We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place in Urca”
Review of Julius Brasserie

Julius Brasserie
Ranked #155 of 14,579 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Urca
Description: É um restaurante muito bom na Urca. Já está lá há mais de dois anos. A Urca é um bairro que recebe muitos turistas.
Reviewed July 4, 2018 via mobile

One of the best resturants in Rio. Highly recomended.
Perfect place with an International inspirer menu

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank erlingb2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 251 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2018

I have the best dinner in Rio de Janeiro, in this wonderfull restaurant. Beach Urca. Good service, good wine menu and drinks.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joelcio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2017 via mobile

Dutch owner Julius of Julius Brasserie manages to present a tasty and surpricing good and divers menu with an excellent choice of wines for each type of meal and dessert. Prices are fair and very well-balanced for his type of menu and service. Hard to find such a place like this among over-pretending Carioca restaurants.

Absolutely recommendable for a nice evening out with excellent food and no-nonsense service. Bon appetite Julius !

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Ernst Daniel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2017

We came back to Rio after 3 years and this was the first restaurant we visited again. Simply excellent! The food, the drinks, the ambiance, all wonderful! It is out of the way in Urca, near the former casino. But your Uber driver will find it, to be sure! Try the freshly made mozzarella as appetizer. And then the Guinea fowl or the duck breast or cherne, a local fish. All so delicious and juicy. If you still have space have the apple cake or the petit gateau chocolate. The wine is excellent and that includes the wine by the glass. The Dutch owner speaks several languages, so you will have no problem. And after dinner you can walk along the Urca waterfront seeing the Botafogo bay and Flamengo with Christo hovering over it all. The walk is safe and when you get tired you can flag down one of the taxis that come along or call an Uber ride.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gypsgris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2017 via mobile

Before going to the restaurant, we specifically asked when it closed, cause we were arriving a little late that evening. They replied it was open till midnight, orders till 11pm.
So I arrived at 9:30pm for dinner. Food was ok, but exactly at 10:40pm, just after the last customers next to us left, they started taking plates from other tables back to the kitchen, and asking if we wanted dessert or coffee. In summary, they were asking us to leave.
So we left without dessert, which we had at Belmonte just next door, where we were welcomed and enjoyed relaxing conversation till midnight.
Just as an ironic touch, as soon as we got to Belmonte, the waiters from Julius gathered also at Belmonte to watch the football match... was that the reason to close the restaurant so early ?
That seems to be a good path for failure. Never coming back.

Date of visit: September 2017
2  Thank 511ivanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Julius Brasserie also viewed

 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Julius Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing