We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hostel”
Review of Discovery Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Discovery Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2013

When my friend and I arrived we only had two nights booked, but ended up staying ten... We had a really great time. The rooms are really comfortable and always completely clean. The hostel has a perfect layout with cool inside and outside social areas. The thing that made this hostel so good was the owner Enrique and the rest of the great staff. They were all super helpful and friendly, we never had a day when we didnt know what to do, they would always give us suggestions and give us good instructions on how to get to wherever we decided to go, day and night. It has the perfect vibe, if you need to chill out theres loads of room but it is a really sociable hostel and there are always people to have some drinks with and check out the nightlife, which is only around the corner in the form of Lappa, only 5 minutes walk from the Hostel. The owner cooked an amazing barbeque for the guests while we were there which was a great fun, he even took us out to Lappa and showed us the best places to go, hes a really cool dude. Couldnt reccomend this hostel any more, best hostel we have been to in South America, would love to go back there if i get a chance.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (488)
There are newer reviews for Discovery Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

311 - 317 of 488 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

I spent three nights here while waiting for my partner to arrive in Rio. The hostel is nice and clean, it seemed new so everything was in good condition. Although it looked like someone who stayed in the bed before me tried to rip the power plug next to the bed from the wall. The guard on the side of the bed was also loose, as if they tried pulling themselves up with it, which made it a little tricky to get in to the bed (which was the middle on a three bed bunk) but not impossible. The rest of the beds in the room, and the room I transferred to after my first two nights (because there was only space for two nights in the first room) were fine, it looks like it was just one rough guest sleeping in my first bed. Now that it is becoming winter I hope the either turn the air con off, or turn it down.

The location was good too, there was a supermarket and pharmacy on the corner right next to the metro station. The Flamengo beach was close, which was nice to sit at and walk through the park, and it was also about a 10 min walk to the Selarón Steps. I was busy studying most of the time so I didn't get a chance to socialise, but the staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Try get a bed in one of the rooms up the stairs by the front door. There is a bathroom in that area...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shillier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stayed in Rio lots of times already. From my experience i can tell you that this place is the perfect place to be located at during a stay. Since just down the corner there is a tube station and it´s in walking distance of Lapa the famous carioca party district and Santa Teresa a cosy area up the hill with lot´s of little cafes and restaurants to relax. Since the tube station is so near you can go to everywhere else (centro, copacabana, ipanema, some nice beaches in no time!
The owners and the helping staff are all fluent in English and lots of other languages and are very helpful with everything you need. They are also a fun crowed which is motivated to hang out and chat with the guests and plan some fun activities with everyone involved sometimes!
The place itself is very new so everything is clean, working and organized :) not like some other places i´ve been to in Brazil. Last but not least their house kitten leite and the clean and cosy interieur make you feel like home and you will find yourself with difficulties leaving this place again ;)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

It's a new, cosy and clean hostel - I felt very comfortable here. The owners and staff are super friendly. The location is excellent: supermarket around corner, to nightlife 5 mins walking and sights and beaches are easy to reach by bus or metro. The vibe is very social and friendly, too. Thank you so much for having a great stay, guys!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VckyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This was my first time in Rio, and I must say that I loved it. I arrived at Discovery Hostel after searching google for hostels near the airport ( stos dumont, 10 minutes away). I wasn't planning on staying there for more than 2 days ( wanted to be right on the beach). I ended up staying for 2 weeks, LOL. The hostel is brand new (3-4 months) and is operated by the owners, giving it a really fun and relaxed vibe. It's located withing walking distance ( less than a minute) of Gloria metro station, banks ( with Atms), supermarket, drug store and a few restaurants. The neighbourhood is mostly residencial, so you don't have to worry about drunk turists
yelling late at night when you want to sleep. To get to the turistic beaches (copacabana and ipanema) you have to take the metro (8-10 min. ride) or just walk over to Flamengo beach (about 10 minutes, more family oriented). One of the best things about the location is that the party district ( "Lapa") is 10 minutes by foot, so you can really forget about expensive taxi rides at night ( metro closes around 11 pm), and that helps out a lot if your on a budget.
What more can I say, big free breakfast, spotless bathrooms, dorms ( with A/C) and super friendly and helpfull staff for a cheap price.
Only downside I can think of is that you can't pay with your credit card.

Overall, a great city and a great place to stay!.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ggarcias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

A great (not too big) hostel with a great personal touch! The owners are young and really trying to make your stay in Rio as good as it can gets! The beds are in very good conditions and the livingroom is a great place to chill out! There is a small terrace inside where you can have your breakfast or have dinner at night. I stayed here during the carnival and I could not wish for a better place! Close to metrostation Gloria, walking distance to Santa Teressa, Lapa, Flamengo and Centro. The hostel is situated in Gloria which is also a great part of the town.

The hostelcat Leite is definitly something that got me in the home feeling.
Thereby you can ask anything to the staff and they are trying to help you with everything they can. Will definitly recommend this hostel to other travelers wwho are heading to Rio!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bertuithaarlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This hostel is great, place is nice, clean, people working there are great.
But it has a big problem. The rooms have AC, but at least the one i had, has a very big problem with its location, its beneath a windows. So you know hot air goes up, cold air goes down......the upper beds will be much hotter, and thats an issue in summer in Rio.

The neighborhood seems safe, well connected(metro in the corner), lots of markets and banks.

Room Tip: go fro the lower beds in summer.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alvaro i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
#2 of 815 in Rio de Janeiro
453 reviews
Santa Teresa
Santa Tere Hostel
Santa Tere Hostel
#3 of 815 in Rio de Janeiro
312 reviews
Ipanema
Mango Tree Hostel Ipanema
Mango Tree Hostel Ipanema
#8 of 815 in Rio de Janeiro
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
El Misti Rooms
El Misti Rooms
#6 of 815 in Rio de Janeiro
643 reviews
Ipanema
Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema
Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema
#11 of 815 in Rio de Janeiro
1,147 reviews
Ipanema
Ipanema Beach Hostel
Ipanema Beach Hostel
#10 of 815 in Rio de Janeiro
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Hostel

Address: Rua Benjamim Constant 26 | Gloria, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-150, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 815 Specialty Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $15 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Developed by world travelers, Discovery Hostel in Rio de Janiero, Brazil, provides backpackers and budget-minded globetrotters all the comfort of a boutique hostel and the coziness and warmth of a home-stay. We have a strong focus on creating a clean, open and friendly social environment making Discovery Hostel the ideal base for travelers who want to explore Rio and have an experience of a lifetime. The premises include: fully equipped kitchen, computer's lounge, reception & tourist information desk, TV area, bar & chill out patio. Pamper yourself with our customized beds, thick mattresses, big lockers, personal control lights, A/C and all the relaxation you will need for a good night's sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Discovery Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Hostel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing