We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth seeing but can get quite full...”
Review of Copacabana Beach

Copacabana Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$68.00*
and up
Half Day Tour: Sugar Loaf, Copacabana, Ipanema and Leblon from Rio de Janeiro
More Info
$54.00*
and up
Private Tour: Rio de Janeiro Customizable City Sightseeing with Optional...
More Info
$77.00*
and up
Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer Statue Half-Day Tour
Ranked #21 of 721 things to do in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: For sunning, relaxing and people watching, join the thousands who flock each year to this lively, world-famous beach lined with shops, bars, restaurants and hotels.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“worth seeing but can get quite full...”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Beach will always be a beach and to be sincere that much I expected and that much I got. I was in Rio with a friend and we did have an amazing time not only on the beaches but also in the streets, restaurants, bars and on other attractions. We didn't have any problem with "undesirables" as some other people say and also no one robbed us. I liked the particular Copacabana style pavement and also the vendors who walk among the crowds offering all sorts of stuff from food, caipirinhas, acai and nuts to sarongs.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Hana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18,727 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9,614
    6,174
    2,334
    418
    187
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Top 10 Reasons Why You Should Avoid Copacabana and maybe Rio all together! (#2. crawling with pervs and undesirables)”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I'm very disappointed Rio!! This is supposed to be a world class city. Glad we stayed outside its vicinity for most of our vaca. I don't normally submit reviews for cities and beaches, but so much disappointment I feel compelled to tell everyone. So without further ado...

Top 10 Reasons Why You Should Avoid Copacabana Beach and maybe the entire city all together

10. Rough waters and in some areas "not so clean". If you're a surfer this might be the place for you. But read on before you make a decision.
9. Too close to the bustling city (noise, pollution, etc)
8. Weird. At the airport checkin counter doesn't open until 2.5 hours before your flight departure. You can't check in too early and you are forced to hang around the small airport. I have been to worse countries but have never seen anything like this.
7. Too weird. In our hotel (Everest Rio) people went to breakfast in pajamas or swim wear. Think speedos and skimpy bikinis. Not exactly the kind of sight you want to see while you eat.
6. Epic fail. Rental car companies don't offer maps. Not one store at the airport has proper map. This one's a first, in my 20+ years of traveling.
5. Overpriced hotels. I still don't know how they get away with this. You pay a 5-star rate for a 3-star at best.
4. Beach is over crowded even in off season.
3. Cant Relax in the beach without vendors passing by every minute yelling, screaming, singing, rapping, doing whatever they can to force their products on to you.
2. The beach is crawling with pervs and undesirables. DOMs and young men alike hang out in groups staring at women. DOMs sneaking pics of my gf as we relaxed in our beach chair. Really appalling!!
1. Republica Banana!! One of my friend was bitten by a dog. There was no ambulance. Police took over an hour to respond and bring my friend to the hospital. And the owner of the dog had the nerve to be arrogant and argumentative. The private hospital which was supposed to be "world class" didn't even have proper vaccines.

The city in general almost ruined an otherwise excellent vacation. We are coming back but will definitely avoid Rio. Muito obrigado Angra dos reis, Paraty and Foz du Iguazu. You're the only reason why we are coming back.

Also, thank you Ibis Hotel in Copacabana. The only hotel with a reasonable price and an excellent staff and facility. I will leave you a positive feedback.

** DOM stands for "Dirty Old Men" in case you didn't know.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
12 Thank FrequentFlyer19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“beach”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

It was 2009 we visited Rio. First evening we enjoyed caipirocha at beach bulevard, gunshots was heard and all local people laid down, we just stayed up and wondered what is happening. After few minutes polices came to the beach and arrested few people. After that, and many other experiences I was not very confidenced about Rios hospitality. Our hotel was great and we had beach view.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pasi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“We got mugged but still didn't put us off!”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Copacobana beach is lovely! Excellent view from our hotel Porto Bay.
Lovely small bars and ice cream stands and loved people watching! Clean and the waves were amazing but dangerous after dark. We got mugged, but it didnt put us off. Thankfully we only got some cuts and bruises. The police said that we were very lucky because usually they pull out guns and knifes.

Make sure you go back to your hotels after dark!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ShamEtienne12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Grab a caipirinha and chill on the beach!”
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Great beach ( water is not so nice but environment) with a lot of people lol
Stacks of people are sitting in chair ( no lay down beach chair like you see in usa or Carribean ) .
You can rent umbrella and chairs for pretty cheap.
A lot of restaurants and bars by the beach and easy access to ipa by walking distance if you decided to walk over there.
People are selling food and tanning lotions etc while you lay on beach,
It's really hot in summer , probably won't be able to stay for too long lol
There are showers.
Fun and definitely recommended !

Helpful?
1 Thank Rurina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Copacabana Beach also viewed

 

Been to Copacabana Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing