We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun Night Out”
Review of Plataforma

Plataforma
Book In Advance
More Info
$122.50*
and up
Rio de Janeiro Super Saver: Corcovado and Sugar Loaf Mountain plus Ginga...
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Plataforma Samba Show represents the rhythmic and colorful dances of Brazilian folklore, often featuring the prior year's Carnival winning Samba school dancers. There is the option to have dinner before the show, but the real attraction is the Samba dance performances.
Cambridge, On
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fun Night Out”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My fiancé and I visited this show last week. I am not sure where all the negative reviews are coming from. We went in with now expectations and had a great time. The dancing was fun and this is the first time we were at a show where they actually interracted with the audience. So long as visitors aren't expecting a Cirque de Soleil or Moulin Rouge type of performance and just let themselves enjoy the show, they will not be disappointed. We are very glad we went as we will not be there for the Carnaval.

The only thing we didn't like was how the girl selling the photo plates was walking around during the show and blocking our view.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank cambridgereviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    92
    102
    38
    35
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“This show is an insult to the Brasilian culture”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

1st time to Brasil, I was REALLY looking forward to seeing an amazing authentic Samba show. Unfortunately, the show was a huge disappointment that left us confused. Seriously, how does Rio not have a sexy, get off your chair, high energy Samba show?!?!
-Very CHEESY! Choreography was poor and boring. Whoever put that show together should be demoted. Originally from Hawaii, I worked at a luau and I NEVER got tired of the dancers stage presence because they brought the stage to life.
- Girls' seemed less than excited with their below level dance skills and energy
- Only part we found exciting was the Capoeira
-Way over priced (drinks were tiny and expensive too!)

Would have loved to spend that money on Madonna tickets (she had a concert that night) but oh well. Spoke with the locals, if you want to see and learn Samba, go to Lapa schools or Lapa clubs. A little dangerous there so be careful.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank piglet99Scottsale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Teensy bit trashy”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Umm...it's kinda trashy and for tourists - if that's your bag then go, otherwise avoid...
The live samba band and dancers are very slick.
If you're afraid to leave Zona Sul and want to see some 'genuine' samba then this is your place.

Helpful?
2 Thank RioLondonLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“WORST SHOW EVER!!! AVOID this place and this show!”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is the worst and the most expensive folklore show i've been to. EXTREMELY expensive (about US75 per person) and TERRIBLE dresses, audio, no narration, POOR scenery and customs and the place is horrible. The "show" last only 45 min and then they put on stage a guy whose job is to identify differents nationalities in the public and make them sign something from their places of origin. DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY AND TIME!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank ELIAS M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skien, Norway
Level Contributor
146 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“I love the costumes!”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

It was fun...not so so fun but fun anyway! lol! Plataforma ticket was inclusive of dinner. BRL 175 or USD 85 per person. The dinner was amazing! It was worth the price even without the show. Fantastic meat! Really delicious! The costumes of the performers were very colorful, very nice indeed. I truly appreciate the talent of the performers. They are great!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank joclaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plataforma also viewed

 

Been to Plataforma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing