We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible!”
Review of Crab Hostel

Crab Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rio de Janeiro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crab Hostel
Rosario, Argentina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible!”
Reviewed May 4, 2011

It's the worst hostel I've ever been at.
It has lots of floors and no elevator. The stairs are endless, narrow and really dangerous. The rooms are tiny. The beds are incredibly uncomfortable. And if you go there during the summer, you won't be able to sleep because it's like a sauna in there.
I stayed only one night and it was more than enough. I couldn't rest at all!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaPiluRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    19
    6
    5
    23
See reviews for
4
13
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

It is a real bad hostel. the dorms are very tiny, with thin (almost paper-thin) walls. So you hear all noise of the other rooms. It is very hot, so you need a fan, and the fans make noise like an airplane, so impossible to sleep. It is really horrible!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ronald654321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rio de Janeiro hotels

UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2010

I don't normally bother to write reviews but feel compelled to do so on this occasion so as to try & save some poor people from experieencing what i had to go through & continue to go through. This hostel gave me bedbugs. The owner refused to acknowledge this , reluctantly changed my bed (within the same room so i continued to get bitten), & outright refused any refund. In fact she was accusatory, rude & extremely unhelpful. Her behaviour was abhorrent especially as I was a guest in her hostel & she refused to offer any help at all, let alone an apology. This included the very smallest of requests in this type of situation - refusing to tell me the word in portuguese for bedbug so i could get advice from a pharmacy! I have possibly now travelled with it back to the UK despite trying to be extremely careful. From what I have read it is hell to get rid of . Don't stay here no matter what. The only positive is the location.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pstar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2009

Guys, it's expensive, the rooms are terrible, there is not free wifi, the owner, oh my god, I just cannot believe the things that she said. But the worst part is that there I had security issues, even there are lockers with LOCKs (provideded by the hostel) someone opened it with a second key and stole us some money.
If you don't have any other hostel to choose from, pls pay a little more and go to a clean and decent hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2009

Like some of my fellow reviewers, me and my friend forgot to check the reviews for this place. Location is fabulous but good things end there.
Our room was a prison cell, the place is dark, dingy and absolutely no atmosphere. But the worst part is the OWNER!! OH MY GOD, that woman is worse than a high school yard inspector who moonlights as a prison guard!! She's just on the look to nag passengers about something and is very rude to the staff.
Computers run terribly slow and you're not allowed to do ANYTHING!!
It really is a pitty that a hostel in such a great location is run by this misanthrope who seems to hate travelers.
If you're looking for a great place to stay try the hostel village located at Barão da Torre and Farme de Amoedo. There are 7 hostals there, so you can pick and choose!

Safe and happy travels!!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bchiletraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Córdoba
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2009

This hostel has a great location, but her owner is so annoying that makes of the place a very bad hostel to stay; she is only interesting about money. Really bad breakfast, full of banners about you can't do, without a place to relax. Don't stay in this hostel

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuilleZaRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rotterdam
1 review
Reviewed September 22, 2007

DONT stay here!!! Unfortunately we didnt check this site before coming but its horrible. Like has been said before, there s absolutely no flexibility. Only rules like you have to do this and have to do that. The rooms are tiny and you can hear veryone. Also not a luggage service, you have to pay to keep your bags in a dorm room. Overpriced and not worth it. Although nice neigbourhood

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tessa20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Bonita Ipanema Pousada & Hostel
Bonita Ipanema Pousada & Hostel
#26 of 783 in Rio de Janeiro
650 reviews
Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
#4 of 783 in Rio de Janeiro
399 reviews
Copacabana
CabanaCopa Hostel
CabanaCopa Hostel
#92 of 783 in Rio de Janeiro
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Copacabana Sol Hotel
Copacabana Sol Hotel
#140 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
481 reviews
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#14 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,618 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Brisa Barra Hotel
Brisa Barra Hotel
#23 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crab Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crab Hostel

Property: Crab Hostel
Address: Rua Prudente de Moraes 903 | Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 23065-066, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #302 of 783 Specialty Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Crab Hostel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing