We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A house with history, delights and surprises”
Review of Rio Palazzo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rio Palazzo
Ranked #32 of 328 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A house with history, delights and surprises”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I stayed at Rio Palazzo early in 2013 and was delighted to have found this hidden gem in Santa Teresa and a relaxed, attentive host in Adam. Rio Palazzo is located in a tranquil part of the city, long renowned for its quirky architecture and the views of Corcavado from my newly refurbished room echoed the ambience. Adam went out of his way to help me get my local phone card working and produced a delicious breakfast that was eaten by the assembled guests over a leisurely and interesting conversation. Don't hesitate to visit Rio Palazzo — you have a treat in store.

Room Tip: try for a room with a view of Corcavado -- you might get to see some wildlife
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobLa27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
33
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Rio Palazzo for 2 weeks in 2012. The house itself is located in Santa Teresa, a safe and quiet neighborhood situated on a mountainside overlooking downtown Rio. You can see a great view of the Christ statue from the balcony! The house and rooms were very elegant. Paulo the owner of the BnB was very knowledgable, friendly and helpful in providing information to us during our stay in Rio. There is public transportion nearby that can take you to the subway station. All the major tourist destinations are a short distance away. I even walked to the Christ statue from the house (2 hours). I would definetly stay here again the next time I visit Rio!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed with 2 friends at Adam's place in Rio for 3 nights in total. The house is located a bit far away from the center, but it's the heart of Rio you're going to experience if you stay in Santa Theresa. Lots of nightlife (restaurants, bars, cafés, shops etc) and easily accessible by public transport from the center and beaches.

We were quite stunned by the view from the bedroom in which we were staying. Corcovado on one side and Pao de Azucar with the bay on the other. I would recommend you to stay there just for that.

Breakfast was included and could feed more than people than we were. Also, if you get a chance to taste Paulo's scrambled eggs, go for it. Adam gave us great tips about the city (transport, markets etc.) and is very knowledgeable about Rio.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2013

A beautiful castle-like house to stay in the upper part of the safe area of Santa Teresa. Our room with the terrasse had an amazing view and the host does prepare nice breakfast. Definitely a great place to stay at.

Room Tip: The room with the huge terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huglis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This home is probably one of the best kept secrets of Santa Teresa, if not all of Rio (no exaggeration). It is immaculately and tastefully furnished with lots of old-world charm, antique oriental carpets and furniture, accentuated with personal touches everywhere. The room with a spacious balcony and terrific view was a marvel, as were the fruit salad and juices prepared for breakfast. Lots of interesting conversations were had with Adam and the other guests over breakfast. Adam patiently provided very helpful advice on transportation to and from the home, which was indispensable. Staying here on the last leg of our Rio trip was definitely a highlight.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nunchuks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropolis, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The place has an amazing view of the Christ Statue. The place is also full of art and Adam is a great host. I would definitely recommend staying here. It's fairly close to Lapa and there's a lot of cool graffiti on the way down the mountain. I would suggest taking a combi or bus down the mountain, as cabs can be hard to come by in residential areas.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My husband and I were fortunate enough to find Rio Palazzo while we were in Brazil and decided last minute to extend our stay for Carnival in Rio. Since they are a newer B&B, they were able to give us a room, but I know in future we will need to plan well ahead because the home is truly a gem. Our experience began with excellent advice and assistance from Adam, who set us up with a beautiful room with a balcony overlooking both Corcovado and Sugarloaf and advised us on the best means of transportation around the city (several buses stop right outside the house on the Main Street) and made us feel truly welcome. The atmosphere was energetic and enthusiastic, but at the same time we felt as if we were amidst an old world European setting of antiques and small touches all around the house. I would recommend Rio Palazzo for travelers who are comfortable being within Rio (in a beautiful art district in the hills) rather than at a Westernized enclave on Copacabana Beach, because you will be given the tools to find your way around and explore, but end your day in a beautiful, comfortable home rather than a hotel, an ideal situation for us! We are planning on going back and will absolutely stay at Rio Palazzo again. As asides, a continental breakfast of meats, cheeses, juices, cereals, fruit and yogurt was included with our stay, wireless Internet was available free of charge, and if driving, I would call in advance to confirm the best place to park since Santa Theresa sits on a hill of winding, cobbled streets and although parking is available, I would want to check in advance. I can't say enough what a great experience we had.

Room Tip: Ask for the top room with balcony if it's available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshStanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Casa Geranio
Casa Geranio
#10 of 328 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Santa Teresa
Discovery Suites Rio
Discovery Suites Rio
#21 of 328 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa
Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa T...
#4 of 328 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Botafogo
O Veleiro Bed and Breakfast
O Veleiro Bed and Breakfast
#16 of 328 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa da Gente
Casa da Gente
#9 of 328 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Da Lapa Design Hotel
#31 of 328 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Palazzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Palazzo

Property: Rio Palazzo
Address: Rua Doutor Julio Otoni 595, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-400, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 328 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rio Palazzo is located in an extravagant, uniquely adorned, colonial mansion sitting atop Rio's best neighborhood; Santa Teresa. Here you can experience the refreshing breeze coming off the Corcovado mountain meanwhile gazing out at views of Christ the Redeemer, Sugar Loaf mountain, Cosme Velho, Tijuca forest and Guanabara Bay. What truly makes Santa Teresa unique is its Carioca character, views, and convenient location that allows you to escape the hustle and bustle of the over packed tourist hubs. The character of our nearly hundred year old "mansion" is guaranteed to grab your attention with large quantities of tasteful Brazilian art, Asian rugs and antiques from all over the world. In addition to being surrounded by rain forest and beautiful mountains, our B&B is conveniently located near all the major tourist hotspots of Rio and public transportation can be easily accessed just seconds from our doorstep nearly 24 hours a day. Ipanema and Copacabana beaches are only 15 minutes away by taxi and can be easily reached via public transportation as well. The nearest Metro stop is only 5 minuets away, the easiest way to navigate the city. Lapa, the best place to experience the bohemian spirit of Rio is only 10 minutes away. Santa Teresa offers you peace, tranquility, and a romantic atmosphere without sacrificing the accessibility you desire to get a true "Carioca" experience. Also nearby is a variety of unique museums as well as a plethora of both fine dining and budget friendly restaurants. We provide for our guests breakfast, wireless internet, and cleaning services all free of charge. Fully equipped kitchen is also at your disposal anytime outside of breakfast hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rio Palazzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Palazzo Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing