We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dangerous location - prepare to get robbed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santa Teresa Central Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Santa Teresa Central Hostel
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“Dangerous location - prepare to get robbed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

This place is in a DANGEROUS location!
We were robbed threatened by a gun just 15 min walk from the hostel and other guests just in front of the hostel (they were arrving from the airport and had everything with them).
On the same day there were 11 more robberies in Santa Theresa reported.
The hostel is on the hill, so you need to walk up the emtpy street which is exhausting and scary. We didn't dare to leave the hostel alone.

The staff wasn't helpful and not relyable. they didn't warn us and said it was safe, which was untrue. The staff in general was not knowledgeable, no information about any tours, false information about bus connections, on the last day they didn't manage to get a taxi for us, saying in the evening we needed to book in the morning and telling us in the morning - we needed to do it in the evening. So we walked down the hill with all our staff to get a taxi from the street.
We stayed here for 8 nights during New Years Eve celebration, and there was nothing organized by the hostel - even no information about transport, how to get to the beach and how to go home afterwards - no one cared.
The hostel itself has a nice athmosphere, beautiful terrace, very clean. The breakfast was the best I've ever seen in any other hostel!
In general very nice hostel, if not location and staff!

Room Tip: take the terrase room which is further - it's the best and the most quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iozooma k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    11
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
2
5
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

I must confess that I have never seen the hostel in real life. I do want to share my experience as I think it shows something of the service and my help other travelers.

I booked this hostel a few months in advance on hostelbookers. 3 weeks after my booking, the hostel informed me in a rude email that my reservation would not be observed. I was offered to change the order to a 5 times higher price for a shorter duration. I feel put in a very peculiar situation as many hostels I was considering before are now sold out. Furthermore, if hostels feel that they can change reservations like this, what is the use of making a reservation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdenbrok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, SP
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

my friends and I stayed at Santa Teresa Cental Hostel for two days and was AMAZING.
great place, great and lovely staff, pretty clean and organised!
if you are planning to go to RJ this is the best place for you rest!
Thanks Adriana, Tomas, David and everyone from Santa Teresa Central Hostel!
I'll be back soon :D

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TathiAnselmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de janeiro
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

I stayed in Santa Teresa Central Hostel for 3 nights and my experience was one of the best i had in any other hostel in Rio de Janeiro. The hostel have a very good and rich breakfast, the staff is very helpful, they speak english and they are always there to help you for any information you might need. I stayed in a dormitorio which was very clean with private bathroom. The interenet connention was very good and the location just 50 m from the escadaria selaron and 5 minutes walking from Lapa in a very safe and cool area with fantastic views to Lapa and downtown, especially at night. For sure i will come back. Thank you Tulio for everything.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nik N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Rio Forest Hostel
Rio Forest Hostel
#7 of 756 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Santa Teresa
Bossa in Rio Hostel
Bossa in Rio Hostel
#10 of 756 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Brisa Barra Hotel
Brisa Barra Hotel
#20 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
CabanaCopa Hostel
CabanaCopa Hostel
#96 of 756 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Arcos Rio Palace Hotel
#121 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel
Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Ho...
#125 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Teresa Central Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Teresa Central Hostel

Property: Santa Teresa Central Hostel
Address: Ladeira Santa Teresa 121, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-140, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 756 Specialty Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Santa Teresa Central Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hostel has capacity for 42 guests in dormitories and private rooms. It is a fun and clean environment in the middle of the coolest neighborhood in town. The great and tranquil location is ideal for those who want to stay in Rio de Janeiro without the hustle and bustle of the big city while still remaining close to everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Santa Teresa Central Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Teresa Central Hostel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing