We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOLD and red monastery... architectural gem”

Sao Bento Monastery
Book In Advance
More Info
$97.00*
and up
Rio Half-Day Tour: São Bento Monastery, Santa Teresa District and Hippie Market...
More Info
$124.89*
and up
Full Day Complete Tour of Rio de Janeiro
More Info
$12.00*
and up
João Pessoa Walking Tour
Ranked #19 of 729 things to do in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Gregorian chants are performed on Sundays at this Benedictine complex, which was completed in 1641 and contains a spectacular church altar.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
428 reviews
341 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“GOLD and red monastery... architectural gem”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Centro is full of architectural gems and we spent an entire day walking from one beautiful church to another...we took the metro orange line from its starting point Gen Osario some 100m from our hotel in copacabana and got down at station Carioca... fare just R$ 3 for the 15km...after visiting the magnificent Candelaria church by getting out through the exit with the same name, it was an easy walk to Sao Bento... the entry was through the garage and once we were on the 1st floor, the monastery was an awesome sight inside... all gold and red .. and serene... we were attired in trousers, shirts with sleeves the whole day as the website mentions dress code... we however did see some people clad skimpily

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank IndFamTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,586
    520
    106
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Transcendental Experience!!”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Friends, this Monastery in the centre of Rio is without any question AN OASIS!!!! It is in Praca Maua area, and is situated on top of a hill, giving an incredible view of the Guanabara Bay/Harbor area.
Whether you really believe in God or not, it makes no difference whatsoever, because the minutes you will spend inside this monastery will transcend labels, ideas, beliefs, and prejudices.
I recommend you go to watch the 15min Gregorian Chant prayer sung by the monks, at 5:45pm everyday. Then look at the art, look at the different chapels, look at the golden details... Let the beauty of the place and the songs penetrate your soul and mind!!! You won`t regret!!! Cheers

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank sergio s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
988 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Astonishing”
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

A visit to the church at the São Bento Monastery is an experience. The beauty of the decoration and the solemn atmosphere embrace the visitor. I would recommend attending the 10:00 AM service on Sundays for the Gregorian chant.

Helpful?
Thank MauricioBabilonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Impressive Monument of Carioca History, Worth a Short Stop”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Quiet Idyllic settting and absolutely stunning. Not much tourist traffic, makes this one of the "lesser known" Architectural/Religious History attraction in Rio. Our tour guide "Neyla" proposed a quick stop while we were in the neighborhood, and after an initial objection, we agreed to go.... Boy was she correct in assuming we'd be well impressed!!.... Stunning Imperial wealth and good maintenance is reflected all around in the golden carved surroundings and Idyllic lighting, comparable to any Great European Monument (Esp. from the Imperial Portuguese Era). Well worth a short stop. My only beef was there were no vendors of any kind outside nor many benches to take in the surroundings. Otherwise, very impressive!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SayafK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Gorgeous church”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This church dates from the 1700s and it is part of a monastery. The church is very well preserved, decorated in gold and worth the trip to the downtown area. Worth going to a service.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank jarlbertil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sao Bento Monastery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing