We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What customer service should be like”
Review of Discovery Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Discovery Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I stayed here for 5 nights in January towards the end of a two month trip in S America. I have also travelled quite widely on other continents and have to say that Discovery Hostel ranks as one of the best hostels I have stayed at. The location is spot on, just a couple of minutes from Gloria Metro, the place is kept cleaner than some far more expensive places I have stayed, there is good aircon in the dorm rooms, filtered water is available on tap (a money saver, very convenient and good for the environment) and the area feels very safe. Most important, however, are the staff. I have just moved on to a quite expensive 'boutique' hotel in another city, splashing out at the end of my trip. Whereas the staff at Discovery actively volunteered information on places to go, places not to go after dark, and provided a general orientation in the big city, I have had to extract this sort of information piece by piece from my new place.

At Discovery they want you to have a great experience in the city they love; in my view they succeeded, in style.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (488)
There are newer reviews for Discovery Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

259 - 265 of 488 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

The guys here really put the effort in. The hostel looks beautiful, full of handmade knick knacks and artworks. The staff are really friendly and helped me out, above and beyond the call of duty, on a number of occasions. The location is perfect for access to the city. The rooms are kept cool at night and it's pretty quiet too. Ideal for solo travellers!

Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed 5 nights here on our 1 month trip cross south america november/december 2013 with my fiancé and got to tell you, this is the best hostel i ve ever stayed in ever yet!!! stuff is just awe, location is suburb and the atmosphere is the far way the best I'm ever experienced and i ve travelled a significant part of the world, loved Rio and all the fellas we met there!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milanoo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

I spent the last week of my trip in South America at Discovery Hostel and it was by far the best place I'd stayed during my 3 month trip. Perfect location next to Gloria metro station with easy access to the rest of the city, staff were friendly and very helpful and took the time to go through a map of Rio when we arrived to point out the best spots and how to get there on public transport.
The hostel is in a beautiful building,the decor is incredible and the dorms and communal areas are kept immaculately clean. I cannot recommend this hostel enough!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy_viajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Discovery hostel was the first hostel I had stayed in once arriving in Brazil and I cannot fault it in anyway. The rooms were a good size, not at all cramped, especially considering I stayed in a 9 bed dorm. The bathroom, rather the whole of the hostel was clean and was cleaned all throughout the day. The staff were so helpful and down to earth, so much so that I didn't know whether they were the guests or the staff.
As with most parts of Rio, you would have to be careful. But the location of Discovery is great. It is walking distance to the Lapa steps, as well as a metro and bus station no more than five minutes walk away. From there we were able to get the bus to Copacabana, Christo and Sugar Loaf.
The breakfast was also great as they had variety each day and it easily set us up for our day of site-seeing.
Would definitely recommend this hostel to anybody staying in Rio. It was great fun, clean and an excellent location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank panukla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Me and my friend have been travelling around Brazil for 5 months, and this is by far the best hostel we have stayed at! Great rooms at reasonable rates, with individual reading lights, plug sockets and lockers. The staff were brilliant and really get involved in the night life/ are there to answer any questions you may have. Very clean establishment, with lots of shower utilities. The atmosphere around the hostel was brilliant - people from all ages and walks of life! Great location too, easy access to Lapa, Santa Teresa and the tourist attractions. If you get the chance to stay here do it!

Room Tip: female 6 bed dorm with own bathroom, highly recommended
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Proxanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Unfortunately my friend and I had our bags, including our passports, cameras and phones stolen while we were out and about in Rio on the last day of our stay in Rio. The folks at the hostel were so generous and genuinely concerned with our well being and with helping us contact people and helping us with the embassy paperwork.

Without Rob, Maria, Zion, Enrique and the other staff there, I don't know what we would have done without their patience, understanding and kindness. When we walked through those doors to this hostel it felt so safe and welcoming to be there. I certainly recommend this place to everyone. (Ps don't take your passport out with you.)

The rooms were clean and fun. The breakfast was tasty. And the people were all amazing.

Thanks for everything!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisOttawa613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
#2 of 815 in Rio de Janeiro
453 reviews
Santa Teresa
Santa Tere Hostel
Santa Tere Hostel
#3 of 815 in Rio de Janeiro
312 reviews
Ipanema
Mango Tree Hostel Ipanema
Mango Tree Hostel Ipanema
#8 of 815 in Rio de Janeiro
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
El Misti Rooms
El Misti Rooms
#6 of 815 in Rio de Janeiro
643 reviews
Ipanema
Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema
Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema
#11 of 815 in Rio de Janeiro
1,147 reviews
Ipanema
Ipanema Beach Hostel
Ipanema Beach Hostel
#10 of 815 in Rio de Janeiro
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Hostel

Address: Rua Benjamim Constant 26 | Gloria, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-150, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 815 Specialty Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $15 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Developed by world travelers, Discovery Hostel in Rio de Janiero, Brazil, provides backpackers and budget-minded globetrotters all the comfort of a boutique hostel and the coziness and warmth of a home-stay. We have a strong focus on creating a clean, open and friendly social environment making Discovery Hostel the ideal base for travelers who want to explore Rio and have an experience of a lifetime. The premises include: fully equipped kitchen, computer's lounge, reception & tourist information desk, TV area, bar & chill out patio. Pamper yourself with our customized beds, thick mattresses, big lockers, personal control lights, A/C and all the relaxation you will need for a good night's sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Discovery Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Hostel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing