We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating Look At Favela Life”

Favela Santa Marta Tour
Ranked #21 of 519 Tours in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: On this tour we will go to the top of the favela using the cable car of Santa Marta ( inclined plane ), together with the residents where the tourists will feel the atmosphere of the favela doing a tour through the street and alleys where the local story is told together with the story of famous people that came here as Queen Elizabeth II , Michael Jackson , Madonna , Vin Diesel , Hugh Jackman ( Wolverine ) , Alicia Keys , Bradley Cooper , Spike Lee among others. The top of the favela has a panoramic view of the city, where you see the Christ Redeemer , Sugar Loaf, Praia de Botafogo, Lagoa Rodrigues de Freitas and the entire district of Botafogo. We met at the Shell gas station located at the corner of Calle San Clemente and Rua da Matriz in Botafogo. Inside the station is a shop called "Select", which we found near the store for easy identification, at the scheduled time.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Food available for purchase
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We took the Favela Santa Marta Tour today and absolutely loved it. It was a great 2 hours of walking down through the Favela and seeing how beautiful and amazing this area is. Our tour guide was Thiago - and he was brilliant. He has lived all his life in Santa Marta and was a "superstar" throughout the Favela. Everyone knew him and he was able to easily answer all our questions. Pedro translated to English for us and was also amazing. Very friendly and very easy to understand. I would definitely recommend doing this tour if you go to Rio. It gives a much better understanding of the area - rather than just visiting it alone. Thank you so much !!!!

Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiago F, Proprietário at Favela Santa Marta Tour, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013
Google Translation

Obrigado Jason.. Realmente me sinto um sucesso por está aqui até hoje fazendo esse trabalho maravilhoso guiando vocês na favela. Como muitos acham que quem mora na favela já foi algo ruim, eu posso me orgulhar de não ter essa história. Só tenho felicidades e bons trabalhos realizados dentro do Santa Marta. Volte sempre .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (476)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

213 - 217 of 476 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2013

My Brazilian friend suggested I go on this tour, and arranged for me to meet Thiago at the bundinho (funicular station) in Santa Marta. With a group of about 10 other people, I enjoyed an insightful and honest tour about Santa Marta. Although I don't speak portuguese, others on the tour helped with translation. Learned a lot and definitely saw Rio from a different perspective. Obrigado, Thiago!

Thank travelwiz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiago F, Proprietário at Favela Santa Marta Tour, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013
Google Translation

Volte sempre amigo. Foi um belo tour e um prazer receber você aqui em nossa favela. Obrigado por gostar dos nossos serviços.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Well organised tour. Informative pleasant guide (Sergio) & efficient transport. Well worth getting off the usual tourist trails & seeing how millions of the poor live in Brazil. The paths that one walks on may make some people queasy - a lot of dog faeces (that one can avoid stepping into if one is careful). Makes one count ones' blessings, realize that we must not sweat over the small stuff and that we should support local small businesses when we can. Billions of people can only dream of the lives that international tourists have. Highly recommended, very educational & thought provoking...

1  Thank Gnanasagren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiago F, Proprietário at Favela Santa Marta Tour, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013
Google Translation

Obrigado por visitar o Santa Marta. Volte sempre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

My boyfriendReiner and me,Michaela, visited Santa Marta for the first time and enjoyed the tour so much.
So many things to see and to learn. Thank you Thiago and Pedro for this wonderfull experience.
Hope to stay in contact with you!!

1  Thank Michaela_Steinhoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiago F, Proprietário at Favela Santa Marta Tour, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013
Google Translation

Obrigado Michaela pelo tour com seu marido. Volte sempre e seja sempre bem vinda em nossa favela. Obrigado por valorizar e fazer o tour com um guia local morador do Santa Marta.
É muito gratificante sempre poder ler comentários belos como este.
Um abraço.

Thiago Firmino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Yesterday me and my wife visited favela Santa Marta with 2 guys - Thiago and Pedro. We are already 1 month in Rio and it was one of the most interesting places here. Thiago was born in Santa Marta and knows everything about favela. Pedro helped him with translation.This is historical place which was extremely dangerous only 4 years ago. Now it is absolutely safe and it is a victory of goverment and usual people. Thiago showed to us most significant places related with celebrities (Michael Jackson), with drug traffic and so on. Also we visited his house and he prepared fantastic Caipirinha for me. Finally, I think it is a good idea take this excursion by reason of a quality of sightseeing, not about safety. We remember a phrase of Thiago: "Now you are leaving a favela. Be careful with cameras, hide them" :)

1  Thank onishanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiago F, Proprietário at Favela Santa Marta Tour, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013
Google Translation

Obrigado. Realmente o tour com guia bilingue com vocês foi ótimo. Fizemos um belo atendimento e caipirinha que realmente foi só elogio. Alem de recebermos parabens pelo Tour, recebemos muitos elogios como a melhor caipirinha do Rio.
Volte sempre amigo. Obrigado.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Favela Santa Marta Tour also viewed

 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Favela Santa Marta Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing