We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back to Tasteland”

Churrascaria Mocellin
Ranked #32 of 13,629 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Steakhouse, Brazilian, Barbecue, Sushi, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
120 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Back to Tasteland”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Returning to your city? First time in Rio? A barbecue lover?
In a rented car or in your own, if can't wait to have a good "churrasco" Brazilian style, Mocellin is the place to go.
It's close to Rio's International Airport and offers a selection of good meats to satisfy the hungry people and also other barbecue lovers.
Waiters to their best to satisfy costumers, and the bill will not affect your stomach.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BigJoe1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    142
    36
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Every bit as good as the hype”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Wife and I decided to make this our last meal in Rio, conveniently located as it is on the way to the (dire) airport.

First impressions, there is a large parking area in front of the restaurant. As we pulled in there were staff there who helped us unload our luggage from the taxi and offered to stow it away for us. It was like checking into a nice hotel- we didn't even need to carry our bags to the restaurant.

Inside, the place is large, the tables are spread out and as we sat down to eat it filled up rapidly, mostly locals. A good sign.

The selection of salads, starters, condiments and cold and hot food was excellent. As good any per kilogram buffet we ate at in Rio.

The meat itself was fantastic. Fresh, tasty, well seasoned and the largest variety of any I've seen in Rio. The service was attentive and considerate. There was a consistent approach to bringing us the skewers- not all at once, and no long gaps between them, unlike in some others we visited. Many of the waiters also spoke English, which made things a little easier for us. And they handed us a nice schematic diagram of a cow and pointed to the cuts on the diagram when it wasn't very clear to us! The only gripe I had was that they overcooked the individual sirloin steaks consistently.

The manager came by at one point to remind us about our flight, but the flight itself was delayed so we had more time to eat and drink! They also called us a taxi for the airport at the end.

Highly recommended.

Quick note- Mocellin is off a major highway. If you miss it, it's 2 miles up, then 4 miles down then 2 miles back up!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Intrepid L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
174 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A reference for meat lovers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

This Churrascaria (barbecue) is for meat lovers. This used to be part of the Porcão franchise but they got apart and it's now Mocellin, but people still refer to it as Porcão Ilha.
Anyway, you get all sorts of meat and it's a all you can eat thing with salad bar, seafood option, sushi bar and the "rodizio" system... they keep on passing around every table serving you and you don't even need to raise from the table. You can also ask for side orders like fried onions, rice, "pastel" (empanadas), farofa, and so on. You can order things that are not shown like fried shrimp on garlic, skid rings, and in you want a special steak delivered to your table, just ask for and they will bring it. Lamb and wild hog sometimes is available.
If you have a friend, see if you can get a discount. Even on their website, if you register, you can get a 30% discount coupon which is good for the whole table.
It's 5min from the international airport of Rio de Janeiro, but I would not eat that much before boarding a plane! Not good.... ☺
It's a place for family, friends, and business... SOLO is depressing!!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gilvam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niteroi, RJ
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“During December, forget it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

It is crowded during this time of the year due to all of the year end celebration.
They do try to make up for it by continuing to provide good service on the food and good quality meat.
deserts are OK and overpriced.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarioLonghi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A must stop before going home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is awesome! Close to the airport! A must before you take that long flight back to the USA! Everything was great and a vodka to end the trip! Enjoy!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joseph Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Churrascaria Mocellin also viewed

 

Been to Churrascaria Mocellin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing