We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hostel in South America!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Discovery Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Discovery Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best hostel in South America!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

I absolutely LOVE this hostel. I was supposed to stay 3 nights and by the end, I was there for 2 weeks...but could have easily stayed longer! (erm, I´ll be back in September!) Enrique, Zion, Javi, Sacha, Sebastian and the team are absolutely the best team I´ve met so far. This was my first stop in my solo trip around South America, and they made me feel so at ease, helped me make the most of Rio with a super detailed map...and even helped me plan my route for the next 6 months!

The hostel is in a great location, Gloria, so right by Lapa where all the night life is. The hostel itself is awesome! It is spacious, homely and very clean. The girls dorm was super spacious, more than enough room for all our things and a very big bathroom! And the breakfast - YUM! And you have to try the Caiprinihas made by Enrique - wow!

The vibe in the hostel is really cool. Everyone gets on, goes out together but it´s not intrusive. It´s not a party hostel, it´s just friendly, relaxed and fun. So, don´t bother staying in Ipenena, stay here. You really will not regret it!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poonam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    40
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
76
197
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Within minutes of booking a six night stay, I received a personal email confirmation from the hostel including directions on how to find them. Having checked in, Sebastian sat down with us and gave us a city orientation. On a map of Rio, he highlighted the attractions, how to reach them by bus and metro, offered information about which cash points to use (in Gloria Metro), booked us onto a couple of tours (walking and favella) and offered to investigate some other options I was interested in. Within minutes I had all the information needed to enjoy a week in Rio. Our (small) double room opened directly onto the communal courtyard, where the tables were put away at 11 pm, so noise was a non-issue. The shared bathroom facilities were clean, as was the communal kitchen. Breakfasts were substantial and the courtyard a great place to chat with travellers from many different nations. The staff were great, no question was too much. Above and beyond the call of duty, it was great to have Enrique join a group of us for a night of dancing in Lapa.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carovitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Great place to stay - I already stayed there twice! Not only is the staff is super friendly and helpful, the hostel is in a beautiful house with wood flooring, high ceilings and it is really beautifully decorated, with great taste and a lot of attention to detail. Everything is super clean - all in one, you'll feel at home instantly. Santa Teresa and Lapa are just around the corner and Ipanema and Copacabana are just a short metro ride away (it is less than a minute to walk to the metro).

Room Tip: Don't stay anywhere els!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 203David1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my girlfriend for 5 nights - 2 in a double room and 3 in a 6 bed dorm.

The Good.....

Good location, very clean, modern, safe, some staff are very helpful, comfortable beds, excellent breakfast, lockers in dorm rooms, good kitchen facilities - good facilities in general including reliable wifi. A friendly cat!

The average....

It does feel a bit cramped...the common areas are not big enough and there aren't enough bathrooms when the hostel is at full capacity. Additionally, two showers are situated in an open bathroom outside a double room, which made being in a double feel less private. In lots of ways, they have utilised the space well, such as within the dorm rooms, but the lack of space overall is a slight hinderance.

The ugly....

Overall, staff were very good, but a few things grated me/us. For example, we arrived at the hostel after a very long bus journey and were understandably tired and not our normal chatty selves. After greeting us with a smile etc., we then overheard the owner make a couple of derogative remarks about us. We put this to one side, but this happened a few times during our 5 night stay. It's unfortunate - I think it's better to speak with and get to know people before making ill informed judgements. I decided to voice my annoyance via the review, simply due to the vibe I believe he initially created and then reinforced. It's a bad reflection on him and therefore, the hostel, which is a shame, as this should be at least 4/5, but this type of attitude, an immature attitude and an attitude where you disrespect paying guests...especially before getting to know them.....is not a positive.

I wanted to give a positive review, but this really let the place down.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank Travelling164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed during carnival time at Discovery in their private room. Great place to stay, good room and breakfast.
2 mins from metro and safe area.
During carnival the guys were fantastic and made our stay Rio really enjoyable.
Would happily stay there again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike8516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

We read all the online reviews about the discovery and were afraid that we would be let down as we had been in the past when we went to a hostel holding high expectations. That was not the case. The staff was downright lovely! The breakfast great, and best of all they wre very helpful in explaining what to do and what not to do in the crazy city that is rio

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thri23455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

I've been staying in hostels for over a year now and this is quite simply the best of the bunch.

- excellent enthusiastic staff, the complete opposite of the usual jaded lot.
- an insane breakfast; freshly cooked cake, tarts, strong coffee, lots of fruits, oats, decent cereal, toast etc. I've yet to have better.
- super clean common areas and rooms.
- everything is pretty new.
- they have a cat!

If you've every thought about starting a hostel you've probably imagined something very similar to Discovery Hostel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kwality_Control
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
#5 of 761 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Santa Teresa
Santa Tere Hostel
Santa Tere Hostel
#2 of 761 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Babilonia Rio Hostel
#4 of 761 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Botafogo
Injoy Hostel
Injoy Hostel
#9 of 761 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Botafogo
Gaia Comfort Hostel
Gaia Comfort Hostel
#6 of 761 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Copacabana
El Misti Rooms
El Misti Rooms
#8 of 761 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Hostel

Property: Discovery Hostel
Address: Rua Benjamim Constant 26 | Gloria, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-150, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 761 Specialty Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Developed by world travelers, Discovery Hostel in Rio de Janiero, Brazil, provides backpackers and budget-minded globetrotters all the comfort of a boutique hostel and the coziness and warmth of a home-stay. We have a strong focus on creating a clean, open and friendly social environment making Discovery Hostel the ideal base for travelers who want to explore Rio and have an experience of a lifetime. The premises include: fully equipped kitchen, computer's lounge, reception & tourist information desk, TV area, bar & chill out patio. Pamper yourself with our customized beds, thick mattresses, big lockers, personal control lights, A/C and all the relaxation you will need for a good night's sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Discovery Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Hostel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing