We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Like Heaven ( for free )”
Review of Parque Lage

Parque Lage
Book In Advance
More Info
$99.00*
and up
Private Tour: Botanical Gardens and Parque Lage Photography Tour
More Info
$86.00*
and up
Corcovado Hiking Tour in Rio de Janeiro
More Info
$110.00*
and up
Art and Fashion Tour in Rio de Janeiro
Ranked #27 of 729 things to do in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tiberias, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Just Like Heaven ( for free )”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

a public park located between Humaita and Gavea, near Lagoa with walking trails through subtropical forest
There is also a Visual Arts School of Parque Lage with exhibitions, an aquarium, a small lake that is so calm an peaceful that you almost feel that suddenly you'll see a Nymph.
If you are lucky you'll see a monkeys family.
The place is a real gem and you will not find tourists around.
To visit the place you'll need from one to three hours. Personally I went there every free time I had when I lived in Rio

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Racc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,623 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,771
    1,444
    349
    45
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“lovely aquarium”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Parque Lage is easily accessible on the circular bus route 584 to/from Christo Redentor from Copacabana. There are lovel places to explore in this quiet and secluded park..we spent hours walking around and enjoying the aquariums with lovely tropical fishes, the greenery and the water bodies... also went up on the trail up Corcavado mountain from near the ancient watch tower , saw several fruit laden trees and had a great time

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank avidtrvlr2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A quiet oasis of beauty.”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Parque Lage is a peaceful shady park near the Jardim Botanico with a soaring view of Christ the Redeemer right behind it (but not near the train that goes up Corcovado). You can stroll the trails and then visit the beautiful historic Enrique Lage mansion.The mansion houses the Visual Arts School of Parque Lage and you can watch students painting outside around the center atrium. There is a cafe and tables where you can have a coffee or food and relax next to the lovely pool. This is a beautiful, quiet way to take a break from touring hectic Rio.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Beautiful, tranquil park in Rio”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I had a nice lunch at the small cafe and wandered the grounds. Very peaceful and I enjoyed the quiet in a very busy city.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChristianJTremblay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Free and in many ways as nice as the botanical garden!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I got off the bus from Cosmo Vehlo here on the way to the Botanical Gardens. It looked beautiful, so I ventured into the Park. It's beautiful and tranquil. The buildings at the top include a small modern art space, and a lovely little cafe where I ate lunch. The people there couldn't have been nicer. I was really glad I went. Eat here rather than at the botanical gardens.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kate578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parque Lage also viewed

 

Been to Parque Lage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing