We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of a Kind”
Review of Discovery Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Discovery Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Location, Location, and Location. This hostel is close to the Gloria subway station where is really close to Lapa and within a walking distance to historial center. Going to Copacabana, sugar loaf and Christo is easy reach because bus stops and subway are close by.

the area is safe. it has a lot of juice bars and grocery stores. Stocking up your daily food supplies wont' be any problems. the best part is you can watch daily Brazilian life!

the hostel itself is really clean and tidy. Staffs & owners are friendly to help. after checkin, you'll be given a map telling you where the major attractions are located and how to go there. (thanks for telling me the night market)

Other Likes. Each bed has a mini head lamp. You can unplug it and use a cable outlet to charge your electrical devices. Water filter's equipped in the kitchen so you can fill up your water bottle. Attraction and transport information is available in the living area. RED painted ceiling and custom-made cushions with Rio de Janeiro's attractions. Huge fan in sleeping room. Nice music. Definitely a good place to stay.

Room Tip: if possible, Room 1 & 2 would be better because they're away from the bathroom.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank commonguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (488)
There are newer reviews for Discovery Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

302 - 308 of 489 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

I'm not one for words, so I'll keep it short and sweet: in all my travels throughout South America, Discovery Hostel was the best. Great location, clean, tidy, decent breakfast. Most of all, the owners and staff are fantastic; really going the extra mile to ensure you enjoy your stay. I'll definately be coming back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scott N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The hostel is situated in a very good place. Everything is very close. Snack bars, pharmacy, subway, taxi and supermarkets. The staff are very attentive and helpful, they can speak multiple languages​​.

The atmosphere of the place is awsome. Take the opportunity to meet new friends. There you can find people from all places of the world.

Room Tip: If you want to stay in a private room (for couples) choose which is next to the bathroom. The other...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
2  Thank Nelson E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is a top hostel. It's extremely clean with a lot of facilities and above all a great atmosphere. It's 2 minutes walk from the metro, with juice bars and a supermarket around the corner. You can walk to Lapa and Copacabana is only 15mins away by metro. The staff will make you feel more than welcome and if you are as lucky as me you will make some good friends here. If you are looking for safety, location, atmosphere and comfort in Rio, don't look any further.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Giv Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

When I came to Rio I stayed in the hostel for a week in late march and it was great experience. Besides that the Hostel is on a great location, the thing that I most liked is that Enrique and his staff make me feel like home and they were really caring about my stay. Thanks guys i had na Awesome experience!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexinho220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

After travelling through Asia, Australasia and South America, Discovery Hostel has been my favourite hostel of the entire trip. The staff are incredibly helpful, the building is beautiful and the atmosphere is great. It's perfect for people travelling solo or with others. Can't recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hollypearl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

We were a little sceptical about booking this hostel with it being so close to lapa but we did not feel unsafe once in our 9 night stay! The metro is just on the corner so it's an excellent location! The staff are brilliant especially Jennifer, crazy Alex and Enrique, they help you with anything you need! It is so clean and tidy which is down to enriques hard work (cough OCD)!it has a lovely atmosphere and we made some amazing friends! The only thing that we would change is the smoking area because for us healthy Brits ;) the smoke was a little too much when we were sat in the lounge! And maybe jam at breakfast :) but we loved this place and would come back! Oh and the BBQ is amazing :) xx thank you for a lovely stay and I will miss Alex's random singing x

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natsky16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
#3 of 815 in Rio de Janeiro
455 reviews
Santa Teresa
Santa Tere Hostel
Santa Tere Hostel
#5 of 815 in Rio de Janeiro
312 reviews
Ipanema
Mango Tree Hostel Ipanema
Mango Tree Hostel Ipanema
#8 of 815 in Rio de Janeiro
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
El Misti Rooms
El Misti Rooms
#7 of 815 in Rio de Janeiro
643 reviews
Ipanema
Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema
Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema
#11 of 815 in Rio de Janeiro
1,152 reviews
Ipanema
Ipanema Beach Hostel
Ipanema Beach Hostel
#10 of 815 in Rio de Janeiro
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Hostel

Address: Rua Benjamim Constant 26 | Gloria, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-150, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 815 Specialty Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $15 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Developed by world travelers, Discovery Hostel in Rio de Janiero, Brazil, provides backpackers and budget-minded globetrotters all the comfort of a boutique hostel and the coziness and warmth of a home-stay. We have a strong focus on creating a clean, open and friendly social environment making Discovery Hostel the ideal base for travelers who want to explore Rio and have an experience of a lifetime. The premises include: fully equipped kitchen, computer's lounge, reception & tourist information desk, TV area, bar & chill out patio. Pamper yourself with our customized beds, thick mattresses, big lockers, personal control lights, A/C and all the relaxation you will need for a good night's sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Discovery Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Hostel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing