We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If u r in a low budget , its OK but can spend a few more on an ocean view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royalty Copacabana Hotel
Ranked #276 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Reviewed April 16, 2012

The lobby looked as if the hotel earned its rating as a 4 star hotel bu inside the rooms esp. The bathroom, it looks as a 2,5 star hotel... Just 3 blocks to the beach, and every organization in the city picks u up from the hotel, therefore not as bad as it looks

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Fidan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (719)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

59 - 65 of 719 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2012

We were invited to spend a few days in Rio and put up at the Royalty Copacabana Hotel. The Hotel is 3 blocks from the Copacabana beach and the lobby is ok (which fooled our hosts). The people who checked us were a bit on the rude side but I can live with that. When we went up, the bell boy "helped" us set up the safe. They have it organized in a strange way which requires a stuff person to do it for you. As a result, they see what your code is. We were already a bit skeptical but when we looked around the room we were horrified. In addition to being old and run down (that would have been ok), it was filthy! We asked to be moved. They obliged and put us in another room. Unfortunately, it turned out to be as filthy as the first one. We asked that the room be cleaned properly and left for lunch. They gave us great insurances but when we got back the room was as dirty as when we had left. We did not want to offend our host so we decided to spend the night. The beds were old and the sheets had several holes but they were usable. I wouldn't have minded old. The bathroom and floors, instead, were absolutely discusting.The bidet, toilette and sink all had stuff stuck to it, under the soap dish we found a used shavng blade, the mirror was full of finger prints. Two blocks away there is a supermarket so we bought disinfectant, paper, gloves, and cleaned toilette and sink to make them usable. The floor were so dirty we showered wearing flipflops. Absolutely filthy. They also posted inaccurate charges on our credit card after we left (and that we are now disputing) but, again, I can put up with a lot but not with such a filthy room. Overall, the place is a dump.

Room Tip: Rio is a beautiful city. Lots to do and see. However, it is also very noisy, caotic and VERY expensi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hhahhowaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Overall is old, my bed had burned sheets with big wholes. Tv was manual, the room's size was ok... Breakfast was acceptable. But wouldn't want to stay there if i had plans of a romantic/family getaway in rio.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank evroth13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We had been 3 nights in the hotel (23-26 Feb 2012).
The room is very small.
The worst is the management relation to the hotel guests.
Keep the bags in the hotel for two hours ask 3 $US / Bag.
200$US for 2 hours check out.
Be aware

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dada317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

We finished a tour and thought we would be able to stay a few extra nights, but they were booked out. Due to the time of the year most places were full and we felt "fortunate" to be told of this hotel's availability. The outside and lobby look impressive, they even have a pianist playing in the lobby at night. This is where all the money has gone. We got up to our room turned on the air conditioner and could not hear each other for the noise. When I turned down my bed, it looked like the sheets had been there from a previous stay. The air conditioner was that bad on day 2 we complained and after a repairman checked it out, they moved us to another room and the noise was only slightly reduced. The breakfast is ordinary and nothing changes. I felt we were getting leftovers from previous days, fresh is not a word heard of in this hotel. Desk staff were more interested in their paperwork than attending to guests standing at the counter. I have learned my lesson and will check trip advisor before booking anything. Only go here if the alternative is sleeping on the street. It's only saving grace is the location, close enough to beach and not far from subway station.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank maisyBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

This is a shabby hotel in Copacabana , the location being the only positive aspect. The furniture is outdated, the bathroom looks like it hasn't been renovated since the hotel was built. I woke up in the morning to see that there was water pourring from the ceiling in the bathroom all over my personal stuff that I had left on the sink. I informed the person at the frontdesk but he did not seem too bothered or surprised about this. They charged 150 Euro/night so needless to say that I only stayed there for one night.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Stayed here for five night in December. Upon first arrival I thought it was going to be horrendous but to be honest you do get used to it. The location is not too bad, about three blocks from Copacabana beach. The staff are very friendly and helpful but speak little English. I had a problem with the room safe (no batteries) which took some serious translation to get across. The room itself is average at best - the TV is held on by a chain and the AC is so loud you cannot sleep with it switched on. The walls are paper thin and you can hear everything that goes on above, below and next to! All told its not an especially bad hotel but it is no more than three stars at best.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 777pj777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Ibiza Copacabana Hotel
Ibiza Copacabana Hotel
#175 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
266 reviews
Copacabana
Apa Hotel
Apa Hotel
#149 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
468 reviews
Copacabana
Ibis Budget Copacabana
Ibis Budget Copacabana
#66 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Atlantico Copacabana Hotel
Atlantico Copacabana Hotel
#252 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,191 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Bandeirantes
Hotel Bandeirantes
#120 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,020 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Sol Hotel
Copacabana Sol Hotel
#141 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royalty Copacabana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royalty Copacabana Hotel

Address: Rua Toneleiros, 154 - Copacaba, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22030-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #276 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $56 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royalty Copacabana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royalty Copacabana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royalty Copacabana
Royalty Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing