We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun Market” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Feira Hippie de Ipanema

Feira Hippie de Ipanema
Book In Advance
More Info
$97.00*
and up
Rio Half-Day Tour: São Bento Monastery, Santa Teresa District and Hippie Market...
Ranked #81 of 708 things to do in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A hippie hangout in the 1960s, this Sunday market in Ipanema is an entertaining place to browse for arts and crafts, as well as to people watch (at Praca General Osario, 8am-6pm, Sundays).
Dyer, in
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Fun Market”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

What a great variety of stuff from cheap and cheesy to artsy crafty. If you like these types of markets then plan on spending half a day browsing.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkpapuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    254
    113
    13
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun Souveneir Shopping”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Super cute. Lots of fun stuff- close to the beach! Corn/other food vendors in the market but also lots of restaurants near by.

Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
197 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Awesome street fair with lots of cute things”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

I love these types of street fairs and this one did not disappoint at all! There were lots of different things we wanted to buy - fashionable leather purses, unique artwork, and other crafts. We spent a lot longer here than originally planned because of all the cool finds! There were a fair number of food vendors around too although we did not get a chance to sample them. This is located just a couple of blocks from Ipanema Beach so it was just a great Sunday afternoon to spend here.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jing0423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
485 reviews
309 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“a Sunday must”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

A great market for a slow stroll around. There is one of the largest concentration of real craft stalls were the articles have actually been made by the person selling them. Show an interest and they will gladly tell you about them. Lots of paintings, jewelry, pottery and a wide range of other bits that I have not seen in other markets. You can haggle a bit, but don't expect much movement in price. The only food stalls at the market are selling regional food, most seamed to be sugar cooked in a variety of ways. We got there early and although there were some stalls open many were still setting up, so I would suggest that after 10am would be the best time. I couple of hours walking round, then head to a local restaurant.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul_n_Cris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fun way to end our stay in Rio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

The Hippie Fair was a terrific lazy Sunday activity. We greatly enjoyed strolling around looking at the wares. True, there is some standard tourist stuff (tchotchkes, t-shirts, etc), but a good portion of the wares seem to be handmade crafts (leather, wood, jewelry) and art. We bought several inexpensive works by some of the talented artists there. There is naive art, abstract art, souvenir art (scenes of Rio, etc.), sculpture, wood carving - something for a variety of tastes and very affordable. Plus, the people watching it great fun, and you're just a few blocks from the beach when you are ready for something else!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank midmodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Feira Hippie de Ipanema also viewed

 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Feira Hippie de Ipanema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing