We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth spending !”
Review of Windsor Copa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Windsor Copa Hotel
Ranked #44 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights and we felt we chose the right place. Staff were friendly, they also helped us choose the restaurants around. Breakfast was amazing. This hotel is perfectly located, Copacabana was just a few blocks away and the walk to beach was amazing. It was raining when we were in Rio, yet we had fun. Worth all your dollars !!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank TheAmateurNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonaSamir, Gerente geral at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your great comments regarding your recent stay with us at Windsor Copa Hotel.
I'm glad that you have enjoyed the various aspects of our hotel, such as the varied breakfast with a large selection of fruits, juices and breads; our location and services provide by our staff.
We appreciate your comments and we hope to welcome you back in Rio soon.

Sincerely,

Mona Samir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,057)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

227 - 233 of 1,057 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

In this hotel, we were particularly surprised by the service of the front desk staff. They were happy to arrange tours and book airport transfers and were very helpful when needing an information.
The rooms very clean and comfortable but not very big.
The hotel is ideally located close to the beach and a subway station.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Sara_Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonaSamir, Gerente geral at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Dear Mrs Sara,

In the name of all our staff I would like to express our gratitude for your comments at Trip Advisor.The most important for the staff and management is your satisfaction. We are really glad to hear that our front desk helped you to arrange tours, providing you with an unforgettable experience!
I will be informing our staff of your positive observations to motivate them even further.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

Warm Regards from Rio!

Mona Samir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We spent 4 nights in Rio. The location of the Windsor Copa was very good for the value. It was one block from the beach and restaurants as well as 3 blocks from a supermarket and 2 blocks from the Metro. The bellmen were extremely helpful as was Leonardo at reception. All the staff from the waiters at breakfast, the bellmen, and reception staff were very attentive and professional. There were 2 staff who spoke English which was helpful for transportation issues.
Some of the rooms appeared small but we had a corner room which was larger and overlooked the street. No street noise. Room was comfortable and had both 110 and 220 volt outlets. Bed was comfortable.
Breakfast buffet was plentiful with interesting juices including various shakes. They offered excellent selection of fresh fruits as well as waffles and toasted cheese sandwiches.
There was lots of granite throughout the hotel. Hallways, rooms, bathroom all had granite floors, and counter. Shower was excellent with great water pressure.
Overall a good value and Location.
Although the Hotel had free WIFI, it lacked a business center (computer) to use. Rooms were somewhat noisy at times.
A problem occurred on our departure with the airport shuttle. We were originally scheduled for a 1915 shuttle but changed it to 1615. At 1545 we were informed the shuttle would not arrive due to mechanical problem (not the hotel's fault) . The staff said there were no vacancies on the next 2 shuttles so we left for the public bus. A bellman came after us to inform us that we got on the 1715 shuttle which arrived at 1730 with 6 empty seats after we got on. Not sure if the shuttle service was not correct or the staff was incorrect.

Room Tip: Room 504 Larger room with king bed facing the Street. Corner rooms seem to be bigger. Avoid rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaQuintaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonaSamir, Gerente geral at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you so much for your superb review about your recent stay with us at Windsor Copa Hotel.

We are thrilled to hear how much you have enjoyed our great level of services, as much as you have enjoyed our prime location. We are indeed located in the very centre of Copacabana, just a few steps from the beach!

Also, I would like to thank you for your lovely comment about all staff. We will be informing all of them of your positive observations to motivate them even further!
We all look forward to welcome you again on your next visit to Rio.

Sincerely Grateful,

Mona Samir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We just spent 3 night at the Windsor Copa. It was great. The lobby and coridors were bright and cheery. The room was super clean and good size. The bed was large (King Size) and comfortable. The shower was amazing. It included a huge breakfast. The staff was super friendly and spoke English. We were one block from the beach Directly behind the Copacabana Palace ant over 3 times the rate.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonaSamir, Gerente geral at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Dear Mr. Bob S.,

thank you for your recent review, on Trip Advisor. Your comments are really important to us.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Windsor Copa Hotel. Our staff thrives to make each guest's stay memorable and exceed their expectations. I will share your comments with our team and celebrate another satisfied guest !
I hope you do have the opportunity to visit us again.

Kind regards,

Mona Samir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I guess Rio is a pretty pricey place to stay. This hotel has really small compact rooms - the door hits the end of the bed when you walk in the room - and everything is pretty basic. No iron which is pretty annoying when you have to go to business meetings in crumpled clothes.The breakfast is pretty good and the breakfast waiting staff are friendly. You can open the small window.
Close to the beach.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluekakariki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonaSamir, Gerente geral at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for the time dedicated to this evaluation.
Unfortunately, our rooms were not up to your expectations and for now all I can do is to promise to take your words in consideration for future improvements.
On the other hand, it was really good to know that you enjoyed our location, breakfast and our friendly staff.
I hope to have another opportunity to welcome you in Windsor Copa Hotel in the near future.
Sincerely,
Mona Samir.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I stayed at this property for two weeks on business in October 2013, and was pleasantly surprised.
As already mentioned by other reviewers, the decor is nothing to write home about, but overall, the room was very nice. I had no complaints whatsoever about cleanliness, the water pressure in the shower really was fantastic, and staff were always friendly and helpful.
There is a small gym with good-quality, relatively new equipment, that I was usually alone in when I worked out in the morning.
Breakfast is great - everything's fresh, and the selection of fresh fruit and fruit juices was amazing. Makes you realize just how awful those 'free' breakfasts in some American hotels are.
I had dinner a couple of times at the restaurant. It's just as over-priced as all the other restaurants in Copacabana, but service is impeccable, and the food's pretty good, so it's a pretty good alternative as far as I was concerned. Avoid the Trattoria around the corner, which is equally expensive and totally not worth it!
Wireless internet is free and not too slow - I was able to use Facetime to talk to my husband without experiencing too many freezes, although a separate attempt at Skype didn't go so well.
On the downside (and I have to mention that they put me in an accessible room, so a regular one may look a bit different), the wardrobe was one of the most badly designed I've ever seen (see picture) - I couldn't actually figure out where to put my clothes without just piling them all up in a heap. I also wasn't crazy about the hairdryer, which was one of those mounted-on-the-wall-and-keep-your-thumb-on-the-button affairs that drive me nuts.
A couple of notes on the room:
- the hotel provides bars of soap, shower caps, shampoo and conditioner, but no lotion
- for whichever reason, voltage in the bathroom is 220, but 110 in the rest of the room
- power outlets come in American and what looks like German standard, so no need to bring an adapter
Regarding the location, I felt like the hotel is at the wrong end of Copacabana. As a single, female traveler, I avoided going out at dark. As you head towards the Ipanema end of Copacabana, you do feel that you're moving up market and there are more people about. Having said that, you're on the same block as the Copacabana Palace Hotel, so maybe some of the glamor will rub off :-).

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back, not the street, are quieter. If you like having the window open, go for a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank miss_vicky_08560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonaSamir, Gerente geral at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Miss Vicky,
We would like to thank you for choosing the Windsor Copa on your recent trip to Rio and also for taking your time to help us through your comments. I'm sure that they will be of great value to other tripadvisor travelers.
We are also very glad that you have enjoyed the various aspects of our hotel, such as the varied breakfast with a large selection of fruits, juices and breads; our location and service.
If you have any suggestions to improve our services it will be a pleasure to hear from you again.
We appreciate your comments and we hope to welcome you back in Rio soon.
Sincerely,
Mona Samir.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed here on business and was pleasantly surprised with the property. Rooms are small and basic, but quiet, safe and clean. Nothing fancy. Good wireless, friendly and professional service, excellent location. Overall a good value. If you want something more, pay more and choose another property.

Room Tip: Front rooms are more bright but some minor street noise. Inside rooms face into a very close buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoulderScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonaSamir, Gerente geral at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel. It is encouraging as our guest’s satisfaction is our primary concern. We are really glad that you were pleased with our structure, location and service.
We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon!
Warm Regards from Rio!
Sincerely Grateful,
Mona Samir.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#38 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
753 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Martinique Hotel
Windsor Martinique Hotel
#33 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,133 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
#46 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Orla Copacabana Hotel
Orla Copacabana Hotel
#78 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,421 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
#35 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,423 reviews
Copacabana
Ibis Copacabana Posto 2
Ibis Copacabana Posto 2
#67 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Copa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Copa Hotel

Address: Av. Nossa Senhora De Copacabana 335, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22020-002, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#14 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#14 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $66 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Copa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Windsor Copa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Copa Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing