We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cozy "Carioca" Place”
Review of Kaza Rio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kaza Rio
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I've been there for 4 days and have nothing to complain. The staff is amazing, the hostel is clean and I really liked it the localization. Is in the center of everything in Rio, easy to come and go. I made good friends over there. If I ever come back to Rio, I will definately stay at Kaza again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 28 of 79 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013

I stayed in Kaza Rio last summer and I am honestly saying that I wouldn't choose another B&B when in Rio. Paula and the staff are awesome! Genuinely friendly and fun, they made my trip so great!
I loved the way she decorated and managed the space. My favorite spot was the rooftop, where you can eat, have a drink and socialize while listening bossa nova. Not to mention the best sunsets ever! Also, the hammock in the lounge area is a good option to relax on a rainy evening.
Another thing that I have to mention is how clean the place was, considering I am very critical towards this matter.
The location is well conected (buses 24/7, taxi and metro station) and it felt safe, even when I was returning with the night bus, after partying in Lapa (which is very close: 5 mins by bus) or Zona Sul. Very close by, you can also find ATMs, small and cosy places to eat brazilian dishes, a good pizza place, supermarkets and even a fruit & vegetable market.
Obrigada! I will definitely be back in 2014!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anda-Anghel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Bet hostel I've stayed in in years: superclean and really nicely decorated, lovely hot showers, all the rooms have lockers you can safely put your luggage in (provided you have your own padlock) and some of them have aircon, which comes in really handy on those superhot Rio nights!! Besides the facilities, which in my opinion are spotless, the staff was really nice, just a lovely bunch of people that were really fun to hang out with and have lots of local knowledge, besides they make the best caipirinhas I had in Rio at an affordable price, ding ding ding!!! It's the perfect place to prepare for a night out in Lapa or even to just stay drinking and having fun there:) It's not in the heart of town, but it's really well connected by public transport, so I'd rather stay in Kaza with its lovely rooms and staff and go into town whenever I wanted to... Can't rate highly enough, thank you, Kaza!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouReddish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed here during the 2013 Rio Carnival in Feb. If you are looking for somewhere to stay for the Carnival this is defiantly a good place to stay as the sambadrome is just a 10-15 minute walk from the hostel. There is a supermarket and pharmacy a few steps away and the metro is just round the corner for when you want to get to the centre. The owner is very helpful - she helped us with tours, directions, taxis etc and has a lot of knowledge. We stayed in the dorms room, the size is a little small but have lockers for your big backpacks and the bathrooms are clean with nice showers.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atusatus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Kaza Rio is only a short walk to the Metro. The interior of the hotel is very clean, Rooms have a key locker large enough to fit a carry on. I had no problem with not having hot water while showering. There was no disturbing or loud noise from outside, as well, as in the hostel. The hostel comes full of charming common areas: A room with comfortable couches and an indoor hammock to watch TV. In the same room there is a door that leads you outside to a walled roof top that is very comfortable to relax and kick back under the stars. It is also used as a laundry area. The breakfast was very generous with coffee ( self-serve and all you want to drink), toast, jelly, dulce con leche, cake, and fresh fruit. No limit in quantity since it is self-served. The breakfast is served in a terrace by the bar area.
The bar area is open until 10 pm.
There are a few small restaurants around the area, but more like a neighborhood hang-out to drink a beer and locals to get together. There is a super-market with fresh fruits and a little of everything at walking distance, which brings me to my "I wish" list: a guest refrigerator. a A microwave will be great.
The owner is really involved and cares about her guests. Her attention and the staff is sterling. Every need (from directions to finding a very reasonable cab to the airport) is meet with great attention. Enjoy your stay!!
I would return to this hostel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tumbao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hostel is located far away from the city center but 3 minutes walking from the metro station "ESTACIO".

The neighborhood is degraded, with no restaurant. The music of the nearby gym will wake you up every day at 7:00 AM and the first perfume you will smell is fried garlic from the restaurant downstairs (someone could like it).

Nothing to complain about cleanliness but the private rooms are very tight and the only furniture is the bed (no wardrobe, shelves, nore a/c ).

Breackfast is very poor, there's no cheese nor ham.
The staff is very friendly and helpfull, plus they speack a lot of languages.

Room Tip: private rooms are very narrow and the only furniture is the bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarcoMarcoMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula R, Proprietário at Kaza Rio, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thanks for spend some time writing about us! We are located in Estacio, a very local area far from the city center exactly 8 minutes by taxi, 15 minutes by metro e 20 minutes by bus. In our breakfast you will find: bread, butter, doce de leite, cake, cereal, milk, iougurt, chocolate, cafe, fruits and tea. Around our area you can find only local restaurants, but with a 5 minutes ride you can find a bunch of other options. We are truly sorry that we couldn't reach your expectations and invite you to come back to check the daily improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Spotlessly clean, bathrooms very modern, excellent staff who really make the effort to talk to you. The location is good, next to the metro and bus services. The dorms aren't the biggest but I suppose that is the part of it's appeal. Only paid 10 Brazilian in a taxi to lapa. Definitely would return

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank philsidwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Hotel Gallant
#159 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
234 reviews
Saionara Hotel
#198 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
83 reviews
Hotel Magnus
#271 of 826 in Rio de Janeiro
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Terra Brasilis Hostel
Terra Brasilis Hostel
#60 of 826 in Rio de Janeiro
87 reviews
Quintal do Maracana Hostel
#117 of 826 in Rio de Janeiro
10 reviews
Hotel Villa Tijuca
#189 of 337 in Rio de Janeiro
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaza Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaza Rio

Address: Rua Haddock Lobo 23, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20260-130, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 826 Specialty Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $11 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kaza Rio is located in Estácio a lovely and local area in Rio de Janeiro. 2 min walking from the metro station and with several buses running all day and night. You can choose between our private or shared dorms with Fan or AC. We also have a lovely rootop where you can enjoy with a caipirinha. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Kaza Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaza Rio Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing