We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royalty Copacabana Hotel
Ranked #272 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Quite good hotel”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I was in this hotel with my husband in July 2013. The location is quite good,about 10 min. to Av.Atlantica. The view from rooftop is very nice,especially in the night. The pool is small but people don't use it in the evening,it's quiet place. We had a little problem with the room. We changed it 3 times,because we couldn't close the windows. These rooms were on the second floor,near the fence and it was dangerous.Finally we had good room on the 11th floor with ocean view. You have to check the windows. Near this hotel are a lot of shops,small restaurants.You can eat something in the evening,but more pleasant and interesting is Av.Atlantica near Copacabana beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zurusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    116
    174
    119
    234
See reviews for
118
185
43
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Braga, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Apart from the poor quality of the room had the thankless surprise they have improperly charged to my credit card one additional night!
Despite protests by phone and email I could not get my money back.

Room Tip: Don't book this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ECFerreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rio de Janeiro hotels

Cesena, Italy
Level Contributor
1,181 reviews
199 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,067 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

the hotel is very well located cos is really close to the famous beach of copacabana. rooms are quite old and nothing special. old stuff, old furnitures but i ddin't regret the choice. recomended for the location

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I am a constant traveller and I have been this past week to the Hotel Royalty.

The hotel has an excellent location near the Copacabana Beach but to me that was about it!

When greeted at the reception I asked as I was about 2 hours ealry if there was any early check in , the receptionist very , very roughly said that there was and it would cost a full daily charge, to what I asked why she careless replyed it was the hotel policy.
I thought maybe just a bad day for her...when I finnaly checked in 2 hours later, I was sent to a room , first the keys did not work, I had a coleague sent to another room who later said his one did not work either, back to the reception...got the keys fixed, went to look for a roommanual where I could check my e-mail, but there none, looked for the ai remote control, it was operated manually , meaning you had to get up before you slept to turn the air on or off manually, most of the tv channels were blocked ( really!),

the breakfast was ok, simple but ok, the reception of the hotel is great, it really gives you a good impression, but for those who travel they know this is not what the rooms sometimes are like and here is a tipical example of nice and new reception, old and poor rooms, this hotel really needs an updating! there are better option in copacabana for the same prince.

Room Tip: stay away if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabriel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington D.C.
Level Contributor
104 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We have used this hotel for different groups and have had great experiences in past years but the most recent stay proved that prices have escalated faster than their service and maintenance has not been kept up over the years. The customer service has declined and the overall atmosphere is no longer what it used to be.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank InsoucianceAbroad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We (Me, Hubby, and daughter)managed to stay here at one of the busiest times in Rio (3 days before New Years) in December and we were quite pleased. The staff were friendly enough and had a good knowledge of English and we also noticed the security was very good, there was always a doorman who would only let people staying at the hotel on the elevator to the floors.
The room was nice and clean, working safe, fridge, and an AC that worked very well which was great because Rio is very hot in the summer.
The rooftop offers a nice view of the mountains (you can even see the Christ on the mountain, very small though) and from the other side u can see Copacabana.
Sure the hotel is a little on the old side, dont expect luxury, but hey we cant complain because the location is great, 3 blocks from Copacabana Beach!
The buffet breakfast was good too with lots of variety and fresh fruit.
Honestly I dont know why so many people compain about this hotel, but we had a good experience here.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that faces north, its quieter :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I had several disapointments: air conditioner not working at summer, lack of respect of the service desk, the breakfeast is too weak, even seeing ants around the milk that is served.

I definetely do not recomend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get away of this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NicoRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Royalty Rio Hotel
Royalty Rio Hotel
#136 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
127 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Angrense
Hotel Angrense
#214 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
160 reviews
Copacabana
Premier Copacabana Hotel
Premier Copacabana Hotel
#111 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Majestic Rio Palace Hotel
Majestic Rio Palace Hotel
#126 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
546 reviews
Copacabana
Atlantico Copacabana Hotel
Atlantico Copacabana Hotel
#230 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,130 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Astoria Copacabana
Hotel Astoria Copacabana
#108 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royalty Copacabana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royalty Copacabana Hotel

Property: Royalty Copacabana Hotel
Address: Rua Toneleiros, 154 - Copacaba, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22030-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #272 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royalty Copacabana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Royalty Copacabana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royalty Copacabana
Royalty Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing