We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Chill Spot”
Review of Pavao Azul

Pavao Azul
Ranked #242 of 14,937 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Brazilian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Neighborhood: Copacabana
Reviewed August 25, 2018

Great local spot in Copacabana for an ice cold beer and delicious food. HOWEVER, prepare to wait for a while. If you're in a rush this restaurant might not be a great option for you. They basically note your name on a piece of paper and you wait until your name is called to be seated. Its definitely worth the wait though and a very convenient option less than 5 minutes walk away from the beach. Highly recommend if you're ever in the Copacabana area. While you wait to be seated try the empanadas or the cod fritters.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MissSheri1520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 1,102 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

It’s a MUST visit, great food, great beer, if you a traveling to Rio you have to go and visit, just amazing!

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank GiaHSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2018

Saw this described as a tapas bar so popped in whilst in Rio. Nice place good place to sit at chat but it’s a snack bar at best. Good corner location expect to pay £3 for a snack.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Iain G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2018 via mobile

Ordered the breaded steak and chicken sandwich and we were both blown away by the size of the dishes compared to price we paid. Both came with plenty of local delicacies which were absolutely lovely, and we would heartily recommend a trip here for a real taste of Brazil before a visit to Copacabana Beach.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank davecX4051IU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2018

Came here with our Brazilian friends for lunch one day and enjoyed several beers and lots of small dishes and really loved it. The food was great. I loved the Pastels and my husband loved the camarao and bolinhos de bacalhau. I would also recommend the yucca fries, SO good! We came back another time for lunch and ordered the same small dishes because we loved them so much. It is almost always packed so be prepared to wait or stand.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank travelingtalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pavao Azul also viewed

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Pavao Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing