We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B /Hostel stay Alan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Global Rio de Janeiro
Reviewed June 21, 2013

If you want to know what its like to stay with a family in Rio, this is the place to stay. Very secure and clean. A great area to stay on border of Lapa and Santa Teresa Great breakfast, it will keep you going all day. Great view from balcony especially at night. The best thing I did were the tours I did with Sid. One for the city centre and one for the favellas...very cheap and such a good tour..you have to do it! Rio is a great place. Sid, Alyse and Hermes will look after you.

Room Tip: ROOM AT THE BACK IS QUIETER Make sure you get to use public transport in Rio its efficient and chea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank Alan2013_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 40 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

Having travelled for 2 months, my last 4 nights were spent in Rio and staying with Sid and Eliza in their home. I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. The guest house was on the boarder of Lapa and Santa Teresa and was a great location for going out in the evening, the owners were also incredibly helpful when explaining to me how to get anywhere else I wanted to visit helping me to navigate the buses and metro system.
As it was not peak season, I was the only person staying there, maybe off putting for some, but I prefer to party out of the hostel not in it, and I felt incredibly safe there & was able to leave my valuables in the room with no worry.
I also went on the Favela tour with Sid which I was a bit cautious of at first as it sounded a bit voyeuristic, but was actually really interesting and Sid's love and knowledge of the city is really clear to see.
The house itself is well decorated, the breakfast was good, the water warm (not hot, but it was hot in the City so I didn't mind) and to top it all off they have a gorgeous son who is as cute as a button! Highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel_A3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Staying here, with Sid and Eliza, it won't take you long before you feel part of their family. They are two of the nicest, most helpful people you could hope to stay with for your time in Rio and their son is adorable too.

The rooms may get a little hot as they are without air conditioning (They do have a fan though) but with two bathrooms you can always have an access to a shower to cool you down. There is also a guest fridge where you can store drinks too.

There is also good internet connection throughout and they offer a laundry service (R$20 for as much as will fit in the washing machine).

Although the address is Santa Teresa you will find yourself closer to Lapa which is not far from Cinelandia Metro Station or Santos Dumont Airport (A taxi from the airport should cost under R$20). There is also a great, cheap food place called Bonde Sucos at the bottom of the hill where you can get good food easily.

*During Carnival: This is the perfect spot if you want to be slap-bang in the centre of the parties that loudly run from early afternoon through to 6am. Lapa gets incredibly crowded in this time so it might not be for you if you don't like crowds or parties*

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Liver_Red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We spend there 4 days. Great location in Santa Teresa, just at the edge of Lapa and 5 minutes walk from Tube station near Centro district. Accomodated in Global we had an easy access to all variety of attractions of Santa Teresa, Lapa and Centro. At the same time using tube we could easly get to Ipanema, Copacabana or other locations in Rio. Elisa and Sid are very helpful explaining every aspect of our plans of visiting Rio. Sid offers a nice trip to favela showing the other, better and developing side of places like that. Rooms and toilets in Global are clean, breakfasts are tasty. Also worth mentioning that that you can rely on them, you get what was settled.
By the way Rio is beautifull, gives so many opportunities of admiring the great architecture, spectaluar landscape and vivid culture...
Best regards
Pawel, Katarzyna, Anna and Karolina

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pawel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

Sid, the owner/host and general manager made our stay brilliant. He could not do enough to make our stay great. The hostel is awesome because of his passion and helpfulness to make our stay memorable. Thanks

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sukie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AlexDomingues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2015, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Maria Fernanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
55 Rio Hotel
#117 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
82 reviews
Hotel Vina Del Mar
#174 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
222 reviews
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#16 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#5 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
3,335 reviews
Casa Joaquim Silva
#163 of 826 in Rio de Janeiro
41 reviews
Santa Teresa
Mambembe Hostel
Mambembe Hostel
#44 of 826 in Rio de Janeiro
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Global Rio de Janeiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Global Rio de Janeiro

Address: Ladeira Santa Teresa 45, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-140, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 826 Specialty Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $28 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Global Rio de Janeiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Global Rio De Janeiro Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing