We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed for our quick trip to Rio!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Copacabana Posto 2
Ranked #61 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Monterrey
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Just what we needed for our quick trip to Rio!!!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Let me start this review by stating: Rio Copacabana and Ipanema areas are REALLY expensive when accomodation is referred so hotel choice will be based in what you truly look for: 1) A nice hotel with plenty of infraestructure to spend time within or 2) Just a nice, secure and well priced and located property as a base for a nice sleep. We were looking for the second!!!.

We decided to book our 3 night stay at this hotel becuase LOCATION, PRICE AND CLEANESS what our main target, of course in a safe and secure area were you could walk by night as well.

New Hotel Ibis chain offers this, in a VERY compact accomodation, but clean and very good priced. We just need a quite place to sleep to spend WHOLE day out of the hotel sightseeing and visiting beautiful spots all over Rio. We did not need the hotel for something else, neither breakfast nor pool.

Location is great, just tree blocks away from the famous Copacabana beach. You actually get Copacabana beach through the street thas is besides Hotel Copacabana Palace, so imagine the PERFECT location for this hotel. As I mentioned before, room is VERY-VERY compact and bathroom is fair enough in space. I belive more than two adults with luggage would be too much, but for two, it is just PERFECT!. There are no nice views, but there is quite during the night to recover from and exhaustive sightseeing day.

We booked the hotel thought the ibis webpage and got our confirmation very quick. During Checking everything was OK and check out as well. The guys at the front desk gave us some tips (asking them) and recommend us a "Churrascaria" very very nice (Palace Churrascaria) that we enjoyed the most.

There is a taxi base out of the hotel as well and price was fair, we paid around $80 reias to the GIG international airport taking around 50 min.

So in general we where very satisfied with our choice...and I definetely recommend it and will stay for sure next time that I visit this beautiful City!.

Bon Voyage!!!.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Davicho77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    1,104
    259
    32
    22
See reviews for
469
704
138
323
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

It is located very close to Copecabana beach. There are shops and restaurants around but low quality stuff for tourists. Very close to metro. Just one block. Room is very basic but it doesnt matter. Enjoy the beach. Breakfast is ok. I have been to very expensive hotels in Rio and it was not better. Bar/cafe is poor.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kzmkzm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We only stayed here for one night after touring for 4 weeks. The hotel was reasonably priced and is in a good location. Walking distance to Copacabana Beach. Our room was a good size. The bathroom was clean and the water hot. The bed was extremely comfortable so we had a good nights sleep. I didn't find the checking out process very efficient. We had to line up just to hand out swipe card back in. After queuing for 15 minutes I just left the card on the bench and walked out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Navik5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
146 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This hotel is right next to the metro in Copacabana and easy walking distance to the beach, also near grocery stores, restaurants, etc. They are also on rio shuttle's route so you can reserve online and have them pick you up and take you to the international airport for $R20 per person. The beds were super comfortable. The rooms were modern and small but made good use of space almost identical to the Ibis hotels I have stayed at in Europe. Overall it was a good comfortable stay in a clean room and was a good price for the area.

We arrived super early at around 5:30am our overnight bus had gotten in two hours early. We had planned on not being able to check in but to leave our luggage and begin our day at 8 but 5:30 in the dark was a little too early. They were not full the night before so they said they could check us in but that we would have to pay for the full night. In fact they wanted us to pay a rate higher for the night that had passed than the nights we had reserved. When I remarked on it being expensive the front desk clerk acted like I was cheap and said "no it isn't". Really $360R for a couple of extra hours isn't expensive? We declined, we were able to wait in the lobby and got the room before the official check in time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meandros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Really good hotel, for reasonable price. 2 block (3 minutes walking) from Copacabana Beach. Just one block behind Copacabana Palace.
Short trip to city center and 20 minutes from Airport.
In Carnaval time just 8 minutes from Atlantica Avenue where you can find street carnaval.
Short trip on bus to Christ the Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Montain

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarcoNascimentoM4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

From the very beginning we had friendly smiles from the reception. Very good service and they made check in and check out so easy for us. The room is clean and tidy, as it's a newer hotel. Great breakfast. Excellent location as it is just 5 minutes walk to Copacabana beach. Thank you to the staff who made our stay very pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ilovelondon2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Ibis Copacabana Posto 5
Ibis Copacabana Posto 5
#33 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
645 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Sol Hotel
Copacabana Sol Hotel
#141 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
481 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Suites by Atlantica
Copacabana Suites by Atlantica
#97 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
#48 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
842 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Barra Da Tijuca
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Barra Da Tij...
#54 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
871 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Copa Hotel
Windsor Copa Hotel
#43 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Copacabana Posto 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Copacabana Posto 2

Property: Ibis Copacabana Posto 2
Address: Rua Ministro Viveiros de Castro, 134, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-010, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#22 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#23 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#27 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Copacabana Posto 2 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Ibis Copacabana Posto 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Copacabana Posto 2 Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing