiva e esperamos recebê-la novamente em breve!
Atenciosamente,
Equipe Manga Hostel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (439)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 52 of 439 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Awesome, new, and clean hostel. Super close to Lapa nightlife. Friendly staff. Free caipirinhas on Friday and Saturday night. In an 18 person dorm, so I imagine that could be a bit overwhelming if its full, but it's planned out really well with plenty of lockers and space for all. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allenjbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manga Hostel R, Gerente de relações com clientes at Manga Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Hello,
Thank you so much for you review on our hostel!
We're very pleased to know you had a good time.
We hope to see you again soon!
Kindly,
Manga Hostel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Manga was the 4th hostel I stayed in during my 4 week vacation. Its an 'almost new' hostel having been open about 6-7months now So the facilities are in pristine condition. I had some reservations about booking the 18 bed dorm but in fact had no problems. Each bed has a new mattress, its own power point and nightlight. Your given clean (plastic sealed ) sheets/bedding/towel on arrival. And next door is a bathroom, toilet, shower room with power showers and constant hot water The staff are a joy, smiley, friendly, helpful and knowledgeable, they even have their own Manga Hostel design T-Shirts (I still wanna buy one Eduardo..lol) There's TV in the down stairs lounge and a pool table and also in the upstairs Terrace/Landing/Internet/Book Library area. I unfortunately didn't discover until my final day :-( There is a big kitchen with Fridge to store/cook your own food. Out the back is a huge BBQ area with seating where smokers can go (Yay!) The whole place is kept spotless and cleaned efficiently EVERY day. On two night we had free BBQ food together with 2 hours of Free caipirhinias (Oh my head..lol)
The only downside for me was the breakfast. The addition of some tomatoes to accompany the proverbial Brazilian breakfast of 'ham and cheese' would be nice..as would a choice of cereals..definitely some Jam/Marmalade... but all in all, I had a great stay and heartily recommend this jewel of a hostel in Rio...Its Home from Home...(Viva La Revolucion, Tatiane) :P

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank StephenBarksby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manga Hostel R, Gerente de relações públicas at Manga Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Hi there,
Thank you so much for you review on our hostel!
We're very pleased to know you had a good time.
We've added tomatoes to our breakfast - we're also looking into some other improvements - come stay with us again to check it out!
Kindly,
Manga Hostel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was my second stay in this hostel, after travelling round south america, and all I can say it was good to get to "Manga" as it felt like home. Great to see the staff again, like old friends. Once again great location, really clean and friendly, fantastic breakfast, they have a kitchen were U can make your own food, supermarket round the corner. 15 min to the beach, really simple, metro 7 min walk. If I ever comeback to rio, this is definately were Ill be staying again. Eduardo, hope to see U again.

Room Tip: No real tip, but just read the reviews, I always tend to read all the low rated ones to get an idea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank pilewski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manga Hostel R, Gerente de relações públicas at Manga Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Hello Alex!
Thank you so much for your review!
We regard you as a friend here in Manga, and we're very glad to know that being here feels like home to you.
We're looking forward to hosting you again some time soon!
Wishing you the best,
Maira Cadaxa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Under-rated hostel in Rio!

Location: Safe. Literally 10 second walk from where nightlife is happening. Daytime you can go to the beach by bus (half hour+). But at night, rather stay in Lapa than the beach, as imagine if you've drunk in Lapa and need a 30 min taxi back to say, Ipanema. It was so easy to find your way home if you stay here.
Caprinhas are free on party nights like Friday - unbelievable. Plus you can learn how to make them.

The place is very stylish, clean and modern. Staff genuinely care aout the people.

23 bed dorm = no problems. Put it this way, I slept like a baby, and more people = more characters. You'll have fun here whether you're in a group or not!

GREAT.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank AJ V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manga Hostel R, Gerente de relações públicas at Manga Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Hello,
Thanks on taking your time to review our hostel!
We're very pleased to know you had a good time.
We looking forward to hosting you again some time in the future - maybe for the world cup?
Kindly,
Manga Hostel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I have been in Brazil for over 5 months and have stayed in a dozen of hostels. I can safely say that this hostel is by far the best of all.
The owner and the receptionists are incredibly helpful and really made me feel welcome all the time. The design of the hostel is very well-engineered and surely it is the cleanest hostel I've ever been.
I had an excellent stay in this hostel. I knew the area well, and Taiane was particularly helpful for me and very kind to show me how to get about.
The food, the shared rooms and bathrooms, it was all perfect. Definitely my favorite. Recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AbdallahAlSiyabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manga Hostel R, Gerente de relações públicas at Manga Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014
Google Translation

Olá,
Muito obrigada pela sua avaliação.
Nós estamos muito satisfeitos em saber que você teve uma boa experiência durante sua estada aqui no Manga; e muito contentes em ler que em seus olhos, fomos "o melhor de todos"!
Esperamos recebe-lo novamente em breve!
Equipe Manga Hostel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This Hostel is one of the best I've ever been, It's very well located, in Lapa. There are a lot of places to visit nearby, and you can find plenty of options for public transport. The rooms and restrooms are very clean, and the most important thing, the staff are very friendly and helpful, Rodrigo gave me a lot of tips to how to walk in Rio. I strongly recommend this Hostel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FMargotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manga Hostel R, Gerente de relações públicas at Manga Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014
Google Translation

Olá e boa tarde!
Obrigada pela sua avaliação de nosso hostel aqui no Trip Advisor!
Ficamos muito contentes ao receber comentários positivos de nossos hóspedes.
Esperamos que você volte em breve!
Tenha uma ótima semana!
Equipe Manga Hostel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Hostel in Rio
#46 of 856 in Rio de Janeiro
147 reviews
Copacabana
El Misti Hostel Rio
El Misti Hostel Rio
#10 of 856 in Rio de Janeiro
884 reviews
Ipanema
Mango Tree Hostel Ipanema
Mango Tree Hostel Ipanema
#8 of 856 in Rio de Janeiro
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Ipanema Beach Hostel
Ipanema Beach Hostel
#3 of 856 in Rio de Janeiro
258 reviews
Leblon
Lemon Spirit Hostel
Lemon Spirit Hostel
#28 of 856 in Rio de Janeiro
335 reviews
Santa Teresa
Santa Tere Hostel
Santa Tere Hostel
#7 of 856 in Rio de Janeiro
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manga Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manga Hostel

Address: Rua do Lavradio 186, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20230-070, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 856 Specialty Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $15 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Manga Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
O Manga Hostel foi inaugurado em 26/12/2012. Localizado na esquina mais boêmia do Rio de Janeiro, este albergue oferece um andar inteiro para uso comum dos amantes da Cidade Maravilhosa. O Hostel possui um bar, sinuca, sala de TV e uma grande área externa com churrasqueira, forno a lenha e uma ducha para os dias mais quentes. A decoração é sensacional e faz você se sentir em casa. Todos os ambientes são climatizados com ar condicionado. É clima de montanha em plena Lapa no verão carioca. A recepção tem opções de passeios fora do eixo tradicional que os alberguistas adoram! Nós promovemos pequenas festas semanais exclusivas para os hóspedes e amigos próximos. Não tenha dúvida, você está no melhor albergue do Rio de Janeiro! Seja bem vindo, relaxe e aproveite ao máximo! Até o caroço! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Manga Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manga Hostel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing