We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Incredibly awful”
Review of Crab Hostel

Crab Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rio de Janeiro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crab Hostel
Reviewed September 30, 2009

Guys, it's expensive, the rooms are terrible, there is not free wifi, the owner, oh my god, I just cannot believe the things that she said. But the worst part is that there I had security issues, even there are lockers with LOCKs (provideded by the hostel) someone opened it with a second key and stole us some money.
If you don't have any other hostel to choose from, pls pay a little more and go to a clean and decent hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 59 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2009

Like some of my fellow reviewers, me and my friend forgot to check the reviews for this place. Location is fabulous but good things end there.
Our room was a prison cell, the place is dark, dingy and absolutely no atmosphere. But the worst part is the OWNER!! OH MY GOD, that woman is worse than a high school yard inspector who moonlights as a prison guard!! She's just on the look to nag passengers about something and is very rude to the staff.
Computers run terribly slow and you're not allowed to do ANYTHING!!
It really is a pitty that a hostel in such a great location is run by this misanthrope who seems to hate travelers.
If you're looking for a great place to stay try the hostel village located at Barão da Torre and Farme de Amoedo. There are 7 hostals there, so you can pick and choose!

Safe and happy travels!!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bchiletraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2009

This hostel has a great location, but her owner is so annoying that makes of the place a very bad hostel to stay; she is only interesting about money. Really bad breakfast, full of banners about you can't do, without a place to relax. Don't stay in this hostel

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GuilleZaRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2007

DONT stay here!!! Unfortunately we didnt check this site before coming but its horrible. Like has been said before, there s absolutely no flexibility. Only rules like you have to do this and have to do that. The rooms are tiny and you can hear veryone. Also not a luggage service, you have to pay to keep your bags in a dorm room. Overpriced and not worth it. Although nice neigbourhood

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Tessa20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2007

Just returned from 6 weeks in South America and without doubt this was the absolute worst hostel we stayed. It was totally over priced, the room was drab and you barely had enough room to put your ruck sack down, there was no atmosphere in the place, although there was a bar there it wasn't opened as there was nobody stayed around. It was the only hostel that you had to pay for the internet. To top it all off we asked if we could leave our bags in a room for a few hours after we checked out and they wanted to charge us $20, total joke. I wouldn't advise anybody to stay there.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank muinteoirbunscoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2007

I have always used trip advisor to review places to stay & this time unfortunately i didnt for crab hostel in ipanema! I cannot emphasise enough how terrible this place is..... We arrived at 12 midnight and were asked for money upfront, we wanted to pay for the first night only & the owner went crazy with us she started flyng paper around, started to increase the price by the minute shouted at us and made us feel very frightened. We were very tired after a 6 hour bus journey from Sao Paulo & after about 10 minutes of her shouting at us she let us go to our room. I would like to point out that we told her at least 20 times that we didnt speak portugese.... i think she just enjoyed the sound of her own crazy voice.

When we thought it couldnt get any worse we were shown to our private prison cell, it is on the top floor, bunk beds that you would kill yourself trying to get on and the room divided with plastic, something you would see in an office when desks are partitioned, we could hear the next room like they were in our room, we had 2 lockers & no windows, the plastic sheets were something you would use for an animal!!!! Thank god we didnt have enough money to pay for the 4 nights as we left pronto the next morning & checked into the Hotel Vermont on Ipanema around the corner.... fantastic hotel even though more expensive. Our room in Crab hostel (Crap Hostel as i now like to call it) was 110 reals..... way over priced.

The reason i am posting this is because of the attitude of the owner... she is crazy!!! we have been 2 months travelling all around south america & i have nothing but praise & admiration for the service we have recieved & how well we have been looked after.... its such a shame we experienced this. We were truly very very frightened of her! SO please dont stay there...... you will regret it & people like this lady should not be in business!!!

Stayed: August 2007
Thank TravelPink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2007

Although this hostel is in an absolutely brilliant location with clean, very (VERY) secure facilities the service and attitude of the owner causes me to advise you NOT TO STAY HERE!!

The staff and owner have absolutely no flexibility, no desire to make your stay easier or more enjoyable and have a reputation among tour operators within Rio as being extremely difficult to work with.

I was woken at 8am on my first morning in the hostel and dragged down to reception to be accused of not paying. When they realised it was their mistake, there was barely an apology.

There is no fridge and the suggestion of the owner is that hostel guests chip in together and buy one (I am serious). You MAY NOT under ANY CIRCUMSTANCE make or recieve a phonecall from the hostel. We were told to be silent from 10pm onwards in the lounge room despite that there was a group of us just talking - this DURING CARNAVAL where the parties don´t start until midnight. You may be required to pay to retrieve lost personal items. You may only have one bread roll for breakfast. I could go on.

As I said, the facilities are great, the location brilliant (except that it is beyond the reach of the metro line) but the vibe really made my stay less than I had hoped for.

Happy travels!

Stayed: February 2007
2  Thank 18bubbles81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Bonita Ipanema Pousada & Hostel
Bonita Ipanema Pousada & Hostel
#27 of 835 in Rio de Janeiro
684 reviews
Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
#4 of 835 in Rio de Janeiro
516 reviews
Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Mar Ipanema Hotel
#75 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
CabanaCopa Hostel
CabanaCopa Hostel
#81 of 835 in Rio de Janeiro
493 reviews
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#3 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
3,393 reviews
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#17 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crab Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crab Hostel

Address: Rua Prudente de Moraes 903 | Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 23065-066, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #323 of 835 Specialty Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Crab Hostel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing