We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay!!”
Review of Hostel Harmonia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Harmonia
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
“Excellent place to stay!!”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

This is the most friendly welcoming place you will ever find. I would recommend it anyone. I didnt want to leave. The hostel is clean, tidy, there is free internet and I was even lent a sarong to use on the beach.
Great location, great staff and great breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra187337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    39
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
30
52
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This hostel has a very nice vibe and is on a very good location, close to Ipanema Beach. There's a couple of hostels next to it, which are not very good, but they make the neighborhood very backpacker friendly.

Really cool owner, Chris, that helps you with everything you want to know. His right hand Saskia is also extremely helpful and friendly.

Pro's
- Great breakfast
- Great staff
- Great location
- Good showers
- Good vibe
- Clean
- Fast WiFi
- Chris knows everything about football, and loves to talk about it.
- Saskia is Dutch. Which is nice if you're Dutch too.

Cons
- Rooms are not too big
- Bit expensive

Room Tip: The big dorm doesn't have a lot of space. The 4-bed and 2-bed dorm have a bit more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Stayed at Harmonia for a couple of nights and we really enjoyed our stay. Great location right next to the beach and a clean hostel in a safe area. Dorms are tight enough space wise but were more than adequate and the hostel is kept tidy with small lockers for valuables. We had breakfast consisting of rolls and fruit every morning which is just what was needed. Have to say that our host Chris was excellent, extremely helpful and seriously friendly, really made our stay there enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank limkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Amazing location and staff at this hostel! So close to the beach! I stayed in Rio for one week and had the best time here. The rooms are small and pretty basic but the environment is great to meet other travelers and the staff are extremely helpful.

Room Tip: choose the room with air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llamawhisperer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Last year, at the end of an extended stay in Sao Paulo I decided to end my trip in Brazil with a visit to Rio de Janeiro at the end of July. After reading several good reviews on Hostel Harmonia I decided to stay there for a week with my brother and a friend. They offer a four bed room so we rented the extra bed and had the room to ourselves, which turned out great. Everyone was beyond nice and helpful and had tons of connections with local groups and tours and activities so we were never bored. We were only a few blocks from the gorgeous beach of Ipanema, and right off a road with tons of bars and restaurants.

There are 6 to 8 hostels all on the small street where Hostel Harmonia is located, and I haven't stayed at the other places, but I would never chose them over Harmonia.

Last year Chris, Dave, Saskia and Ron were the people working at the hostel that really made the experience great, and Mary, the house keeper, who is super talkative and friendly. I had such a great time that I decided to come back this year for a few days and Hakan, Saskia, Davina, JP and Mary couldn't be any nicer. Hakan fixed my computed when it wouldn't connect to the internet, Saskia helped me carry my luggage up the stairs, even though the place isn't very big it is really well kept, clean, you get a towel and linens, etc. I believe they are even doing renovations now, so it will just keep getting better.

Couldn't say enough good things about this place, highly recommended.

Room Tip: If there are three of you I recommend getting a 4 bed room and renting the extra bed for a little ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fromhopestreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Was originally meant to stay here for three weeks but ended up staying the best part of two months.

Great small sized hostel, staff were excellent and make you feel at home. Great breakfast provided by Mary who sometimes even provides some home baking. Hostel nice size for meeting other people. The AC dorm is small but anyone staying longer they try and accommodate in a bigger room and the small dorm is fine for a few nights. bathrooms can be busy for showers but this is the sake everywhere!

Great location alongside other hostels and walking distance to the beach and lots of food and bars around.

Double thumbs up from me :-)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caledonia_Rach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

This place is small as one might expect for a central city location but it's clean, and has a lovely atmosphere, largely down to the staff with their infinite patience in answering a million questions at once! And generally taking care of their guests. It's located on 'hostel row', a little courtyard with a number of hostels (I pity the non hostel neighbours) which has a really sociable atmosphere, without being too crazy. Not a party hostel but buzzy and lively.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annieo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
The LightHouse
The LightHouse
#89 of 783 in Rio de Janeiro
79 reviews
Ipanema
The Mango Tree
The Mango Tree
#19 of 783 in Rio de Janeiro
511 reviews
Ipanema
Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema
Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema
#10 of 783 in Rio de Janeiro
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Mojito Hostel
Mojito Hostel
#104 of 783 in Rio de Janeiro
65 reviews
Leblon
Lemon Spirit Hostel
Lemon Spirit Hostel
#20 of 783 in Rio de Janeiro
319 reviews
Ipanema
Ipanema B&B
Ipanema B&B
#91 of 783 in Rio de Janeiro
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Harmonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Harmonia

Property: Hostel Harmonia
Address: Rua Barao da Torre 175 Casa 18 | Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22411-001, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema , Lagoa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 783 Specialty Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostel Harmonia 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harmonia is a small and homely homestay located right in the heart of the famous Ipanema beach district. Just 3 blocks from the beach and only a stone´s throw away from bars and restaurants, the location is great.We take pride in our warm atmosphere and the personal attention we give to all our guests. Staying here at Harmonia is the best way to discover this spectacular city and a big reason why so many of our guests end up coming back year after year! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostel Harmonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Harmonia Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Hostel Harmonia Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing