We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and clean”
Review of Windsor Copa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Windsor Copa Hotel
Ranked #42 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I had read mixed reviews on this hotel so was expecting the worst and was pleasantly surprised.
The service at the front desk upon check in was friendly and welcoming the room was clean and spacious ( not much of a view) but the beach is right around the corner.
The breakfast is lovely with lots of choice and all the staff are really friendly and welcoming.
The only thing I will say is the fact it doesn't have a roof top pool and you are not even able to use the pool of the other Windsor hotel right around the corner. This isn't a major issue as you are literally a minute walk from the beach of Copacabana.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 597GG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonaSamir, Gerente de relações com clientes at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you so much for choosing Windsor Copa as your hotel in Rio de Janeiro!
Thank you also for your compliments regarding our delicious breakfast, with a large variety of fresh seasonal fruits and juices.

I am glad you have enjoyed our location, just 1 block from the beach and from the restaurants and stores of the area, as much as you enjoyed the service provided by our staff.

We appreciate your comments and we hope to welcome you back in Rio soon.

Sincerely,

Mona Samir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,067)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

267 - 273 of 1,069 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed here for three nights. Good location right behind the Copacabana Palace, one block from the beach. Hotel spotlessly clean, staff very friendly and helpful. Standard room very small but perfectly adequate - let's face it, if you are in Rio and doing anything other than sleeping or showering in your room there is something seriously wrong with you! Comfy bed and good shower so everything you need. Also great breakfast - hard to find a hotel breakfast buffet that doesn't destroy scrambled eggs! A really good choice if you don't want to spend your life's savings on the over-priced beach-front options.

Room Tip: If you want to even attempt to swing a cat, go for one up from standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonaSamir, Gerente de relações com clientes at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your great comments regarding your recent stay with us, at Windsor Copa Hotel!

We are glad that you have enjoyed the various aspects of our hotel, such as our location, service and the varied breakfast with a large selection of fruits, juices, breads and scrambled eggs!!

We appreciate your comments and we hope to welcome you back in Rio soon.

Sincerely,

Mona Samir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I booked this hotel online for new years. It was the only hotel with a room available last minute. It is connected to the copacabana palace. You can't get a better location! The best place on the beach located in the center of all the action. The fireworks were amazing 20 minutes of what we would concider a grand finally. The hotel was very clean the service was amazing. Room service was outstanding. We will stay there again!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonaSamir, Gerente de relações com clientes at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you so much for choosing Windsor Copa as your hotel in Rio de Janeiro.
Thank you also for your wonderful review about your recent stay with us!

It is a great pleasure for all our staff to be reviewed with such beautiful words.
I am very honoured to hear how much you have enjoyed our breakfast, as much as you have enjoyed our services and location.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon back in the "Wonderful City" !

Sincerely,

Mona Samir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Nice clean relatively new hotel one block from Copacabana beach. Good location behind famous Copacabana Palace hotel. Close to metro. Very good breakfast with variety of fresh fruits and fresh juices. Also eggs, bacon, yogurt, breads. Rooms quite small but quiet if you get one with view to inner court. Staff nice. Expensive as all Rio hotels, overpriced.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Ene E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonaSamir, Gerente de relações com clientes at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you so much for the excellent review about your recent stay with us.

We are very happy to hear how much you have enjoyed our breakfast, with a large selection of fresh fruits and juices. It's also nice to hear that you have enjoyed our location, in the very heart of Copacabana, 1 block from the beach and from the restaurants and stores of the area.

We look forward to have you as our guest again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Mona Samir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during carnival 2013. The staff were very helpful and friendly and could speak English which was great as the language barrier throughout brasil was difficult at times. The rooms were small but the air conditioner worked and was quiet and the breakfast was great. Lets face it, we were here to explore brasil and party with the locals so we were only sleeping here and it was comfortable. If you are after a resort best look elsewhere, probably Hawaii. We were only 1 block from copacabana beach ( 2 min walk). There was plenty of local restaurants and bars nearby. The price wasn't too bad considering it was carnival, as all hotels and apartments dramatically jump in price this time of year.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonaSamir, Gerente de relações com clientes at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you so much for the excellent review about your recent stay with us.

I'm glad that you have enjoyed the various aspects of our hotel, such as our service, location, and the varied breakfast with a large selection of fruits, juices and breads.

We look forward to have you as our guest again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Mona Samir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had an excellent stay at Windsor Copa Hotel. The hotel offers great value for money. The location is superb, only one block from Copacabana beach. The bus stop is right in front of the hotel. The metro station is only a block away. Public transportation is very good in Rio, so this just adds extra convenience. The hotel is very clean and well maintained. The free buffet breakfast has the most amazing variety of exotic fruits and drinks. The customer service is truly outstanding. We stayed there for 3 nights before our cruise. Our flight was at 11 PM on the last day of the cruise. Although we did not have a room for that day, they were very kind to let us store our luggage free of charge until we leave for the airport.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F0rtuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonaSamir, Gerente de relações com clientes at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you so much for choosing Windsor Copa as your hotel in Rio de Janeiro. Thank you also for your wonderful review about your recent stay with us.

It is a great pleasure for all our staff to be reviewed with such beautiful words.
I am very honoured to hear how much you have enjoyed our breakfast with a large variety of fresh seasonal fruits and juices, as much as you have enjoyed our services and location.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon back at Windsor Copa Hotel!

Sincerely,

Mona Samir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We found shopping online for hotels to be challenging for Rio, particularly when looking for a reasonable priced option for 5 nights. We chose the Windsor Copa Hotel for the price and the location to the beach. In this way the hotel succeeded. The location is prime for Copacabana and the price is still very good compared to the alternatives. Don't expect much from the rooms- ours was so small we could barely open two suitcases. It was reminiscent of a college dorm room. Location to restaurants was OK- if your looking for better dining closer to home- stay in Ipanema.

Our complaint with this hotel was with regards to the private car service. In two instances, the hotel front desk staff and concierge attempted to sell us on a private car ( once to Sugar Loaf mountain and once to the airport) in both cases they inflated the price of what a regular taxi would be for our journey. If you pick up one of the Rio city maps at the airport when you arrive, there is a section at the top that outlines the price to get to each location by taxi.
The fact that we were already aware of the prices and they were lying to us was incredibly off putting. As a tourist, you rely on the staff working at the hotel to guide you for your benefit, not theirs. The overall savings by taking taxis instead of private cars was $100 CAD. Do your research beforehand to avoid unnecessary costs.

Our general feeling was that the hotel didn't ruin our stay, but it wasn't a highlight. If we returned, we would stay in Ipanema.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aho32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonaSamir, Gerente de relações com clientes at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear guest,

first of all I would like to thank you for taking your time to help us with your comments.
I'm glad that you have enjoyed our location. Unfortunately one of our rooms was not up to your expectations, the rooms have different sizes and depends on the category reserved.

We do have private car service and the reception is always oriented to inform the guest that the price it’s not the same practiced by yellow taxis, because it is a different kind of service. I'm really sorry that you've left with the impression that we inflate the price.
You can be sure that your words will be shown to our staff in order to avoid the same impression to another guests.
We appreciate your comments and we hope to welcome you back in Rio soon.

Sincerely,

Mona Samir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#37 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
765 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
#46 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
871 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Martinique Hotel
Windsor Martinique Hotel
#34 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Orla Copacabana Hotel
Orla Copacabana Hotel
#79 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,432 reviews
Copacabana
Ibis Copacabana Posto 2
Ibis Copacabana Posto 2
#70 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,043 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Suites by Atlantica
Copacabana Suites by Atlantica
#98 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Copa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Copa Hotel

Address: Av. Nossa Senhora De Copacabana 335, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22020-002, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#14 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#14 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $67 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Copa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splitty, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Windsor Copa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Copa Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing