We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average market with good food”

Feira Hippie de Ipanema
Book In Advance
More Info
$97.00*
and up
Rio Half-Day Tour: São Bento Monastery, Santa Teresa District and Hippie Market...
Ranked #80 of 710 things to do in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A hippie hangout in the 1960s, this Sunday market in Ipanema is an entertaining place to browse for arts and crafts, as well as to people watch (at Praca General Osario, 8am-6pm, Sundays).
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Average market with good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Review would only be of an average rating if it wasn't for the good food that the ladies sell on the edge of the market. The hippie fair itself is a mixture of tourist souvenirs plus standard jewellery and crafts that you can find in other parts of the world. If you are in the area on a Sunday then have a wander but I wouldn't go out of my way to make it here.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Louise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    258
    113
    13
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

A big fair with a lot of diversity... clothes, art, souvenirs and typical food. The merchants are nice and you can pay with credit card.

Helpful?
1 Thank Avi_Samocha
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A great craft fair!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

The Hippie Fair is a really fun Sunday event at the Praca General Osorio in Ipanema. It is busy and packed with vendors/artists selling all kinds of crafts as well as the usual tourist items. Almost anything you could think of to buy as a remembrance of Brazil is here. Haggling on the price is acceptable - but done with a sense of humor is always appreciated the most in Brazil. We walked away with bags of treasures and had a great time!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Art Lovers Don't Miss! Only On Sundays”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I love art and collecting from our many trips. This market provides so many different types of art that is attainable and rollable into luggage. All art is native to brazil and surely is heart felt and sold by the artist. We chose not to barter too much because we loved what we got. Other crafts available as well, but most are available at other markets as well.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
288 reviews
120 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“The hippies have left”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

A busy little Sunday market which does have some interesting crafts in amongst the usual tourist fare of TShirts, beach wraps etc. If you look and you will find something different The beach is only a 5 minute walk

Helpful?
Thank Kymosavvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Feira Hippie de Ipanema also viewed

 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Feira Hippie de Ipanema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing