We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IBIS Copacabana impression”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Copacabana Posto 2
Ranked #70 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This hotel is well located (Copacabana). It's two blocks from the beach and is surrounded by restaurants, shops etc. The room service is good and the high standard of cleanliness is observed. The breakfast was good and varied. But the money was not much benefited. However, in general, accommodation in Copacabana is very expensive.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank FRXBatista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,065)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

245 - 251 of 2,065 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2013

We had originally booked a hotel in Ipanema, then found out the brand new Ibis and re-booked, at nearly half the cost. Best decision ever made. I was worried that our room might be too small, but I have stayed in smaller Ibis rooms. This one was close to perfect, with all we needed there, except tea & coffee making facilities. Of course no view, but who cares, you walk two blocks and you are at the beach. I concur with another reviewer, the food for dinner was truly horrible, I gave it a second chance but shouldn't have bothered. Breakfast didn't impress me too much, either, for the price. But it was okay. There are so many eating places in the area that you won't go hungry. For a quick bite during the day you can walk across the road to your left and there is a nice corner snack bar. The free internet was a great help, and you can do print-outs via reception. The area felt perfectly safe, there were always a lot of people about. The trip to/from the international airport takes about 30 minutes outside rush hour, taxis are waiting in front of the hotel and cost around 65 Reais, but it would be a great deal more in heavy traffic. Staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and always kept an eye on people entering the hotel to make sure they were "legitimate". I'm afraid the rates at the Ibis will go up in due course, with all the positive feedback, but for the time being I reckon it's the best value-for-money hotel in Copacabana.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lutzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

For a hotel with new installations in copacabana is worth every penny!!! I look a lot for hotels during the Holy Week and all were pricy and old. It was even less expensive that a hostel in which friends stayed. If you book in advance you will get great deals and the breakfast buffet is very nice and with variety even eggs that's something you won't find in every breakfast in hotels in brazil.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria P G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Pros:
1. Very affordable. In a city full of overpriced hotels, Ibis Copacabana is a breath of fresh air!!
2. Free internet
3. Very clean and modern facility
4. Excellent breakfast buffet. Fresh fruits, scrambled eggs, sausages, sweets, etc.
5. Outstanding customer service. The entire staff was nothing but smiles and full of energy. There was this one lady, don't know her name, she was very friendly, very helpful, and works hard. She was all over the place. We saw her helping at the front desk, the breakfast buffet and answering questions in the hallway. She even helped the cleaning ladies with our room to speed up our check in. Thank you thank you thank you!!
6. Walking distance to the beach

Cons:
What cons? There aren't any. Stay in this hotel unless you don't like money.

Muito Obrigado Ibis Copacabana!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FrequentFlyer19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renata E, Gerente geral at Ibis Copacabana Posto 2, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear guest,
We'd like to thank you for choosing our as your accommodation choice during your recent stay Rio and for taking the time to complete your review, we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Hope to see you again in your next visit.
Best regards.
Renata Eduardo
General Manager
Ibis RJ Copacabana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Ibis Copacabana is located behind the famous 'Copacabana Palace' and is an excellent choice for a short stay. The rooms are well designed to get the best of the space and the en suite facilities are far superior to other larger hotels, with an endless supply of hot water and a great shower. All rooms have a fridge, free wi-fi, and air conditioning. The beds where very comfortable with quality bedding and pillows.
The hotel has friendly staff and serves a buffet breakfast each morning which offers a wide choice of both hot and cold food. Sugar Loaf Mountain is within walking distance and there are plenty of restaurants close by.
Daily room rate was 298BR plus taxes and we stayed here 3 nights on our way to Salvador and again for 2 nights on our way home. Would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: I would recommend a room on one of the higher floors to avoid street noise. Upon check in we where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tony282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renata E, Gerente geral at Ibis Copacabana Posto 2, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear guest,
We're pleased with your comments.
Hope to see you again in your next visit to Rio de Janeiro.
Best regards.
Renata Eduardo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at the IBIS Copacabana for two nights in March 2013. At 98GBP a night this is well below the price of other hotels in the area (we were surprised how expensive hotels are here). The rooms are small but functional and clean. Ask for a room at the front of the building - we were at the back (floor 6) and a notice on the window told us to keep our curtains closed for privacy (view of back of buildings not great). Booking and check-in was easy and efficient.

The one thing that lets this hotel down is the 'restuarant' THE FOOD IS TRULY TERRIBLE. AVOID AVOID AVOID. After trying to have supper here on our first night (Microwaved burger and chicken salad (hard tiny piece of chicken), we did not want to have breakfast here. We choose to sit at the counter of the open cafe across the street on the corner with the locals - coffee and snacks good and cheap, staff friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel overlook concrete wall and are overlooked - ask for room at front of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peanut65London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renata E, General Manager at Ibis Copacabana Posto 2, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

We apologize for your disappointment in some areas of our hotel.
We recommend that our guests keep curtains closed for their privacy , because of the many buildings surrounding us in Copacabana in both side of the building.
Also, we'd like to mention that some areas of our hotel are still being adjusted, because of our fairly brand new open, and our restaurant is one of them.
Despite our restaurant not being full-service restaurant, the quality and taste of our food should have been great and we are sorry for your bad experience.
Our priority and our satisfaction is the satisfaction of our guest.
Once again, thank you for your comments that allow us to improve our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The Ibis Copacabana is in a good location a couple of blocks from the beach. The price seemed reasonable given the location but the room was really basic by North American standards. There were 2 worn towels in the bathroom - no hand towel or face cloths. The bed wasn't the most comfortable we've had but it was acceptable. It was no problem getting an extra pillow and an adapter for my computer and camera battery. Central reservations had requested an early check in for us but no rooms were ready when we arrived around 10 a.m. so they did let us leave our luggage there which was helpful. Service was inattentive and unhelpful for the most part. Despite being free, staff would talk to each other rather than pay attention to the guests. At checkout, the only woman at reception was taking her sweet time with the people in front of us and then decided to answer the phone and carry on a conversation while we stood there anxious to catch our taxi to the airport. We told her we were leaving and all of a sudden she wanted to engage but by then we were walking out the door. The hotel insisted that we pay in full for each night upon arrival which was problematic as we are used to paying on our credit card or at check out, so we gave them enough Reais for the first night until we could exchange more the next day. They should inform guests that they require payment upon arrival so people can come prepared. The hotel was willing to accept USD but at a premium on the exchange rate. It was great to have internet (included in the price) when it worked. Buses to Corcovado, Santa Teresa and everywhere else are available within a few blocks.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank relaxed108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Windsor Copa Hotel
Windsor Copa Hotel
#40 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,081 reviews
Copacabana
Ibis Copacabana Posto 5
Ibis Copacabana Posto 5
#39 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
748 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Suites by Atlantica
Copacabana Suites by Atlantica
#101 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Copacabana Rio Hotel
Copacabana Rio Hotel
#78 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,074 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
#41 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
881 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Barra Da Tijuca
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Barra Da Tij...
#54 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Copacabana Posto 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Copacabana Posto 2

Address: Rua Ministro Viveiros de Castro, 134, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-010, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#23 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $54 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Copacabana Posto 2 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TravelUp, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ibis Copacabana Posto 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Copacabana Posto 2 Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing