We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Room service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mercure Leblon
Ranked #251 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    118
    144
    79
    55
See reviews for
173
75
31
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I have been staying at this hotel for over a month now. What can I say?
Good points :
- fantastic location, close to the beach, shopping mall, restaurants, bus stop etc
- decent coffee in the lobby
-nice view from my balcony
- nice wooden floors in the apartment
-good quality furniture in the living room. Extra sofas for guests were handy for visitors
Good water pressure in the shower

------------
Bad points:
- slow, noisy and overcrowded elevators
-Very old and noisy A/C
-leaking taps in the kitchen and bathroom
- poor equippment in the kitchen(literally 2 forks, 2 spoons, 1 knife. The plates are chipped and half broken)
-bed is in a sorry state. Linen ditto.
- staff members speak very little English
-interior is the lobby is old, the lobby is quiet small, one has to manouvre to get in or out of hotel while the guests are checking in / out
- the rooms are sort of cleaned every day( that means the rubbish is taken out and the floor is swept but not much else). The dust is thick enough to write my name on the table and the toothpaste remains are on the mirror for 3 weeks now. You get the picture...
Overall it's ok but the price is not reflecting the service you get at this hotel and standard is poor. Having said that do not expect european standard in Brazil.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, CT, USA
Level Contributor
136 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

I must admit I was a bit nervous of the room/apartment that awaited us since some of the reviews were not really positive but I had booked it since we needed the extra room as there were five in our family. (Children aged 16,15 and 11.) Two rooms in a hotel gets expensive.
When the door opened I was pleasantly surprised. Two bedrroms, two bathrooms, a sitting/dining area and small kitchen. OK...the kitchen was not as modern as the nicely furnished apartment but the basics were there even if not a full set of utensils and crockery. There was a sofa bed but no extra linen. (I guess I could have asked but not a big deal. Extra duvets were present.)
The disappointing thing was that the safe did not work properly and it was not secured to the wall or closet. I just left a 'do not disturb' sign on the door the whole stay and no one (at least I don't think so) came in. I was happy to quickly make our own beds in the morning and we didn't need extra supplies since it was only a 3 night stay.
Leblon is a nice area. A couple of blocks from the beach and plenty of resturants nearby. We felt safe there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recife, PE
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Spacious apartment, bathroom in need of repairs and the AC needs to be updated to 2012, but still... it chills just fine. It's not a "comfort-first" kind of hotel, you wouldn't want to just lie in bed for a few hours (not just because the beds aren't that great, but this hotel is not up to most, if not all, Mercure standards), but its location is great! In walking distance to great restaurants, you really get to get around in a nice part of Rio.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brunaserur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Starting with the positives: great location, great shower, good coffee in the lobby and a great top floor view. But this hotel is not up to Mercure standards. My A-club silver status was not acknowledged in any sense (my colleagues don't have status but all had a larger room). Checking in and checking out is a challenge, confusion with the (unnecessary) paper forms, giving wrong keys, most of the staff don't speak sufficient English. But the attitude matters more: when two of the three elevators were broken one morning, there was no attempt to at least estimate when a repairman would come. In conclusion: too laidback, even for cariocas.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rio de Janeiro hotels

turin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

despite the good location and the room size the overall service is not so good as expected for a Mercure Hotel and the prices.
There are no service-lifts so all the employees are in the same lift with the guest ... so it's normal to be in the same lift of the trash and used towels ,,,
the breakfast quality is poor even with a fantastic view and the furniture in the room old and not maintained

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corrado_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Leblon
Promenade Palladium
Promenade Palladium
#105 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
361 reviews
Leblon
Leblon Inn Flat
Leblon Inn Flat
#194 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
40 reviews
Leblon
Ritz Plaza Hotel Leblon
Ritz Plaza Hotel Leblon
#169 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leblon
Mc Flats The Claridge
Mc Flats The Claridge
#231 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
35 reviews
Leblon
Hotel Marina Palace Rio Leblon
Hotel Marina Palace Rio Leblon
#96 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,243 reviews
Leblon
Protel Rio Flat Service
Protel Rio Flat Service
#199 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mercure Leblon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mercure Leblon

Property: Hotel Mercure Leblon
Address: Rua Joao Lira 95 | Leblon, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22430-210, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Leblon , Lagoa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mercure Leblon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Leblon hotel is located in one of Rio's most charming districts, close to Antero de Quental square and Ataulfo de Paiva and Bartolemeu Mitre avenues. It is surrounded by various bars, restaurants and shops, in addition to the Rio Design and Leblon shopping centers.*We would like to inform guests that the hotel will be undergoing renovation work on apartments, communal areas, elevators and pipework until March 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Mercure Leblon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Apartments Rio De Janeiro Leblon Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Mercure Rio De Janeiro
Hotel Mercure Leblon Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing