We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay in Rio” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Harmonia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Harmonia
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Carlos, SP
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great stay in Rio”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed there for a few days in July 2013. I stayed in a 4 beds mixed dorm. The dorms are ok, the bathroom are clean and the breakfast is ok too. What really made the difference is the atmosphere. The staff, Chris and Saskia, were very helpful and provided me suggestions for places to see and go. Besides that, they are always available to chat and share ideas about everything. The people I have met were very friendly and it was easy to find people to hang out with at night. Last but not least, the location is safe and convenient, close to the underground and many taxis passing by. At the time of my stay (July 2013) the underground stop was closed for works, but you have the bus that was ok.
I would definitely go back if I am around.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manuela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    39
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
30
51
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

The people who run the hostel are really nice, specially nicolas who was really helpful and really friendly, i got the room on the top which was good enough for me and my husband, the breakfast was better than many other places ive been to, the location was perfect just a few blocks away from the beach, if i have to go back to Rio i will go back to harmonia hostel!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maiay27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Great place to stay if you want:
- to be close to the beach/ shops
- to have a delicious breakfast (bread, pineapple, banana, cheese, ...)
- want to meet other people
- get tips from Chris and Saskia

We stayed in a private room. It was clean and spacious.
Chris and Saskia were very helpful and gave us a lot of tips.
It's also a really safe neighbourhood.

We only had 2 days to discover Rio, so we tried out the tour from the hostel (R 85) which was great and a lot cheaper than all the other tours. Included: llapa steps, santa theresa, tijuca forest and the christ statue and drop off at sugar loaf at the end of the tour so you can see the sunset.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelliebu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

I spent 2 nights at Harmonia Hostel and loved it! As a solo female traveler with very limited experience with hostels (this was my second time ever staying in one), I was very nervous about my stay in Rio. The staff at Harmonia hostel, however, made me feel right at home. They are all sooo friendly and knowledgeable. Gave me some great advice about places to visit in Rio. I also met some other awesome travelers there. It's a very laid back environment at Harmonia, but at the same time people tend to be respectful of other people's space (i.e. by keeping things clean, not making too much noise) because the staff do such a good job of running things.

The place itself is pretty small, but it is well run and kept pretty clean (especially the bathrooms!). The rooms are tiny, but the beds are comfortable and I slept very well here. Can't beat the location - only a few blocks from the beach and surrounded by good restaurants, stores, and ATMs and a grocery store right around the block. Free wifi and access to a full kitchen (also clean). I felt very safe here - there is always staff around and during the night there is a watchman. This is a great place to meet fellow travelers. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chelsea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Harmonia was excellent! The staff was super friendly and helpful, the breakfast was delicious, the bedrooms/bathroom was clean, and it was easy to make friends with fellow travelers due to the way the hostel is arranged. It's also on a little street with a lot of other guesthouses/hostels, so it's easy to hang out in the courtyard and make new friends that way as well. And its location, three blocks from the beach in Ipanema, is excellent as well. Definitely recommend and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wageningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

The location of the Hostel is great! It is in one of the best neighborhoods of Brazil, there are a lot of shops, restaurants, bars and most important the beautiful beach is very close! The hostel is clean, the beds sleep very well and the people are nice. The breakfast is fine with fresh fruits, but for me it was a little late (it started at 9). It is not a party hostel, but next to the hostel there a lot of other hostels, the people of the hostels sit all outside in a kind of little courtyard, so you can meet a lot of people! I liked it a lot, I would definitely go back there again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PytsjeBakker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed in this hostel for five nights in January. We had the top room which got very hot and has only fans (no aircon) but was otherwise great. There is an outside shower but it was good. The hostel has a kitchen so you can cook, although they don't let you leave ANYTHING in the communal fridge which was odd. Luckily the top room has it's own fridge so we were able to store our food in there.
The location is great, very near Ipanema beach and near to shops and restaurants. The staff were really helpful with directions and suggestions. The price was high but we found everywhere in Rio very expensive.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cltra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
The LightHouse
The LightHouse
#73 of 756 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Ipanema
The Mango Tree
The Mango Tree
#32 of 756 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
#3 of 756 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Ipanema B&B
Ipanema B&B
#93 of 756 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Copacabana
Pura Vida Hostel
Pura Vida Hostel
#11 of 756 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Ipanema
Adventure Hostel
Adventure Hostel
#70 of 756 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Harmonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Harmonia

Property: Hostel Harmonia
Address: Rua Barao da Torre 175 Casa 18 | Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22411-001, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema , Lagoa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 756 Specialty Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostel Harmonia 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harmonia is a small and homely homestay located right in the heart of the famous Ipanema beach district. Just 3 blocks from the beach and only a stone´s throw away from bars and restaurants, the location is great.We take pride in our warm atmosphere and the personal attention we give to all our guests. Staying here at Harmonia is the best way to discover this spectacular city and a big reason why so many of our guests end up coming back year after year! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostel Harmonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Harmonia Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Hostel Harmonia Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing