We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place for Brazilian Made Crafts”

Feira Hippie de Ipanema
Book In Advance
More Info
$97.00*
and up
Rio Half-Day Tour: São Bento Monastery, Santa Teresa District and Hippie Market...
More Info
$55.00*
and up
Rio de Janeiro Hippie Fair
Ranked #81 of 729 things to do in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A hippie hangout in the 1960s, this Sunday market in Ipanema is an entertaining place to browse for arts and crafts, as well as to people watch (at Praca General Osario, 8am-6pm, Sundays).
Pasadena, CA
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fun place for Brazilian Made Crafts”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I got the treat to walk around the faire after reading about it and being told by friends I must go. We walked around a small park and saw several small vendors selling everything from wood beads to beautiful leather tooled Paintings. The prices were fair but there is no haggling for a better price. What they say is the price is the price. The prices are fair and the leather goods are very nice. Belts, sandals and leather jewelry is in abundance. Made for a nice Sunday afternoon. Lots of nice places to eat around here too. We at Banana Jacks which had a decent but decadent Cheddar Cheese Burger. I reccomend the faire and keep your eyes out for the "Carmen Meranda" lady...she's a hoot! Also the bakery stall in the far corner is YUM!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PineappleShagette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    274
    116
    13
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Louis
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Interesting Experience”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We were told to visit the Hippie Fair in Ipanema because it was one of the few things that is open on Sunday. While most of the booths contained the usual tourist type items, we did see a few interesting things. It was worth a visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JimStLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The hippie craft market was an interesting place to visit. I was a tourist so many of the items were impractical to buy eg the paintings wouldn't pack well in a suit case and many of the crafts were made of wood or plant matter so couldn't be brought in to Australia. The items I could bring back eg leather goods were of fairly poor quality. So the Hippie Market wasn't great for purchases, but an interesting place for browsing.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Judi_G123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“My kinda shopping!”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My second visit to the Feira de Hippie, just a few blocks from the Copacabana Beach. Prices were good. Learn to say "discount" and you can probably save yourself an instant 10 per cent. Most merchants willing to bargain a bit, but their stuff is good quality so don't be pushy. I bought buriti handbags, silver earrings, beaded choker, and carved wood art. Save room for some of the Feira food, especially the desserts!

Helpful?
1 Thank Janice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Brunswick, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ipanema Hippie Market”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Must visit for shoppers. While the deals are not that great, the variety is amazing. Very little to no bargaining but the quality of products is very good. Be sure to allow ample time to enjoy the shopping experience.

Helpful?
Thank JShah09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Feira Hippie de Ipanema also viewed

 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Feira Hippie de Ipanema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing