We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value business hotel”
Review of Windsor Copa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Windsor Copa Hotel
Ranked #44 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good value business hotel”
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

We wanted a clean hotel in a good location with a nice bathroom and good wifi and this was perfect. Not cheap by European standards but I think that is common in Rio. This seemed good value compared to other similar hotels. The location is great, 1 block from Copacabana and only a couple of blocks from the nearest metro stop. Breakfasts were ample and had a great choice. Wifi was really good, I managed a half hour Skype video call to the uk with no problem at all. Only slight downside would be the lack of bath (only had a huge shower) but I think that is probably common in similar hotels in Rio. Overall good value for Rio.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank andreampearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonaSamir, Gerente geral at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Mr. Andrea,

Thank you very much for your preference while choosing Windsor Copa!
Thank you also for your compliments regarding our delicious breakfast, with a large variety of fresh seasonal fruits and juices. I am glad you have enjoyed our location, in the very heart Copacabana , 1 block from the beach and from the great restaurants and stores of the área.
We look forward to have you as our guest again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Mona Samir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    495
    108
    13
    10
See reviews for
208
342
63
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights and we felt we chose the right place. Staff were friendly, they also helped us choose the restaurants around. Breakfast was amazing. This hotel is perfectly located, Copacabana was just a few blocks away and the walk to beach was amazing. It was raining when we were in Rio, yet we had fun. Worth all your dollars !!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TheAmateurNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonaSamir, Gerente geral at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your great comments regarding your recent stay with us at Windsor Copa Hotel.
I'm glad that you have enjoyed the various aspects of our hotel, such as the varied breakfast with a large selection of fruits, juices and breads; our location and services provide by our staff.
We appreciate your comments and we hope to welcome you back in Rio soon.

Sincerely,

Mona Samir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locarno
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

In this hotel, we were particularly surprised by the service of the front desk staff. They were happy to arrange tours and book airport transfers and were very helpful when needing an information.
The rooms very clean and comfortable but not very big.
The hotel is ideally located close to the beach and a subway station.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sara_Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonaSamir, Gerente geral at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Mrs Sara,

In the name of all our staff I would like to express our gratitude for your comments at Trip Advisor.The most important for the staff and management is your satisfaction. We are really glad to hear that our front desk helped you to arrange tours, providing you with an unforgettable experience!
I will be informing our staff of your positive observations to motivate them even further.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

Warm Regards from Rio!

Mona Samir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We spent 4 nights in Rio. The location of the Windsor Copa was very good for the value. It was one block from the beach and restaurants as well as 3 blocks from a supermarket and 2 blocks from the Metro. The bellmen were extremely helpful as was Leonardo at reception. All the staff from the waiters at breakfast, the bellmen, and reception staff were very attentive and professional. There were 2 staff who spoke English which was helpful for transportation issues.
Some of the rooms appeared small but we had a corner room which was larger and overlooked the street. No street noise. Room was comfortable and had both 110 and 220 volt outlets. Bed was comfortable.
Breakfast buffet was plentiful with interesting juices including various shakes. They offered excellent selection of fresh fruits as well as waffles and toasted cheese sandwiches.
There was lots of granite throughout the hotel. Hallways, rooms, bathroom all had granite floors, and counter. Shower was excellent with great water pressure.
Overall a good value and Location.
Although the Hotel had free WIFI, it lacked a business center (computer) to use. Rooms were somewhat noisy at times.
A problem occurred on our departure with the airport shuttle. We were originally scheduled for a 1915 shuttle but changed it to 1615. At 1545 we were informed the shuttle would not arrive due to mechanical problem (not the hotel's fault) . The staff said there were no vacancies on the next 2 shuttles so we left for the public bus. A bellman came after us to inform us that we got on the 1715 shuttle which arrived at 1730 with 6 empty seats after we got on. Not sure if the shuttle service was not correct or the staff was incorrect.

Room Tip: Room 504 Larger room with king bed facing the Street. Corner rooms seem to be bigger. Avoid rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaQuintaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonaSamir, Gerente geral at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you so much for your superb review about your recent stay with us at Windsor Copa Hotel.

We are thrilled to hear how much you have enjoyed our great level of services, as much as you have enjoyed our prime location. We are indeed located in the very centre of Copacabana, just a few steps from the beach!

Also, I would like to thank you for your lovely comment about all staff. We will be informing all of them of your positive observations to motivate them even further!
We all look forward to welcome you again on your next visit to Rio.

Sincerely Grateful,

Mona Samir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We just spent 3 night at the Windsor Copa. It was great. The lobby and coridors were bright and cheery. The room was super clean and good size. The bed was large (King Size) and comfortable. The shower was amazing. It included a huge breakfast. The staff was super friendly and spoke English. We were one block from the beach Directly behind the Copacabana Palace ant over 3 times the rate.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonaSamir, Gerente geral at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Mr. Bob S.,

thank you for your recent review, on Trip Advisor. Your comments are really important to us.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Windsor Copa Hotel. Our staff thrives to make each guest's stay memorable and exceed their expectations. I will share your comments with our team and celebrate another satisfied guest !
I hope you do have the opportunity to visit us again.

Kind regards,

Mona Samir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
216 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I guess Rio is a pretty pricey place to stay. This hotel has really small compact rooms - the door hits the end of the bed when you walk in the room - and everything is pretty basic. No iron which is pretty annoying when you have to go to business meetings in crumpled clothes.The breakfast is pretty good and the breakfast waiting staff are friendly. You can open the small window.
Close to the beach.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluekakariki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonaSamir, Gerente geral at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for the time dedicated to this evaluation.
Unfortunately, our rooms were not up to your expectations and for now all I can do is to promise to take your words in consideration for future improvements.
On the other hand, it was really good to know that you enjoyed our location, breakfast and our friendly staff.
I hope to have another opportunity to welcome you in Windsor Copa Hotel in the near future.
Sincerely,
Mona Samir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, NJ
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I stayed at this property for two weeks on business in October 2013, and was pleasantly surprised.
As already mentioned by other reviewers, the decor is nothing to write home about, but overall, the room was very nice. I had no complaints whatsoever about cleanliness, the water pressure in the shower really was fantastic, and staff were always friendly and helpful.
There is a small gym with good-quality, relatively new equipment, that I was usually alone in when I worked out in the morning.
Breakfast is great - everything's fresh, and the selection of fresh fruit and fruit juices was amazing. Makes you realize just how awful those 'free' breakfasts in some American hotels are.
I had dinner a couple of times at the restaurant. It's just as over-priced as all the other restaurants in Copacabana, but service is impeccable, and the food's pretty good, so it's a pretty good alternative as far as I was concerned. Avoid the Trattoria around the corner, which is equally expensive and totally not worth it!
Wireless internet is free and not too slow - I was able to use Facetime to talk to my husband without experiencing too many freezes, although a separate attempt at Skype didn't go so well.
On the downside (and I have to mention that they put me in an accessible room, so a regular one may look a bit different), the wardrobe was one of the most badly designed I've ever seen (see picture) - I couldn't actually figure out where to put my clothes without just piling them all up in a heap. I also wasn't crazy about the hairdryer, which was one of those mounted-on-the-wall-and-keep-your-thumb-on-the-button affairs that drive me nuts.
A couple of notes on the room:
- the hotel provides bars of soap, shower caps, shampoo and conditioner, but no lotion
- for whichever reason, voltage in the bathroom is 220, but 110 in the rest of the room
- power outlets come in American and what looks like German standard, so no need to bring an adapter
Regarding the location, I felt like the hotel is at the wrong end of Copacabana. As a single, female traveler, I avoided going out at dark. As you head towards the Ipanema end of Copacabana, you do feel that you're moving up market and there are more people about. Having said that, you're on the same block as the Copacabana Palace Hotel, so maybe some of the glamor will rub off :-).

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back, not the street, are quieter. If you like having the window open, go for a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank miss_vicky_08560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonaSamir, Gerente geral at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Miss Vicky,
We would like to thank you for choosing the Windsor Copa on your recent trip to Rio and also for taking your time to help us through your comments. I'm sure that they will be of great value to other tripadvisor travelers.
We are also very glad that you have enjoyed the various aspects of our hotel, such as the varied breakfast with a large selection of fruits, juices and breads; our location and service.
If you have any suggestions to improve our services it will be a pleasure to hear from you again.
We appreciate your comments and we hope to welcome you back in Rio soon.
Sincerely,
Mona Samir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#31 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
725 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Martinique Hotel
Windsor Martinique Hotel
#37 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,097 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
#30 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#20 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,852 reviews
Copacabana
Orla Copacabana Hotel
Orla Copacabana Hotel
#81 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,381 reviews
Copacabana
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
#15 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Copa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Copa Hotel

Property: Windsor Copa Hotel
Address: Av. Nossa Senhora De Copacabana 335, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22020-002, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#14 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#14 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Copa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Windsor Copa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Copa Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing